We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic Business Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Malabo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Business Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Sofitel Sipopo is a little paradise in the middle of Equatorial Guinea. Beautiful surroundings, stunning and comfortable bedrooms, impeccable service and delicious food which makes you feel like you could be in the centre of Paris. All topped with the best service ever- thank you for making my trip so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anouska H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Anouska H
Thank you very much for your nice comment on Tripadvisor and for taking the time to write it. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon in Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf.

Sylvain Chauvet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    58
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
39
21
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bealeton, Virginia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have been traveling for work through Africa since 2002 and this hotel is by far the BEST I have ever stayed at in Africa. My only issue is that it is rather isolated if you wanted to get out to town. I don't think I've ever seen a taxi at the hotel - although there is a good police presence with a station less than 1/2 mile down the street and several substations closer.

1. Rooms are spacious with a refrigerator (small) and nice flat screen TV (only English stations are news - they could improve on that).

2. Bathroom is big, some rooms only have a shower and some have a bathtub that is huge.

3. Breakfast was included and offered a very wide variety of foods to include fruit and lots of bread and the usual breakfast food (eggs & omelets to order)

4. Staff is attentive to your needs - although I have seen the manager walk within 10-15 feet look at me and not say a word on several occasions (at least 2x daily during a 1 week stay) which I thought was rather odd since he addressed almost everyone.

5. There is a large golf course in the front of the hotel and the back offers a nice ocean view with a small island you can walk out to via a small bridge - look over the side as you walk and you will see many different types of small fish. Also there are lots of shells on the beach too...

6. A/C is VERY good as are the hot water and electricity.

7. Internet is good too but it is wired, only wireless in the lobby.

8. Room service is reasonable and quick - with food arriving at your room usually in less than 20 minutes.

9. They also have three .5L bottles in the room of water for you to drink - I brush my teeth with the hot tap water and have no issues but I wouldn't drink the water - only bottled.

10. The island behind the hotel has lots of potential for scuba diving if you are interested but you should bring your own gear (snorkel & mask). There were several people spearfishing while we were there.

Would I return - YES, it really is a comfortable stay here your only concern would be transportation around the island. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: I would go for the ocean view if you can afford it - I really enjoy the HUGE bathtub. Don't forg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Mr Jay,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Sofitel and we will make sure your next stay will be even better.
I take note on your 4th point. I am personnaly back today to Malabo from my annual leaves and I would ask you to send me an email just before your next stay. I will personnally welcome you and make your stay to be "Life is Magnifique".
Thank you again.

Sylvain Chauvet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Location is conveninet, especially for attending a conference. Rooms are convenient, but not top notch. Food is of very high standard. Beautiful golf course, but very average fitness facilities. Service is good, but defiitely room for improvement. Wifi is a problem and only free access in the lounge. Overall a good place to stay, but rater overpriced.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank michiel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Michiel,

Thank you for your comment that are always positive to us. As you said even if the service is very good, there is always place for improvment ad we are working on it daily.
I hope we will welcome you again soon in our hotel. I will organize something for you to get Wifi in your room.
Thank you again.

Sylvain Chauvet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels (including the Sofitel brands) in different countries and the Sofitel Malabo Sipopo now ranks as one of my many favourities. The hotel was clean, the staff very very friendly and the food was fantastic. I wasnt quite sure what to expect on this very first trip to Malabo and the Sofitel Sipopo was indeed a surprise. You will have to visit to appreciate its warm hospitality amid lush greenery, lovely beach and the view of Mount Cameroon from my room. Absolutely breathtaking. The only fault i have was that there was no network coverage on my phone throughout (which is somewhat annoying when you're on a business trip!) and getting a taxi from the hotel (Sipopo) into Malabo was a nightmare! Apparently taxis are not allowed into Sipopo!! Overall, a top class hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the ocean view! The view is simply amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Stephen,

Thank you very much for your comment. On weekly basis, we share all comments on tripadivsor with our ambassadors (in Sofitel we name ambassadors all our employees) and I guess they will be delighted with your comment.

Hoping to welcome you again soon in our hotel.

Best regards

Sylvain Chauvet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istres, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

While on Malabo, hosted in my company's own residential compound, I didn't stay at the hotel, but went on a Sunday to have lunch at Sofitel Sipopo. Excellent experience : very good food, good service all that for 30'000 FCFA (~ USD60) plus the drinks. The price gives also access to the swimming-pool and the private beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PHervier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment. As you have seen, our brunch is very popular with over 150 people every Sunday. I hope next time you come to Malabo your company will accomodate you in Sofitel Sipopo.
Thank you again

Sylvain Chauvet
General Manager
Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

What made my entire visit pleasant was the excellent staff and the excellent service. The hospitality of everyone working at the Sofitel by far, amazing. While i do not speak Spanish, and although my broken french made everyone laugh, the entire staff made me feel rather comfortable and at home. I shall definitely go again and stay at this hotel. If you want a great meal, i suggest you get the Burger, Fries and of course the coleslaw. One of the best i've had in ages. The sunday brunch, wow!!! the desserts will knock you out. Overall, this was an excellent experience, and I suggest anyone visiting Malabo to stay at the Sofitel Sipopo!! - Aly R.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you very much Aly for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are glad you had a Magnifique experience in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon.


Sylvain Chauvet
General Manager
Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Great service and staff. An incredibly clean and luxurious hotel experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sipopo, Directeur général at Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you very much Harry for your nice comment and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sylvain Chauvet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malabo
8.0 mi away
Sofitel Malabo
Sofitel Malabo
#3 of 13 in Malabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
10.0 mi away
Magno Suites
Magno Suites
#2 of 13 in Malabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hilton Malabo
Hilton Malabo
#4 of 13 in Malabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Ibis Malabo
Ibis Malabo
#5 of 13 in Malabo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Anda China Malabo
Hotel Anda China Malabo
#6 of 13 in Malabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Djibloho
Grand Hotel Djibloho
#1 of 1 in Djibloho
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf

Property: Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf
Address: | Zona Sipopo, Malabo, Bioko Island 00209, Equatorial Guinea
Location: Equatorial Guinea > Bioko Island > Malabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Malabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prestigia and ACCOR so you can book your Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Malabo Sipopo Le Golf Hotel Malabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing