We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ashland
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
NOTTINGHAM, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“A bit noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Jason on the front desk was really pleasant and very helpful, nothing too much trouble. There were fresh cookies when we arrived and coffee in the lobby 24 hours. The rooms were a little dated and you could hear the road noise from rooms at the front but it didn't disturb our sleep as we live near a busy road anyway. The breakfast was good. The pool was out of action when we were there so can't comment on that. Within short driving distance of walmart, restaurants, take out etc

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TANYA66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandHI_GM, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Ashland, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent patronage and feedback regarding your stay. I apologize you experienced “road noise” while staying here. Unfortunately, due to a detour, there was an increase in traffic past our hotel. I apologize that you didn’t get to experience our indoor pool and spa when you were here but it was closed for chemical balancing. Our computerized system was overfeeding causing our chemical levels to rise to unsafe levels. For the protection our guests’, we closed the facility to resolve the issue; both the pool and spa are back up and running properly. I will certainly pass on your kind comments to Jason. We call Jason our “Fairfield Guru” because he can tell a guest anything about anything in the Ashland area. I appreciate you noticing our dedication to service and cleanliness we provide to our guest. We hope that next time you’re in Ashland, you will remember our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    59
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
52
26
11
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
184 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

After a long drive from Nashville, TN, we found the Fairfield Inn [part of Marriott] about 7 miles or so outside of downtown Ashland, KY. Our room was spacious and comfortable, immaculately clean and well cared for. Housekeeping obviously do a fine job. There's a nice-looking swimming pool, although we didn't have time to try it out. There appears to be only one ice machine. It's located by the elevator on the ground floor in case you're looking for it!

A high point: the excellent breakfast! They call it 'continental' but this was far more. Hot waffles, fresh muffins, cereal, fresh and dried fruits, juices, microwaveable sausage biscuits and egg & bacon muffins, etc. And a friendly, helpful staff member was constantly cleaning up, checking supplies and ensuring everything was fresh and properly stocked and arranged.

A very handy location for business travelers visiting Ashland or tourists starting to head south on the Country Music Highway. Highly recommended

Room Tip: We were on the third floor which was very quiet, despite being right next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harris16464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlandHI_GM, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Ashland, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and your kind words regarding our property and staff. We’re very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive daily to honor our Guest Promises. We value the time you took to share your comments with other guests. Housekeeping works hard to ensure every guestroom is thoroughly cleaned and ready upon your arrival. Housekeeping will certainly appreciate recognition as they’re often looked over. Our breakfast is “continental” but as you mentioned we have a vast variety of food offerings. Our breakfast host brings good home southern hospitality to our breakfast area and guest daily. Again thank you for taking your time and sharing your experience at our property. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel and we found it to be average at best in comparison other hotels in the area we have stayed. The hotel is showing its age and could use a makeover. The tub in the bathroom was very narrow and did not feel safe. The hotel is a smokefree facility and the first room we were given had a distinct smell of cigarette smoke. The hotel staff very graciously moved us into another room that did not smell of smoke. We have stayed at Fairfield Inns at other locations in the past and this one did not live up to our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyHWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
190 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

I was on a long term project here and stayed for several weeks. The staff kept the room clean and were very helpful. Breakfast was varied each day (better than several other hotels of the same level). WiFi connection worked well and never had problems. If needed I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. Ky.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

This was your average Fairfield Inn as far ameniities, frills, etc. Nothing special, but a good place to spend the night. Stayed here for a family event in the city and have been here before. The rooms are nothing special, but they do have a refrigerator, which most hotels dont' have any more, and new LCD TV's. Other than that pretty much your standard room with pretty comfortable beds.
There are no rooms that connect (bummer) and no suites to my knowledge. They do have a nice pool and hot tub for the kids to play in. They had a nicer breakfast than most including waffles, breakfast sandwiches, cereal, pastries, etc. Not bad!!
The staff was very accomodating and friendly. They let us check in almost two hours early and gave us free popcorn. They were very cordial and hospitable!!
The location is average at best. It kind of sits in the middle of no-man's land. Although I guess it depends on where your going. If you're looking for a hotel close to downtown this isn't it. It sits probably 7-8 miles from downtown, probably a 10-15 minute drive. It's only about 2-3 minutes from Cannonsburg off I-64. Ashland does not have many hotel options especially downtown. In fact there is only one hotel of value and decency downtown (Ashland Plaza Hotel). It sits directly downtown on the Ave. has a nice restaurant and bar. I've stayed there many times, but elected not to this time due to the difference in rates (almost $30). However, if money is no issue the Plaza has decent rates and has several suites that are very nice ($79-$280 usually). This would be a better option if you had business downtown. There are a couple more hotels on US 23, but are several milessouth and north of the downtown, but also may be worth checking out.

Room Tip: I do not believe this Fairfield Inn has suites, just your standard King and Double Rooms. They do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGuru15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Kentucky
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel had all the comfort and was as clean as you would expect in a Fairfield Inn. We have stayed at this hotel before and was satisfied with the accomidations but they need to work on a few things. Every where we walked in the room, the floor squeeked or popped. I am sure that the people below us were not happy with hearing us every time we moved. We were on the 3rd floor so we had no one above us but I am sure if we had been on the floor below us we would have not rested well if the people above us had been up late. We try to consider that there are other people in the hotel so we stepped lightly but it didn't matter. It would just take a little work to secure the flooring so it would be quiet and comfortable for the guests. We will stay at this hotel again, because it is always clean and comfortable but we will ask for the 3rd floor so we won't have to deal with the noise above us.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BasketballFan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Older Marriott property. Rooms are decent but dated, breakfast was standard fruit, yogurt etc. Pool area was clean. Plenty of hot water in the a.m. Comfy bed. If you get a room facing the road you can hear traffic noise. Request a room on the top floor to insure a quiet nights sleep as there is little soundproofing between floors and you will hear your upstairs neighbor. Front desk staff pleasant and helpful and afternoon cookies a bonus!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashland
Hampton Inn Ashland
#1 of 10 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ashland
7.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN River Cities
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ramada Limited Catlettsburg/Ashland
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Ashland
Days Inn Ashland
#5 of 10 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Ashland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Ashland

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Ashland
Address: 10945 US Route 60, Ashland, KY 41102-9602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Ashland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Ashland is located in the heart of the Tri-State Area which consist of Ohio, Kentucky, and West Virginia. The historic city of Ashland, KY is known for its roots in the County Music Highway and the Ashland Paramount Arts Center. Whether you're staying for business or leisure, our hotel offers a prime location with all the modern amenities. Our location makes us minutes from Kings Daughter's Medical Center and the Tri-State Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Ashland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Ashland Hotel Ashland
Fairfield Ashland
Ashland Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing