We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for a wedding”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashland Plaza Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Ashland
houston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stayed here for a wedding”
Reviewed October 26, 2007

We arrived at the hotel and the staff was friendly. Our room was small and the bathroom very small. We were having other members of our family to arrive so we requested a larger room. We were moved to a "suite". It was actually 2 regular rooms with one of them having a couch and chair tv and refrigerator. It was ok for what we needed. The furniture needs to be updated and the pull out couch needs to be replaced, very springy. I asked the front desk clerk for a map and she actually printed out a map to our destination. Very helpful. Parking is a problem. This was okay for such a small town. Very basic.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank smellycatHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    30
    20
    19
    28
See reviews for
28
19
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
CA
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2007

Hotel is wonderful. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are very clean. I stay offten at the Ashland Plaza Hotel and will continue to come back.

  • Liked — clean rooms, friendly staff
  • Disliked — the stay was wondeful there was nothing I would have changed
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank don1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2007

Great Hotel. The room was very clean and tidy! The staff were very nice, and the owner is very young and talented and will make huge improvements with the hotel. The hotel was in the middle of a renovation however there was no noise, or any other disruptions. The people at APH and CHI know how to treat their customers!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ClevelandHotelier101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere In Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2006

Understand this...I have been staying at this hotel since 2004 once a month and at sometimes twice a month. It has progressivly gotten worse each stay. It goes without saying that the Desk staff and Housekeeping are exceptional!

Before I can get to the front desk the staff have my paperwork prepaird. The valet/greeter acknowledge me and are courtious each morning. Now my issues with the Plaza....

My room(s) 1014 or 1012 despite requests for the room when reservations are scheduled have never been honored. Hands down the best two rooms at the Plaza. It has a nice bed, new t.v. and new carpet. And the faucet doens't spew out brown crud for 30 seconds like the other pipes do in every room I have stayed in.

Every t.v. in every other room I have had the displeasure of staying in emits a loud buzz sound every 15 seconds making it entirely impossible to enjoy a movie on demand.

Alexanders...the pseudo resturant food is terrible. They never have a full menu and half the time the food is suspect. Their is one server who was there when Rocco's was there...and he is GREAT! Very nice person and does great job to keep a straight face while serving food he knows to be just "wrong".

Despite all of the renovations being completed the hotel is in dire straights of better leadership. It has potential but the plan to give it a "face lift" and not address the basic comforts of the rooms is a poor managerial decision that should be placed on the ownership not front office management that does their best.

  • Liked — The Front Line Staff.
  • Disliked — Air Condintioner, Beds, T.V.'s
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somwhere else.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PotatoSoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ashland hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 7, 2006

This Hotel is awful, it is poorly run, staffed and maintained. I was in town for a wedding that was being held at the plaza and the room was about as nice as the awful the banquet coordinators attitude. The entire staff apart from a select few were unhelpful and rude. The Hotel Manager has no idea what customer service is and with only one valet on staff I could have reported my car stolen.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 15, 2006

This was like the night of the living dead. We heard screams through the night and were afraid to even open our door until daylight.

Some staff appeared friendly; the ones we spoke to were not very nice or helpful. It seemed like a parallel universe, the opposite of the franchise down the way that's just cookie cutter but friendly.

It was nice to see daylight the next morning.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 27, 2005

A horrible hotel! We were forced to flee the hotel in the middle of the night due to noise and altercations across the hall from us. Threats and obsscenities erupted between neighbors since the hotel staff would not take any measures to control the noise in room 1014. The elderly gentleman in 1012 was very upset and demanded action, but Hotel staff was inept, and had to call police. Finally, at 330 am, we fled. Gen Mgr told us on phone later that she would not refund any of the price since "you stayed 12 hours."

This is unequivocally the WORST hotel we have ever seen at ANY price. If you like noise, rudeness, lousy food, uncomfortable beds, slipping linens, smelly halls, dirty bathrooms, inept staff, no security, a seedy neighborhood and a General Manager who is completely out of touch with "service" ---this is your gem!

AVOID like the plague.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
2.4 mi away
Best Western River Cities
6.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ashland
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashland
Hampton Inn Ashland
#1 of 10 in Ashland
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ashland
7.7 mi away
Days Inn Ashland
Days Inn Ashland
#5 of 10 in Ashland
270 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ramada Limited Catlettsburg/Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashland Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashland Plaza Hotel

Property: Ashland Plaza Hotel
Address: 1 Ashland Plz, 1441 Winchester Ave., Ashland, KY 41101-7562
Location: United States > Kentucky > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to come and join us for your special occasion. There is something magical about the Ashland Plaza Hotel and Convention Center experience. Whether it is your first, second, or third stay with us let us accommodate you with our newly remodeled rooms and excellent staff. We promise we will have you coming back to Ashland, KY sooner than you think!! Also keep us in mind for your next big event now available to the caterer of your choice. One of the many ways we try to meet every guest's expectations! We offer our guests:•Complimentary High Speed Internet and Complimentary Continental Breakfast• State of the Art Fitness Center Includes: - Fully Serviced Gym. Our 141 Guest Rooms Include:•Bluegrass Suite•Cumberland Suite•Honeymoon Suite•Plaza Suite •Derby Suite•Presidential Suite•Winchester Suite•King Rooms•Queen Rooms•Double Rooms•Handicap Rooms also available ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing