We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice facility” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN River Cities

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN River Cities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Versailles, Kentucky
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice facility”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is my first visit here. We were in town for a high school reunion. "Special room rate" was the AAA rate, which was about $90 with tax. The room had two queen beds.

Plus: Fairly new facility. Small, fenced outdoor pool. Nice lobby. Friendly folks. Small workout area. Small business center with printer. Clean room. Nice decor. CPAP friendly nightstand with outlet in lamp base. Desk with two chairs, doubling as eating area. Easy chair in corner. Cold AC. Huge flat screen TV mounted on wall with full swivel function. Free HDMI port to hook up iPad or laptop to watch movies. Nice bathroom. Good water pressure in shower. Free continental breakfast with cereals, yogurt, juices, waffle iron, sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs, biscuits, gravy. Always hot coffee in vacuum bottle. Fridge, microwave, iron, ironing board, and blow dryer in room. Comfortable mattress, 4 pillows per bed. Free WiFi.

Neutral: Funky smell in second flor hallway. Room is a bit dim, needs more overhead lighting.
I feel it is a bit overpriced.

Negative: Handicap parking is NOT the closest places to the front door (the only entrance). Guest laundry on second floor, but machines have out of order signs on them. Only ice machine is in lobby, and undersized.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKB40383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbott, Manager at BEST WESTERN River Cities, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your review of our location on trip advisor. I would like to apologize for the dim lighting and the bad smell you encountered during your stay. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    59
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
62
33
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lucasville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Our room was very comfortable and clean. We had a recliner AND a couch, which we found different than other hotels we've stayed in. My husband has a back condition and found the furnishings very accomodating. Loved the bed. We did use the WiFi and had no issues with it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Karla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbott, Manager at BEST WESTERN River Cities, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful compliment. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the recliner and other furnishings at our location and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, Ca, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My family has stayed at this hotel for over 16 years. A large group of us attend a Family Reunion nearby. Rooms aren't great but the location is convenient. The best part is the lounge area, with couches that is inviting to our guests that visit with us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Saundra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbott, Manager at BEST WESTERN River Cities, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We would like to thank you for the review on trip advisor and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Hotel staff excellent. I was nervous about bedbugs after so many news articles. And while I could not find any, i still asked the hotel staff about it. The staffer did not make me feel ungracious over my concern, came back to my room and showed me how and where to look, and did indeed overcome my fears with his kindness and expertise. Breakfast was high quality for a hotel chain, even had hot coffee and cookies in the evening. Would be a nice place to stay with family, but I stayed for business. Perhaps my next trip I will bring my family with me. Oh and the internet was very fast, had no problem with Skype, streaming video, or sending large encrypted business files.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbott, Manager at BEST WESTERN River Cities, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful compliment. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Great accommodations, good breakfast and amazing staff. We have stayed in other hotels in this area and would highly recommend this Best Western. We were here for a family reunion in the area. The staff work to make your stay the best possible and treat you like family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbott, Manager at BEST WESTERN River Cities, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We are pleased to see you enjoy your stay with us here at Best Western. Thank you for the wonderful compliments and as always we look forward to seeing your on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Very clean, courteous friendly staff. Very nice for stay at any time, this location is 10 minutes from my work also. The breakfasr is very good, all amenities are up to date, clean, comfortable. Several restaurants close by, several within walking distance

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbott, Manager at BEST WESTERN River Cities, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments and review on trip advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

had a most awesome time breakfast was good I was able to access the internet with no problem and do laundry if applicable to which I had none my stay was only for one night staff was most gracious getting transportation was no problem the hotel was on the city bus route and cab service was excellent

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 949stevenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbott, Manager at BEST WESTERN River Cities, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank You for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashland
Hampton Inn Ashland
#1 of 10 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
7.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ashland
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Days Inn Ashland
Days Inn Ashland
#5 of 10 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ashland
8.5 mi away
Ramada Limited Catlettsburg/Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN River Cities? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River Cities

Property: BEST WESTERN River Cities
Address: 31 Russell Plaza Dr, Ashland, KY 41101-7082
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN River Cities 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN River Cities! Situated off Country Music Highway US 23, the BEST WESTERN River Cities is an affordable and comfortable Ashland hotel for business and leisure travel, plus it offers convenient access to AK Steel, Our Lady of Bellefonte Hospital, Russell Railroad Days and more. Guests of the BEST WESTERN River Cities will find that each well-appointed guestroom comes complete with all the comforts of home, including cable satellite television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. For a great start to the day, a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast is served to hotel guests every morning, and for a great end to the evening, a "cookie break" is offered each night. The on-site outdoor heated swimming pool is a great way to relax and the fully equipped fitness center is the perfect way to get a workout in while traveling on the road. Business and corporate travelers will also enjoy this Ashland hotel's on-site business center, meeting and banquet space that can accommodate up to 100 people, complimentary airport and train station shuttle service and close proximity to area businesses and medical centers, including AK Steel, Our Lady of Bellefonte Hospital, Kings Daughters Medical Center and CSX. Just outside this hotel in Ashland, guests will find plenty of things to do and experience, including downtown Ashland, the Paramount Arts Center and more. In addition, Ashland is also home to popular festivals and events, including the Greenup County Horse Show, Russell Railroad Days, Greenbo Antique Show and Poage Landing Days. Greenup County is also the only county that has two Congressional Medal of Honor winners. No matter what you're traveling to or through Ashland, Kentucky for, the BEST WESTERN River Cities will make your stay truly memorable and enjoyable. Book a stay online and save today on a hotel that features real Southern hospitality, comfortable accommodations and affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN River Cities reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ashland
Ashland Best Western
Best Western Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing