We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“May 2013” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN River Cities

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN River Cities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    57
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
58
33
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We chose this hotel based on the distance between our other stays. As it turned out it was an excellent choice. The facility is in great condition, no problems at all. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was very good, not just a simple continental breakfast but a complete meal - plus the bacon was cooked crisp! We will definately stay here on our next trip.

By the way, check the route your GPS takes you. From the West take the second US 60 exit (Exit 185) and stay on US 60 until you turn left on US 23.

Room Tip: The front faces East so if you want to sleep late, ask for a room in the rear, facing West.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabbott, Manager at BEST WESTERN River Cities, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your trip advisor response and the wonderful compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights while attending a funeral. This is the closest place to stay while visiting Greenup. The room was clean along with the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was great
as it included scrambled eggs, sausage patties and links, assorted pasteries, fresh fruit, mixed fruit, the usual waffles, yogurt, cereal, coffee and juices. The only negative is each day there was something messing, On the second day there were no bananas and the last day no banana or pastries. Still a great place to stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 914211m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beattyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
155 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Well, to be technically correct, I stayed two nights after originally planning to stay just one.

I was in Ashland for a weekend event and had intended to stay only one night, to qualify me for a free night under Best Western's rewards program. But I opted to stay a second night because this hotel was so nice.

The room was huge. I had one of their suites, which was a bit oddly laid out. Normally in a suite type of room, the bed is near the window and the sitting area is closer to the door. It was reversed in this instance. The TV was in the area where the bed was and it was one of the largest flat-panel screens I've ever seen.

The room came equipped with a refrigerator and microwave. The wi-fi was very fast and it was reliable. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. There's plenty of parking. Breakfast was one of the best I've had at any hotel. Bacon, sausage, eggs, fried potatoes, biscuits and gravy and other standard continental-type fare was offered both days.

The only thing that keeps me from giving this location a full "5" was the fact that the water pressure in the shower was not up to my liking. Average at best is how I would describe it.

This hotel is not convenient to I-64. In fact, it's on the north side of Ashland, practically in the town of Russell in Greenup County. However, it is close to several restaurants and some shopping. They have coupons available for discounts at nearby restaurants, including the Golden Corral with which they share a parking lot. I think it would be worth the drive from the interstate.

I was able to use my employer discount to get a great rate. Therefore I would definitely consider venturing well north of the interstate to stay here should I require a room in Ashland in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millenniumhwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Ky.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at the Best Western. Breakfast available every morning with a variety of foods to choose from. Quiet with non-smoker rooms available. Weight room available near lobby. The cookie break is from 7:00PM to 8:00 PM every evening. Some items are still available in the evening like milk, yogurt etc in the breakfast area. Nice for late night snack or for kids who need a bedtime snack. Different housekeepers throughout the stay. Some clean better than others but rooms very comfortable and clean. Rooms with king size bed very comfortable. Rooms should face the front of hotel for a view of the city. The rooms in the back look at a hill.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Room included sofa and reclining chair and a desk to work at. Room also had wireless Internet that was easy to access. Breakfast in morning was included but it was only average.overall room was very comfortable and stay was very good. I would stay there again. Also plenty of restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Room was good . Included sofa and recliner in each room. Breakfasts were only average but stay was w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashland
Hampton Inn Ashland
#1 of 10 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
7.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ashland
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Days Inn Ashland
Days Inn Ashland
#5 of 10 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ashland
8.6 mi away
Ramada Limited Catlettsburg/Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN River Cities? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River Cities

Property: BEST WESTERN River Cities
Address: 31 Russell Plaza Dr, Ashland, KY 41101-7082
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN River Cities 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN River Cities! Situated off Country Music Highway US 23, the BEST WESTERN River Cities is an affordable and comfortable Ashland hotel for business and leisure travel, plus it offers convenient access to AK Steel, Our Lady of Bellefonte Hospital, Russell Railroad Days and more. Guests of the BEST WESTERN River Cities will find that each well-appointed guestroom comes complete with all the comforts of home, including cable satellite television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. For a great start to the day, a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast is served to hotel guests every morning, and for a great end to the evening, a "cookie break" is offered each night. The on-site outdoor heated swimming pool is a great way to relax and the fully equipped fitness center is the perfect way to get a workout in while traveling on the road. Business and corporate travelers will also enjoy this Ashland hotel's on-site business center, meeting and banquet space that can accommodate up to 100 people, complimentary airport and train station shuttle service and close proximity to area businesses and medical centers, including AK Steel, Our Lady of Bellefonte Hospital, Kings Daughters Medical Center and CSX. Just outside this hotel in Ashland, guests will find plenty of things to do and experience, including downtown Ashland, the Paramount Arts Center and more. In addition, Ashland is also home to popular festivals and events, including the Greenup County Horse Show, Russell Railroad Days, Greenbo Antique Show and Poage Landing Days. Greenup County is also the only county that has two Congressional Medal of Honor winners. No matter what you're traveling to or through Ashland, Kentucky for, the BEST WESTERN River Cities will make your stay truly memorable and enjoyable. Book a stay online and save today on a hotel that features real Southern hospitality, comfortable accommodations and affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN River Cities reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ashland
Ashland Best Western
Best Western Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing