We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky, but Good Food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Callihan's American Pub & Grill

Callihan's American Pub & Grill
Ranked #68 of 95 Restaurants in Ashland
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
586 reviews
435 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Quirky, but Good Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Found this place after exiting the interstate. It resembles a big saloon. The menu was varied with lots of comfort food. I tried the shaved prime rib sandwich and was pleasantly surprised. My wife had the ham and cheese sandwich, toasted on rye and also liked her selection. Our waitress was friendly and efficient.
We didn't find much that interested us in Ashland KY but would return here if the opportunity presented itself.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SharpShoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    26
    30
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bourbonnais, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

one of the best i have ever had where I could have a drink and steak. they had a live environment and we really enjoyed ourselves

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldier, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This place is way to expensive for the kind of food they serve. I ordered steak and it had no taste what so ever. The portions are small the price is large.. do your self a favor and go to Cheddars

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stacy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flatwoods, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best experience since CR Thomas' closed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Callihan's is a neat dining experience. The food selection is good and I love the environment.
The servers are very attentive and Tal never fails to check in to see that everything is to our satisfaction. I suffered from "Shroom deprivation" for years and Callihan's has brought one of my all-time favorite appetizers back into my life !!!!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PatHBlanchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Much better than other said”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I found that the sirloin steak, Kentucky Bourbon chicken and the service was very good. If I had looked at reviews I may not have eaten here. So I. Am glad this time I did not read the reviews first. Will stop in here to eat the next time I travel through. Also the fried pickles and the bread pudding were very good.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TitanVols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Callihan's American Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Callihan's American Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing