We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amongst one of the best meals. If you want French gourmet this is the place !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'O a La Bouche

L'O a La Bouche
Ranked #1 of 92 Restaurants in Papeete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $108
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
French Polynesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“amongst one of the best meals. If you want French gourmet this is the place !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

The restaurant is not the best setting so it's best for people to know, it's in a little street in Papeete, the setting of coco's restaurant is way better but the taxi ride is quite expensive as it's on the west coast and opposite of town.

The foie gras was just perfectly made I had to order another portion, cause it was too good ! ! !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenePankowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    88
    25
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Given the reviews we tried this restaurant for dinner.
Although the food was good it was not up to the standards of a restaurant boosting its reviews.
For the money you are better off heading to Cocos.
The positioning of this restaurant is on a dark dirty little side street in downtown.
No ambience what so ever.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
334 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Looked on trip advisor for a good restaurant. Never fails!! Again a great pick. Last one was in Marseille, France at a wonderful steak restaurant. At this restaurant The foie gras was exceptional, and reminded me of Paris! Wonderful. Nice location we enjoyed dressing up, people were dressed casual also, and the service was impeccable. The wait staff was amazing!! Nice wine list also. Thank you for a fantastic time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave92024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punaauia, Polynésie française
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A very good restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

In the center of Papeete "l'o à la bouche" is an excellent restaurant. I had a "faux filet aux cèpes" in Tahiti. It's very seldom to find "Cépes" (penny bun)in Tahiti. They were very well coocked in in a good quantity.
Very nice place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oliviery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place, great food, must dine there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Reported to be one of the best restaurants in town and no. 1 on trip advisor which is why we went there.
Not the cheapest place to eat at A$230 for two courses and a bottle of wine but the food was fantastic!
Thank god they had english menus!
Our smoked salmon entree was delicious, the fish was lovely and tender but the highlight for me was my steak which was one of the best cooked steaks I have ever had. Medium done to perfection and a single cut went right through it. So good was it that my partner even had some and she rarely eats steak.
Presentation was excellent as was the service.
Lovely atmosphere and inviting.
10 out of 10 as far as we were concerned.
Highly recommended.
Paul

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Buster953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'O a La Bouche also viewed

 
Papeete, Tahiti
 

Been to L'O a La Bouche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing