We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST restaurant in Tahiti” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'O a La Bouche

L'O a La Bouche
Ranked #3 of 81 Restaurants in Papeete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $113
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Papeete, French Polynesia
1 review
“The BEST restaurant in Tahiti”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Well received by The owner and his team. The service was impeccable, The food was excellent. A suggestion :make sure you book your table days ahead. Definitely The BEST restaurant in Papeete .

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lequerre-Wohler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    72
    23
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better Than Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This restaurant was an enthusiastic recommendation from local knowledge and was touted as one of the best restaurants in downtown Papeete. After disembarking from a Paul Gauguin Cruise, six of us decided to dine in town. Our Taxi Driver took us down a wee lane called "Passage Cardela" It would have been easy to miss if we didn't have a local guide. Cheerfully lit, it makes you want to venture in. The ambience was eclectic with neutral decor and understated Polynesian Art that you can buy, wood panelling and crisp white tablecloths.The wait staff were attentive and friendly. Our fellow guests were Italian and Swedish and had discerning palates.My husband and I ordered for an appetiser Puff Pastry of garlic snails (2150 xpf) and for the Main, Beef Fillet with Port Sauce and Pan Fried Foie Gras ( 3950 xpf) I did not order a dessert as we were more than satisfied with two courses as they were generous portions. The presentation was superb and the food was melt in your mouth delicious. I am sure the desserts would not disappoint either if you had room.As we were a group of 6, their computer systems were able to split accounts very easily. This was not a problem to them. After what you generally get in the islands, this was a slice of heaven and would be a stand out in Paris, if Paris could keep up. Well done L'o a la bouche,

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pampered-Puss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We lost our hope to eat good on the islands and here it is!... Our last evening and we find this amazing restaurant!.. It's so tasty, so friendly and so unexpected....!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgusha_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Foie Gras Dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is an unlikely looking little place, with eclectic furnishings and amateur artwork, but the food is anything but unprofessional. The presentation was beautiful and the dishes delicious. Many items had fois gras accompaniments. I ordered a peasant salad as an appetizer which did not mention the delectable treat. But it came with six sautéed pieces, in total more than a quarter of a kilo. What a treat! Perhaps it was a mistake in the kitchen, but I was the happy beneficiary.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EML123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faa'a, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best French cuisine in Tahiti”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This place is well known by local people and it is acknowledged as one of the best restaurants in its category. Save some room for a dessert !

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Moanaura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'O a La Bouche also viewed

 
Faa'a, Tahiti
 

Been to L'O a La Bouche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing