We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The BEST restaurant in Tahiti” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'O a La Bouche

L'O a La Bouche
Ranked #2 of 92 Restaurants in Papeete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $109
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Papeete, French Polynesia
1 review
“The BEST restaurant in Tahiti”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Well received by The owner and his team. The service was impeccable, The food was excellent. A suggestion :make sure you book your table days ahead. Definitely The BEST restaurant in Papeete .

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lequerre-Wohler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    88
    25
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better Than Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This restaurant was an enthusiastic recommendation from local knowledge and was touted as one of the best restaurants in downtown Papeete. After disembarking from a Paul Gauguin Cruise, six of us decided to dine in town. Our Taxi Driver took us down a wee lane called "Passage Cardela" It would have been easy to miss if we didn't have a local guide. Cheerfully lit, it makes you want to venture in. The ambience was eclectic with neutral decor and understated Polynesian Art that you can buy, wood panelling and crisp white tablecloths.The wait staff were attentive and friendly. Our fellow guests were Italian and Swedish and had discerning palates.My husband and I ordered for an appetiser Puff Pastry of garlic snails (2150 xpf) and for the Main, Beef Fillet with Port Sauce and Pan Fried Foie Gras ( 3950 xpf) I did not order a dessert as we were more than satisfied with two courses as they were generous portions. The presentation was superb and the food was melt in your mouth delicious. I am sure the desserts would not disappoint either if you had room.As we were a group of 6, their computer systems were able to split accounts very easily. This was not a problem to them. After what you generally get in the islands, this was a slice of heaven and would be a stand out in Paris, if Paris could keep up. Well done L'o a la bouche,

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pampered-Puss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We lost our hope to eat good on the islands and here it is!... Our last evening and we find this amazing restaurant!.. It's so tasty, so friendly and so unexpected....!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgusha_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Foie Gras Dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is an unlikely looking little place, with eclectic furnishings and amateur artwork, but the food is anything but unprofessional. The presentation was beautiful and the dishes delicious. Many items had fois gras accompaniments. I ordered a peasant salad as an appetizer which did not mention the delectable treat. But it came with six sautéed pieces, in total more than a quarter of a kilo. What a treat! Perhaps it was a mistake in the kitchen, but I was the happy beneficiary.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EML123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faa'a, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best French cuisine in Tahiti”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

This place is well known by local people and it is acknowledged as one of the best restaurants in its category. Save some room for a dessert !

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Moanaura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'O a La Bouche also viewed

 
Papeete, Tahiti
 

Been to L'O a La Bouche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing