We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Tiare Tahiti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Papeete
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights prior to our cruise and felt it was comfortable and convenient. When we arrived the staff was friendly and helpful and we were given a balcony corner room and had a terrific view of the harbor. The room was spacious, clean and simple. The beds and pillows were firm and comfortable (I prefer this) and the linens were fresh. The restrooms were a bit dark but there was hot water and clean towels and nice smelling soap.

The week we arrived, there was the FIFA World Cup beach soccer games and festivities taking place and on one of the evenings they closed off the main street below and two concert bands played outside of our hotel. While we enjoyed this for a short while, we closed the balcony doors and went inside worrying that the noise would prevent us from sleeping. We must have been so tired from the long day and eight hour flight that we did not even hear a thing after going to bed (and I am a light sleeper). However, after joking with the front desk the next day, they did offer us a different room for the next night if we wanted to move. We opted to stay and the traffic below was not really an issue on either nights. The hotel staff was nice enough to bring us a coffee pot for coffee on the balcony the next morning. They accommodated us with a later check out on Saturday morning and held our luggage for as we could not check in to the ship until the afternoon. The luggage was placed behind a sliding door, next to the front desk personnel, who were in view of our luggage the entire time. All in all, for us it was a convenient and comfortable two night stay and the location was great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2aztravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 296 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

I hadn't made a reservation for a hotel for my return from a two week trip to the Marquesas but before I left Papeete I checked out both Tiare Tahiti and Fare Suisse. I wanted to be right on the port versus a fair walk away (both Fare Suisse and Tahiti Nui are not right on the main street) and Tiare Tahiti has balconies overlooking the harbour and is just a block away from the Centre Vaima - a good place to get a sim card for your cel phone with a local number so no roaming charges. I left my name and phone number because the hotel was sold out for the World Beach Soccer Cup and was happily surprised when they called me to say there was one available. The hotel is clean and comfortable and close to everything. The prices are great for Papeete and Selina at the front desk was incredibly helpful - as are allt he staff. Lots of hot water in the shower, an elevator if you need one and a good location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vintagemaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We arrived late at night and stayed 2 nights before heading to Moorea. The check in was fast and friendly and although the room was basic, it had everything that we needed and was a really handy location for checking out Papeete. We also had a rental car for a day to do a trip around the whole island, totally recommend this!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kat285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

A very basic hotel with no frills but all we needed for a short overnight stay. Centrally located to the harbour, shops , cafes and the markets. Debate on whether to go for a quiet room at the back or a harbour view but being wakened by the noise early in the morning. The view won but you need to keep the doors shut to avoid the noise. Excellent value for an expensive island.

Room Tip: the corner rooms, e.g 205 have 2 balconies and give you a good spacious area with good harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We only had 20 hours for Papeete and this was the most convenient central location to the ferry and walking around the town. It is inexpensive compared to most resorts on the island, but if you are using it as a base to wander and explore it covers all your needs and allows you to spend your money on one more black pearl.
The rooms are basic, but very clean. The biggest plus is the huge balcony with a view of the harbor. We watched the most beautiful sunset from here. A bistro type restaurant, Retro, is just one block away for all your food needs.

Room Tip: Fourth or fifth floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vega_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Good central location, spacious clean room, on the 5th floor we had a good view over the town and harbour. As others have said, the room and facilities were clean, bit dated but a good stopover place in central location. Staff variable in their helpfulness.

Room Tip: Room on the 5th floor we had a good view over the town and harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandhopperEAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in September on a solo photographic visit ( www.spwijeyekoon.com). I chose the hotel primarily for low cost and a central location. I was allocated a top floor room with a small balcony with views directly opposite the port. The room and facilities were very basic and dated but clean. Unfortunately the single lift was broken for the duration of my stay which meant a fairly exhausting trips up and down with luggage. The street was also quite noisy despite shutting windows so would not be the best choice for those seeking peace and quiet. A very good central location for shops and bars. The port was also just a short walk for my onward ferry to Moorea.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sanjaya_Wijeyekoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
5.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
1.8 mi away
Royal Tahitien
Royal Tahitien
#2 of 2 in Pirae
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#1 of 3 in Papeete
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Relais de la Maroto
Relais de la Maroto
#1 of 2 in Pirae
26 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tahiti Airport Motel
3.9 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiare Tahiti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiare Tahiti Hotel

Address: 417, Boulevard Pomare | PO Box 2359 Papeete, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Papeete
Price Range: $85 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tiare Tahiti Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tiare Tahiti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tiare Tahiti
Tiare Tahiti Papeete
Tiare Tahiti Hotel Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing