We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best decision ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tiare Tahiti Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tiare Tahiti Hotel to your Saves list
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   417, Boulevard Pomare | PO Box 2359 Papeete, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Included!!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Papeete
Toronto
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best decision ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I hadn't made a reservation for a hotel for my return from a two week trip to the Marquesas but before I left Papeete I checked out both Tiare Tahiti and Fare Suisse. I wanted to be right on the port versus a fair walk away (both Fare Suisse and Tahiti Nui are not right on the main street) and Tiare Tahiti has balconies overlooking the harbour and is just a block away from the Centre Vaima - a good place to get a sim card for your cel phone with a local number so no roaming charges. I left my name and phone number because the hotel was sold out for the World Beach Soccer Cup and was happily surprised when they called me to say there was one available. The hotel is clean and comfortable and close to everything. The prices are great for Papeete and Selina at the front desk was incredibly helpful - as are allt he staff. Lots of hot water in the shower, an elevator if you need one and a good location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vintagemaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    68
    83
    22
    10
See reviews for
20
134
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We arrived late at night and stayed 2 nights before heading to Moorea. The check in was fast and friendly and although the room was basic, it had everything that we needed and was a really handy location for checking out Papeete. We also had a rental car for a day to do a trip around the whole island, totally recommend this!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kat285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4,142 reviews
318 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,655 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

A very basic hotel with no frills but all we needed for a short overnight stay. Centrally located to the harbour, shops , cafes and the markets. Debate on whether to go for a quiet room at the back or a harbour view but being wakened by the noise early in the morning. The view won but you need to keep the doors shut to avoid the noise. Excellent value for an expensive island.

Room Tip: the corner rooms, e.g 205 have 2 balconies and give you a good spacious area with good harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We only had 20 hours for Papeete and this was the most convenient central location to the ferry and walking around the town. It is inexpensive compared to most resorts on the island, but if you are using it as a base to wander and explore it covers all your needs and allows you to spend your money on one more black pearl.
The rooms are basic, but very clean. The biggest plus is the huge balcony with a view of the harbor. We watched the most beautiful sunset from here. A bistro type restaurant, Retro, is just one block away for all your food needs.

Room Tip: Fourth or fifth floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vega_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Good central location, spacious clean room, on the 5th floor we had a good view over the town and harbour. As others have said, the room and facilities were clean, bit dated but a good stopover place in central location. Staff variable in their helpfulness.

Room Tip: Room on the 5th floor we had a good view over the town and harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandhopperEAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in September on a solo photographic visit ( www.spwijeyekoon.com). I chose the hotel primarily for low cost and a central location. I was allocated a top floor room with a small balcony with views directly opposite the port. The room and facilities were very basic and dated but clean. Unfortunately the single lift was broken for the duration of my stay which meant a fairly exhausting trips up and down with luggage. The street was also quite noisy despite shutting windows so would not be the best choice for those seeking peace and quiet. A very good central location for shops and bars. The port was also just a short walk for my onward ferry to Moorea.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sanjaya_Wijeyekoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stumbled across this place and agree with the other reviews that the rooms aren't special but it is conveniently located near some good bars, restaruants and the night market. We had a 12h stopover and used this hotel to store our bags and freshen up before a flight and it was fine. The room had good views over the port but yes it was on a very busy road!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jezz7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#2 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 913 reviews
5.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
1.9 mi away
Royal Tahitien
Royal Tahitien
#1 of 2 in Pirae
3.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
7.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#1 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 1,361 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tahiti Airport Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiare Tahiti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiare Tahiti Hotel

Property: Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Address: 417, Boulevard Pomare | PO Box 2359 Papeete, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tiare Tahiti Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tiare Tahiti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tiare Tahiti
Tiare Tahiti Papeete
Tiare Tahiti Hotel Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing