We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but a convenient location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tiare Tahiti Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Papeete
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Basic but a convenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in September on a solo photographic visit ( www.spwijeyekoon.com). I chose the hotel primarily for low cost and a central location. I was allocated a top floor room with a small balcony with views directly opposite the port. The room and facilities were very basic and dated but clean. Unfortunately the single lift was broken for the duration of my stay which meant a fairly exhausting trips up and down with luggage. The street was also quite noisy despite shutting windows so would not be the best choice for those seeking peace and quiet. A very good central location for shops and bars. The port was also just a short walk for my onward ferry to Moorea.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sanjaya_Wijeyekoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    69
    84
    22
    10
See reviews for
20
135
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stumbled across this place and agree with the other reviews that the rooms aren't special but it is conveniently located near some good bars, restaruants and the night market. We had a 12h stopover and used this hotel to store our bags and freshen up before a flight and it was fine. The room had good views over the port but yes it was on a very busy road!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jezz7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

we stayed here for a night either side of our cruise. It was basic, clean and comfortable. It is a 2 star hotel, what more can you expect? The staff were helpful and friendly. Yes, the main road is noisy, but it didn't stop us sleeping. We could walk down to our cruise. They charged us 96 euros because we had a booking for 2 ngihts, and for what other hotels cost in papeete, we were happy. It isn't a 5 star resort, but then you don't pay 5 star prices!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SydneyBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Believe me, dont wast your money on this dump. I spent time at both Le Meridien and Tiare with the wife. Let me tell ya its worth shelling out a 30 bucks more to stay at one of the more expensive resorts, even if it is a small stop over.

Tiare was filthy, and very dodgy. The hallway lights were even broken and we had to find our way into our room in complete darkness DURING THE DAYTIME!

Besides the resorts have free buses to the city center.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Drunkpandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Papeete hotels

new Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

Great location, my room was on the second floor with a seaview. If you can get a higher floor then do as there is a very busy road below.
The room itself was grubby and circa 1970. the pillows were foam chips and very uncomfortable. Dont look too closley into the corners of the room- especially the bathroom -YUK!
Very handy for the market and dont miss the roulottes in the evening on the waterfront, they were fantastic.
There always seemed to be a group of people at reception who were friends with the receptionist!
overall its worth it for the location, for a night- maybe two.
As the airconditioing and electrics are activated by inserting a metal key fob into the wall, i took it off the keyring and left the A/c running while i was out. I also left the TV on as i was worried about the security of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank TripchickNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

You do not have many options in accommodation in Tahiti.
You either have to book into an over priced hotel in the city or go out of town to a greatly over priced resort.
At least this hotel is centrally located, and the front rooms overlook the harbour which has views of Moorea and the cruise shiips arriving and departing.
Our room was large and had three beds, it was comfortable and serviced daily. The room was clean but as others have said the front balcony floor had accumulated the grime of a city.
Breakfast is available on site and there are shops nearby for snacks and coffee as well as the city markets, not forgetting MacDonalds two blocks away.
For dinner there are mobile diners on the waterfront that set up each night with a variety of meals.The staff are multi lingual and helpful, on 24 hours day. There is a drink machine and an ice machine available but no frig or tea making facilities in the rooms as the owners wish to retain the operation as a hotel rather than apartments (thats their story).
Yes , we would go there again

  • Liked — close to town
  • Disliked — lack of refrigerator etc
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank walwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

It was with some trepidation that we walked into Hotel Tiare considering the past reviews. But the reviews seem to be some time ago. I liked the location to the markets and ferry so booked anyway. I looked carefully around the building and our room and bathroom...and it was all perfectly fine!
Yes, basic, but clean, bright and fresh.
We had booked a standard room , the cheapest as were were arriving late at night but were delighted with a room 503 on the top floor that looked down a street and still across the harbour from the balcony!

The reception was friendly and efficient.
Elevator slow. Everythings on Tahitain time. Used wide staircase mostly. Hall tables were decorated in flowers.

Had breakfast in the tropical breakfast area. Ceiling fans cooled,flower printed tablecloths and Tahitian touches.
Lovely! Tropical fruits with juice. Tea & coffee. Cant remember how much but it was resonalbly priced.

We had a few days at Moorea and were missing my daughters dress, so on returning to Papeete we popped in to ask if we had left it behind. There was a little language barrier, but the lady pulled clothing from out of plastic bags..she went to put a dress back in but i told her that was my daughters.
So they obviously have a Lost&found section! Great!

Hotel Tiare was just fine. We enjoyed our brief stay and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Downtown location directly opposite the waterfront and ferries
  • Disliked — Nothing stands out.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aussiegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#2 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 930 reviews
5.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
1.9 mi away
Royal Tahitien
Royal Tahitien
#2 of 2 in Pirae
3.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
7.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#1 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 1,396 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tahiti Airport Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiare Tahiti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiare Tahiti Hotel

Property: Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Address: 417, Boulevard Pomare | PO Box 2359 Papeete, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tiare Tahiti Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Tiare Tahiti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tiare Tahiti
Tiare Tahiti Papeete
Tiare Tahiti Hotel Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing