We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE PARADISE ROOM”
Review of Fare Suisse Tahiti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fare Suisse Tahiti
Ranked #1 of 7 Papeete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2011

This is the best hotel in tahiti.
The room are ver VERY CLEAN, and the style is very elegant.
Is very close to the airport and they transport to you for free wich is very interesting to know. We've only spent a night, but its worth it. I would like to back again to Fare Suisse. Its great!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 673 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2011

Beni, who had efficiently answered all my emails, was also there at the airport to meet our arriving flight. He shuttled back and forth to the hotel with guests from several flights, so if you can’t spot him immediately, don’t worry, he’ll be back generally within about 10 minutes. (He runs the hotel single-handedly in the late evening).

The Fare Suisse is a rare example of complete trust and honesty. You can help yourself from the ‘honesty bar’ to drinks from the fridge behind the reception; there is milk in another fridge, tea and coffee making facilities on site, etc. All is left open for guests – unmanned - all night! As we had not paid anything for our room on or before arrival nor provided a credit card, I asked Beni if we should pay for our night when we arrived. “No, tomorrow morning would be fine”, he said, as he set off to the airport yet again to meet more guests. (It would be sad if any unscrupulous guests abused the trust of this little hotel by failing to honour their obligations thereby forcing the hotel to discontinue this excellent and trusting service.)

The cleanliness and organization of the room was typically Swiss. The air conditioning was excellent, the bathroom and shower immaculate. The sheets were crisp and new. Buffet breakfast was included. Really fast Wi-Fi was available everywhere - and free. (Read this, Sofitel Moorea).

Beni even dropped us off right next to the Moorea ferry the next morning. The cost? No, you guessed it - that was free too.

Fare Suisse is an amazing and ‘tremendous value’ little place, deserving to be the first choice of Trip Advisor members for one or more nights in Tahiti. Absolutely nothing was a problem.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brockles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We loved staying with Beni at Fare Suisse. He picked us up from our ferry from Moorea and brought us to the airport the next day, which was so convenient and appreciated since taxis are so incredibly expensive there. Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable, and his place is an easy walk to a large grocery store and downtown.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrAnthro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I am happy to recommend Fare-Suisse to anyone travelling to Tahiti. My wife and I stayed at Fare-Suisse for two nights and found it to be great. The rooms are very nice and modern as well as exceedingly clean. The central location is within easy walking distance of downtown Papeete and sits on a hill overlooking the city center. Beni picked us up at the airport and brought us back to the airport to make our flight. He arranged a rental car for us one day and was overall very informative and helpful. The price was also very fair and we would definitely stay at Fare-Suisse again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idaho22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We loved Fare Suisse. Great place to stay in Papeete. A very convenient location, close to shops and waterfront.
We walked everywhere. The rooms are super clean and very beautifully decorated. The airport pickup and drop off service is a very helpful. Beni is awesome. Great people, great place. We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karhov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We arrived at Papeete from Auckland and we were met by Beni.After a short drive we arrived at the house,set on a hillside with lovely views.Our room was very comfortable,clean and airconditioned.The patio area was a great place to meet people staying at fare-suisse,we meet an aussie bloke and he to was impressed with his stay.The kitchen was clean and had facilities to make a gormet meal.We bought food from the local supermarket,which was just a short walk down the road.The city centre is close by,all major shops and banks all within walking distance along the pleasant foreshore.We checked out in the morning and our check in time for our Paul Gaugain cruise was not till 3pm.Beni arranged for our luggage to be stored.We went into town to kill time and we got back to fare-suisse in the afternoon we were hot and sweaty.Beni allowed us to shower and freshen up before he dropped us off at our cruise ship,all this at no extra cost and service with a smile.
We are thinking about doing another Paul Gaugain cruise in the near future and we will definately be staying at fare-suisse.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vernon1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We met Beni at the pier and after a 10 minute drive arrived at the Fare-Suisse.The room was large and clean and was kept spotless throughout
our stay.We enjoyed our breakfast there every morning before a full day of
sightseeing.beni was most helpfulllooking after our every request.
We had amost enjoyable stay thanks to beni and his staff.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronChilliwack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
0.5 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
300 reviews
4.7 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#1 of 3 in Papeete
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Maison D'Hotes Tutehau
Maison D'Hotes Tutehau
#2 of 7 in Papeete
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punatea Village
Punatea Village
#5 of 7 in Papeete
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fare Suisse Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fare Suisse Tahiti

Address: Rue des poilus tahitiens | Quartier Buillard - Paofai, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Papeete
Price Range: $103 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fare Suisse Tahiti 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Fare Suisse" is a homey guest house settled in Papeete, the capital of French Polynesia. The "Fare Suisse" offers a lot of facilities as free transfers to the airport (only 10 minutes away by car) and offers easy access to city-center all place the main places of interests (supermarket, shops and restaurants, pearl museum, tourism office, market, harbour...) Only from 5 to 20 minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Fare Suisse Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fare Suisse Tahiti Hotel Papeete
Fare Suisse Tahiti Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing