We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome location, place and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fare Suisse Tahiti

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fare Suisse Tahiti
Ranked #1 of 7 Papeete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome location, place and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have just stayed three nights for my short vacation in papeete and I choose Fare Suisse rather than the normal hotel as of its location. Beni was super nice and helpful as he picked me up absolutely on time for my flight from Bora Bora (I work there), with no cost. After arrival, the room was spotless clean and plenty of room for me. The lodge also very close to the supermarket and public bus stop, yet still located in a very peaceful environment. I am highly recommend the Fare Suisse Tahit if you don't need fancy Hotel service and would like to stay in town. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pandaplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    156
    31
    8
    12
See reviews for
52
388
92
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Beni and the staff at Fare Suisse made our multiple stays a breeze as we travelled between the Tuamotu's, Moorea and Raiatea. He was very timely in picking us up and dropping us at the airport. Helped us get a rental car and gave us other suggestions as we discovered Papeete and the rest of the big island. It is truly close to the Champion market....but also within walking distance to the open air market and the roulettes for evening dining. The breakfast provided was complete as others have indicated.....more than enough to make it through the day. Will definitely stay with Beni again should we be fortunate enough to return to Tahiti.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed just one night at Fare Suisse as we were booked into another pension on Moorea. But Beni could not have been more helpful......collected us from the airport and then dropped us at the ferry port the following day for our connection to Moorea. At no extra cost. Had read other posts about thefts etc but Beni was absolutely up front and told us to keep the door locked and windows closed when we weren't in our room - no bad thing as the room has aircon so there is no need to keep the room ventilated via open windows. Breakfast was great - selection of fruit, baguette, jam, ham, cheese, fruit juice, coffee, tea, yoghurt and, if you really have the need, muesli and cornflakes. If and when I make it back to Tahiti, I will definitely stay here again and for longer so that I can get a proper look at Papeete. Great, great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazzum99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, california
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Tahiti/Moorea in February 2012. Our first night's accommodation was the Fare Suisse in Tahiti. We arrived very late at night and were very happy to see Beni right there to greet us. He promptly took us to his B&B where he showed us our room for the night. It was nice and roomy. We had a good night's sleep, and the next morning we had a delicious breakfast (which we paid extra for). There is a market very nearby where you can buy groceries and exchange money in an ATM machine. The Fare Suisse is close to town, so we had time to visit some shops before we had to catch the ferry to Moorea. Beni drove us to the ferry. All in all, the Fare Suisse was ideal for us. We didn't have to worry about transportation and we had a great accommodation. We highly recommend the Fare Suisse and will stay there on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

And if you want be close to the airport, shopping in town, on a budget, want the simple comforts of home, and for the Heiva in late June - mid July. I found Beni's place listed in Moon and Lonely Planet and decided to give it a try during the Heiva Festival from July 12-15. During Heiva, all of the publications I was reviewing prior to booking the trip indicated the accommodations would be tight. I emailed Beni and received a quick response with a confirmation on timing and rate. He declined the need for a deposit and indicated that I could pay upon departure. I believe for a single room I paid somewhere in the vicinity of 90-100 Euros per night. The location was stellar for the dance competitions, downtown (20 minute walk), and the roulettes (30 minute walk along the water). Accommodations were quiet and clean but carry some type of flashlight or flashlight app if you're planning on heading back at night. Fare Suisse is in a residential area and as with most neighborhoods in Papeete were limited on a lot of lamp posts. Beni also offers pick up and drop off service from the airport which is extremely convenient and helpful. Best of all, he has unlimited complimentary wi-fi service! Most of the hotels were charging upwards of $10 USD per hour.

Room Tip: Make sure you clearly spell out what you're looking for when sending the initial email inquiry f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMW1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at the Fare Suisse the night we arrived prior to going to Moorea. This was a great place to stop prior to travel to one of the other islands or if you plan on just touring Tahiti.

Positives:

-They offer free airport pickup and transportation to the ferry. Very nicegood perk when youhe don't wanteat to worrythe about how20 your goingpackage to getthe around.
-I highly recommend the breakfast package. It's well worth the extra cost (beats walking to the market)
-The rooms were very nice and clean. Very comfortable to recover from jet lag.
-I personally thought the view was very neat, especially in the morning.
-The service was great. The owners are very friendly and really work to make your stay enjoyable

Negatives:
The only negative part of our stay was that it wasn't long enough! We really wish we could of stayed a few more days to really get to see the city.

I highly recommend this lodging for anyone passing through Tahiti.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjseibert84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Islands NZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Fare Suisse provided me with a very comfortable bed with imaculate linen for two nights at each end of my business trip to Tahiti. The room was exactly what I required. I was especially grateful for the modern efficient shower which felt so good after a long flight. Anytime I have to visit Papeete again I shall be planning on Beni's hospitality.
Bob Evans

Room Tip: I stayed in the room Maupiti. Perfectly quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
0.5 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#3 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#2 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
4.7 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#1 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sarah Nui
Hotel Sarah Nui
#4 of 7 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fare Suisse Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fare Suisse Tahiti

Property: Fare Suisse Tahiti
Address: Rue des poilus tahitiens | Quartier Buillard - Paofai, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fare Suisse Tahiti 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Fare Suisse" is a homey guest house settled in Papeete, the capital of French Polynesia. The "Fare Suisse" offers a lot of facilities as free transfers to the airport (only 10 minutes away by car) and offers easy access to city-center all place the main places of interests (supermarket, shops and restaurants, pearl museum, tourism office, market, harbour...) Only from 5 to 20 minutes walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Fare Suisse Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fare Suisse Tahiti Hotel Papeete
Fare Suisse Tahiti Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing