We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A good option in Papeete” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Tahiti

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Tahiti
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Papeete
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good option in Papeete”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Like others, we stayed at Le Meridien for two nights before a Paul Gauguin cruise. Our over-the-water bungalow was well appointed and had a beautiful view of Moorea and the sunset. We enjoyed the deck very much. Since the current is strong, there are no steps from the bungalows leading into the lagoon as there usually are in the bungalows on Bora Bora or Mororea.

The hotel's French restaurant was excellent, the pool and beach were uncrowded and relaxing. We enjoyed the Polynesian dance show very much.

On the downside, the hotel's main buildings were dated, but this was only a minor observation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loictro, Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear James,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
A you mentioned our over water bungalows offer a unique and memorable experience.
Thank you also for pointing out our cuisine as well as our Tahitian dance show with seafood buffet taking place every friday night.
Best regards
Loic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    510
    308
    137
    82
See reviews for
179
875
49
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Le Meridien has a good location, the pool is hudge and nice. You have aquagym sessions in the morning. The beach is very nice with a view on Moorea. There is a good snorkling along the beach and the overwater bungalows. We stayed in a basic room on ground floor with a private terrasse. It was perfect. The bedroom is hudge. Breakfast Jean-George is a plus! We had a blast...I would recommend to get dinner oustide, it is pricey and not so great. Best place to spend our last days in Polynesia!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LL_Bklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loictro, Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Ia Orana.
Thank you very much for your kind message.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for having pointed out our Le Meridien breakfast signature, a must.
Best regards
Loic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorokan, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to and from Bora Bora. We enjoyed our stay with highlights such as being treated to Polynesian dance show and also an amazing dinner at the restaurant on the water. The wait staff and the food was perfect and all were very attentive..
There is two things that can be improved on however, the shower heads need replacing in the rooms as they were old and water pressure was bad. Also check-in and out was extremely slow and I do believe customer service in this area is imperative as first impressions count and you are the face of Le Meridien but I don't feel this is valued here..Will we return? Yes we will as overall we liked our stay...

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loictro, Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Linda,
Thank you for your comment.
We are happy that overall you had a good experience with us and you plan to come back.
Nevertheless at Starwood we do take in consideration our guest feedback and we do appreciate you have pointed out 2 areas where we can certainly improve our guest service.
Your post will be shared with appropriate head of department so corrective action can be implemented.
With my best regards
Loic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soquel, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our stay at Le Meridien in Tahiti was the perfect hotel to stay 5 nights before our trip back to California. We had just finished staying at the Le Meridien in Bora Bora for 7 days and were ready for some civilization. The hotel is only 15 minutes of so from the airport. It has a modern Polynesian decor. The grounds are well maintained and lush. Our room was on the 6th floor with a lovely view of Moorea, the lagoon and the entire pool area. Another bonus of the hotel was that it is walking distance to a little shopping center with a small supermarket, pharmacy and even a good restaurant called Chez Remy. We also found a man that makes a good pizza out of his truck. He is in the parking lot of the shopping center by the video store starting at 6. It was good to have something not so expensive and it comes in small of large. We ate on the balcony.
The restaurants serve good food. But I get tired of hearing about how expensive it is. Of course it is considering the hotel is on an island and everything is imported. We bought snacks and drinks at the supermarket that helped tide us over. The staff have all been helpful and nice, especially Tico or Tino,
We rented a car one day, that the staff helped us arrange and took a drive to some lovely free gardens, the smaller Tahiti, a blowhole and a waterfall.
All in all, as we are about to leave for home tonight. I can say that we will be back in the next couple of years.

Room Tip: Room 659 offers a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dremwver86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loictro, Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Dremwver86,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent experience at Le Meridien Tahiti.
We are glad that overall you had a wonderfull time with us.
Thank you for mentionning the alternative that offers the little shopping area close by the hotel.
Also we really appreciate that you have pointed out one of our reception team, your comment has already been shared with him and his supervisor.
Finaly we are proud that you plan to come back again in a few years.
Please do not hesitate to contact us.
With my best regards
Loic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here after a week cruising with Paul Gauguin. We stayed 4 nights and definitely relaxed. Our room was an over water bungalow which gave us great views including the sun setting over Moorea. The food at all restaurants is good if a little more French than I expected. I loved relaxing in the spool or the lagoon's beach.

check in was friendly and the staff are always ready to help.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellerslieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loictro, Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Ia Orana and thank you for your message.
We sincerely appreciate you enjoyed your stay in one of our overwater bungalows as those units offer a really unique experience.
Thank you also for mentioning our staff positive attitude as well as our French cuisine.
Best regards
Loic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The resort had a nice modern feel and the beach had a beautiful view of Moorea. I was SOOOOOOO annoyed that I paid for an upgrade to an ocean view room and all I was able to see was the roof top pond and the tops of some palm trees. Maybe if the palm trees were swaying in the breeze and moved you may catch a glance of the ocean. I even went to complain and the check-in lady told me any rooms on the 3rd floor or higher is considered ocean view - maybe 10 years ago before the palm trees grew up! If it wouldn't have been 10:30 p.m. and I didn't spend 20 hours traveling there I would have asked to talk to a manager to change rooms but at that point it wasn't worth my effort since we were only staying one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mjk21love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loictro, Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Ia Orana and thank you for your comment.
We do apologize if we did not meet in full with your expectation.
We keep working on our landscape as view is an important part of the room experience at Le Meridien Tahiti and we are sorry that you were allocated in an area which obviously needs more improvement on this side.
Should you one day decide to come back and visit us again please do not hesitate to contact me.
Best Regards
Loic T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Le Meridien Tahiti for one night on our way back home, after having spend 6 days in Bora Bora and 4 in Moorea. Tahiti was supposed to be just a night stop in order to catch our flight back to Los Angeles. We learned at the hotel our Air France flight next day had been canceled due to a tropical cyclone in Hawai. Nicolas came by the reception area to greet us and promised to help us the next day. In the morning he personally got involved with all the hussle of our flight cancelation and even personally called Air France to help us fix our connecting flights. He also gave us a very generous late check out and all the information we needed. About the hotel, the Le Meridien recently went through a renovation and it is a nice hotel to spend one or 2 nights. the beach is calm and the pools is beautiful and big. Breakfast was good and the room clean and modern. But the best of the hotel was the manager Nicolas. By the way, he speaks several languages, including Brazilian Portuguese, since he lived 4 years in Rio with his family. Thanks for all the help

Room Tip: We stayed at the 404 room and had a good view of the Ocean-Lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisygirlGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loictro, Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much for you nice comment.
Sometimes airline scheddule changes can be complicated and in those days we are glad to have in out team reliable staff member as you pointed out.
Thank you for staying with us.
Best regards
Loic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
2.4 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
7.7 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#2 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 913 reviews
16.6 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
42.5 mi away
The Brando
The Brando
#1 of 1 in Tetiaroa
5.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
10.8 mi away
Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Tahiti

Property: Le Meridien Tahiti
Address: Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Tahiti 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Tahiti is the most modern luxury hotel of the island; benefiting from a charming frame thanks to its natural beach of white sand that is unique on the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a panoramic view on turquoise waters of the lagoon and on the nearby island … Moorea. Situated in a charming frame, Le Méridien Tahiti is located 15 kms from Papeete and 10 kms from the international airport of Tahiti Faa' a, so making of the hotel the ideal place for a stay on the island. The hotel was recently refurbished with exotics and natural materials which highlight the South Pacific feeling ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Starwood and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Meridien Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Tahiti Hotel Papeete
Le Meridien Hotel Tahiti
Le Meridien Papeete
Papeete Le Meridien
Le Meridien Tahiti Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing