We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Tahiti

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Meridien Tahiti
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Papeete
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Le Meridien was a great place to stay while in Tahiti. The staff was very hospitable, the rooms were clean and the grounds were well-kept. The bungalows seemed to be remodeled fairly recently with the exception of the shower which had older, outdated tile (clean, but it didn't match the rest of the room). The bungalows sit out in crystal clear water with lots of fish visible directly under the deck. Our only complaint was the food - it was very expensive and not good at all. To be fair, we weren't all that impressed with the food in restaurants outside of the hotel, though it was better than what the hotel restaurants had to offer. There's a grocery store within walking distance of the hotel which is a good option to pick up wine, beer, liquor and snacks. The bungalow we stayed in had a mini fridge which was nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhendrickson121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    571
    340
    145
    90
See reviews for
209
974
58
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

In May of this year our son went on a business trip to Tahiti for 2 days and stayed at Le Meridien. In his travels he stays at a lot of hotels – some good, some not so good, but this one he highly recommended. So we took his word for it and booked 15 days plus two tours – a tour of Moorea, which included a superb lunch at the Hotel Intercontinental Resort, and the Tahiti Inland Safari tour. We had 15 days of paradise, good food, friendly service, fun and relaxation. The weather was sunny and warm except for half-a-day when we went on the 4x4 inland safari and the rain came down as we got further into the mountains. It came down so hard that we had to turn back, but it was still a worthwhile adventure. It would have been nice if we could have seen the spectacular La Diademe Mountain Peaks.

The hotel and its grounds are clean and well kept and beautiful as my pictures will testify (a picture is worth a thousand words). The large pool is turquoise blue surrounded by white sand, separated from the beach by a small isthmus and palm trees. The grounds are filled with flowering shrubs, plants and various tropical trees. There are two small lagoons filled with flowering water lilies and gold fish – one on the grounds and one above the main floor of the hotel which was directly below our unit.

Our unit was the deluxe lagoon with panoramic view and balcony. It had a splendid view of the pool, the sea and the lagoon above the main floor. It was clean, spacious with a large bathroom which included two sinks, large bathtub and a walk-in shower. There was also a coffee maker, small bar fridge, wide screen tv (we didn't have time to watch it) and safe deposit box.

There are two restaurants, one in the main building and one by the beach. Prices are reasonable. There is also a strip mall only 5 minutes walk from the hotel. You will find a well stocked supermarket, pizza restaurant and a cafe where you can get fresh baguettes, pastries and cup of cafe au lait.

Snorkeling is great. The beach at Le Meridien slopes gently towards the reefs. As you can see from the pictures, the water is crystal clear. Saw lots of coral and hundreds of colourful fish. The coral starts when you swim slightly past the over-the-water bungalows. Le Meridien and its beach has a splendid view of the island of Moorea.

We really enjoyed the Le Meridien Hotel, Tahiti and its capital Papeete and the island of Moorea. There is lots to do and see – snorkeling, kayaking, surfing, museums, hang-gliding, exploring, fishing, museums, restaurants, shopping, McDonald’s, the Municipal Market Place, you name it. The people are naturally friendly and do not suck up to you to get you to buy something. Nobody pesters you. It's so relaxed and easy going. If you want to experience French Polynesia without breaking the bank, this is the place.

One thing we did not like about Tahiti was the graffiti which was present in many urban areas, but that seems to be a problem everywhere now-a-days even here in Canada.

I am glad we came here. It was a quality vacation and we enjoyed it. Unfortunately, even spending 15 days here, we couldn't see everything. Hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed at the bungalow over the water what more can I say simply beautiful! A touch of paradise, if you are in search of a relaxing holiday by the ocean this is perfect with bungalow style or rooms available at the resort! Staff were really friendly too.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank czechchick01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Le Meridien Tahiti as part of our honeymoon. The resort is gorgeous and in my opinion, the best resort on the island of Tahiti. We went over to the intercontinental for dinner one night, and I didn't really think too highly of that hotel.

We stayed a couple nights in the junior suite and then a couple nights in the overwater bungalow. Both were great and I would recommend both. We used our starwood points and those could not be used for the overwater bungalows, but if you book the suite like we did, and you arrive at the resort and the bungalows are free they will upgrade you for no additional charge (if you ask). I no longer have status with starwood, so it was a nice free upgrade! The overwater bungalows do not have direct access to the water, but I think because of that very reason, there are sooo many fish swimming right below the bungalows. You almost don't even need to go snorkeling to see amazing fish.

While in Tahiti we did a snorkeling trip that we went snorkeling with Humpback Whales. It was amazing. We booked it through the hotel, but there was some confusion on the booking, so we did get some of our money back (we thought we booked dolphin watching and reef snorkeling, but we only got one activity). We hiked to the inner parts of Tahiti (the hike starts at the Belvedere Restaurant). We hiked for about 5 hours and the views were amazing. We initially wanted to hire a guide, but we couldn't find one available. However, we did meet a local Tahitian on the trial. He gave us his contact information, so if anyone ever wants a local guide for hiking, let me know! And then we just hung out at the hotel on the beach and pool!

The food on Tahiti is average at best. The food trucks are fun, we tried almost all of them. The restaurants the front desk recommends is also just average. One thing we did find phenomenal was this little breakfast place that is walking distance from the hotel. When you go out of the hotel, turn left and you go into a shopping plaza, if you go past the grocery store you will see a small sandwich shop. I can't exactly remember the guys name, but he speaks perfect English. They have cheap breakfast options, or you can get a "casse cruette" which is the french bread sandwiches. My favorite was the smoked salmon sandwich -- and all the sandwiches are three dollars! Much better priced than breakfast buffet at the hotel!

I give the resort four stars instead of five just because the front desk staff was not as helpful as other resorts we have stayed at. There was a lot of confusion when you asked them anything. And they only had one check in member that spoke english well enough to talk about anything besides the standard check in.

If you go, enjoy it and I'll be sitting at work, thinking about how jealous I am that I am not there too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

After a long late night flight arrival this place was perfect to wake up to! We had the ovewater bungalow and the layout and amenities are beautiful. There is no access to jump off to swim from your deck on your overwater bungalows here but it's still beautiful and the pool is impressive. The breakfast buffet was great and the service as well. There is also surf to paddle to in this resort which is awesome! I highly recommend this resort in Papeete if you plan a longer stay in this island! Thank you to Geri Miller from Tahiti Discount Travel, Newport Beach, who put the perfect itinerary for us to visit 3 islands, Papeete, Huahine and Bora Bora.

Room Tip: Definitely get the overwater bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmborabora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia, Moscow
Level Contributor
404 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

In this hotel I stayed four nights in March 2012 with my husband. It is really best choice in Tahiti island. My husband and I are very, very happy with our staying in hotel. Amazing and exciting dance show performing professionals every week on Fridays. Very tasty and interesting food in the restaurant decorated with views of the ocean sunsets. Good selection of drinks, fast and quality service. Prices in the hotel restaurants do not differ from the prices of cafes and restaurants on the outside. But the food at the hotel is much better and more varied. The hotel is directly on the white and sandy beach. This is the best place for a beach vacation, swimming in the sea with fins and mask. The water is very calm and quiet, no waves and no dangerous for kids swimming. The hotel consists of a main building and cottages on the water, has a large and nice pool with white sand and convenient passage into the pool. Beach umbrellas and deck chairs enough for all leisure travelers, there are free boat and kayak, other beach activities. On arrival at the reception desk lady gives two coupons for free coffee from Costa Coffee. The hotel staff are very polite, friendly and helpful. Very clean, neat hotel after a complete renovation and upgrade. It is about 10 min. by car from hotel to the island's capital Papaete with good traffic. We were pleased it is all the time. I highly recommend this hotel and I advise all travelers to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikolaeva_maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was my first of four islands I visited. As a Starwoods gold, I booked a regualr room and got a free upgrade to an overwater bungalow. That was a great start to my dream vacation. The view was amazing, the hotel was really clean, the room was spacious and luxurious, etc. The only negative I can say is that if you missed the bus to/from Papeete, it was a 3500XPF cab ride. But as far as the hotel itself, I am really hoping to return as soon as I can :D

Room Tip: If you go to town, don't miss the 200XPF bus or you will be stuck with a 3500XPF cab ride
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _B_i_g_D_1_2_3_4_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
2.4 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
7.6 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#2 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
16.6 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#3 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
4.6 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
10.8 mi away
Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Tahiti

Property: Le Meridien Tahiti
Address: Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Tahiti 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Tahiti is the most modern luxury hotel of the island; benefiting from a charming frame thanks to its natural beach of white sand that is unique on the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a panoramic view on turquoise waters of the lagoon and on the nearby island … Moorea. Situated in a charming frame, Le Méridien Tahiti is located 15 kms from Papeete and 10 kms from the international airport of Tahiti Faa' a, so making of the hotel the ideal place for a stay on the island. The hotel was recently refurbished with exotics and natural materials which highlight the South Pacific feeling ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Le Meridien Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Tahiti Hotel Papeete
Le Meridien Hotel Tahiti
Le Meridien Papeete
Papeete Le Meridien
Le Meridien Tahiti Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing