We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So comfortable!”
Review of Aremiti Ferry

Aremiti Ferry
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Papeete
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saskatoon
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“So comfortable!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Armati IV Ferry from Papeete to Moorea is definitely worth the reduce cost and enhanced views. I suffer from motion sickness, but by sitting in the front window on the big comfy leather seats, I had no problems for the quick 30 minute ride. Be warned however, that you do need to pre-arrange transport for the Moorea end as taxis are few and no-one will call one for you!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank prariegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    335
    63
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't Island hop by plane!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have used the Aremiti 5 ferry on several occasions- to begin and end trips to Moorea and for day trips to Papeete from Moorea. We have also used the slower Aremiti ferry after missing the 5, both ferry's very comfortable. Super clean, nicely air conditioned inside.
If you are planning your holiday and unsure about luggage service on the Aremiti 5- at both ends it is possible to put all of your luggage into a luggage 'crate/cage'. These can be easily located at each end (ground level at ferry terminal Papeete end, ground level at side of ferry building Moorea end, both signposted in English as well as French). No receipt/ticket is given for your bags but you will see the crate come off at the other end and be able to pick up your bags. Very convenient.
The ferry is airconditioned with good food and drink available on board. There is outdoor seating ( a bit tricky to find the door but its there). Aremiti 5 journey takes only 30 minutes so not quite long enough to get seasick if there is a swell at sea! Otherwise boat is so large that you feel little movement.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank 11235813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Fine ferry”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The ferry left on time and was reasonably priced. There is an open air cafe upstairs from the ticketing window so if you arrive early in the morning as we did, you can enjoy a light breakfast there. Nothing to complain about with the ferry service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Larkette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful ride to Moorea”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good value, plesasnt ride on the fast ferry over to Moorea from Papeete and back for the day. We sat on top on the way over for the beautiful views. Inside on the way back for a short nap after a busy day.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank travellots29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Way to Get Between Moorea and Tahiti”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Summary: Ferry is fast. Ferry is clean. Ferry is comfortable. Ferry takes cars. Ferry takes passengers. Ferry has food. Ferry staff are friendly. Ferry costs a lot less than flying.

We took the ferry from Moorea to Papeete as we moved between resorts. Our resort in Papeete sent transportation that met us just after the ferry docked. You are required to check your bags before boarding the ferry, but they come off quickly after docking.

For those taking the ferry from Papeete to Moorea on a day trip, consider renting a car to circumnavigate the island, or signing up for a tour. Many good sites and restaurants are away from the ferry. We had good luck with Albert Tours for transportation.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank XlntAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aremiti Ferry also viewed

 

Been to Aremiti Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing