We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Nearby Hotels
$121
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Fare Suisse Tahiti(Papeete)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
$128
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$120
$104
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$393
$339
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$299
$171
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $197/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ahitea Lodge(Papeete)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,116)
Filter reviews
1,116 results
Traveler rating
166
512
286
96
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
512
286
96
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbathroom floorfrench polynesiajunior suitesno wifi in the roomsrooftop poolfull kitchenreception areacomfortable hoteldowntown papeetestayed here for one nightconvenient locationfew blockscruise terminallate at nightmarkettahitiisland
Filter
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 1,116 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Everything is just a walking distance from the hotel: the market, shops, restaurants, ferry dock etc. The room was clean but there were tiny ants crawling around. We had mountside room and the view was a real stunner, especially before the sunrise.

Room Tip: Get a mountainside room if you can.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Tahiti Nui as it was convenient right in downtown Papeete and walking distance to mostly everything in Tahiti. We flew in on Hawaiian Airlines which arrives around 10pm and departs about 12 midnight so we were forced to stay the night of arrival and also stayed a night and a half on the way out of French Polynesia.

I feel we chose a very good hotel for staying a night or two between flights. There are many comments about the low lighting. The hallway lighting is very dim but not so that I needed a flashlight to get to the room. I did have one handy just because of all of those comments. We stayed in a jr suite the first time and an executive suite the second stay.

The jr suite was on the 4th floor next to the road. On a Saturday night, it was VERY loud! The executive suite was on the 6th floor and away from the road. We couldn't hear any traffic noise from here. I read a bunch of comments about the road noise and didn't think it would matter much but definitely ask for a room away from road noise.

The wifi was pretty dependable from the lobby only. There are lots of seating in the lobby for this purpose. It would be nice to have in room but come on, what do you expect in Tahiti. The lobby is just an elevator ride down from your room. There was ethernet hookup in the room but we didn't have anything with a wired connection.

My wife and I were glad that we used our stays here only as an airport stay. It's not somewhere you would probably want to spend more that 1 night. Papeete seems very old and run down. I'm amazed that they wouldn't fix up a town that's the first thing people see when flying into French Polynesia. On the positive side, It's in walking distance to pretty much anything downtown including the pearl museum, Vaima Center, food trucks, pharmacies, grocery stores, farmers market. The gas station connected to the hotel is key. It's even popular to the locals as food and drinks are very affordable here.

One thing to note is the shower in the jr suite. I think it's mainly meant for a bath. If you shower in it, everything slopes to the ground which left a puddle of about a half inch in the bathroom. There was a drain in the bathroom but it did not really work. The shower in the exec suite was much better. The beds were average but the sheets were pretty high quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

motorcycle noise kept us up until the wee hours so the next night we asked for a quiet room away from the street. We got a room over the disco that was thumping with very loud music until 1 AM.
The rooms smelled like bug spray.
The staff was pleasant and let us use the spa to clean up for a late flight after we had checked out.
Nice hotel, but next trip I will find a quiet place where I can get some sleep

Room Tip: traffic noise at the front is bad. Find out when the lounge has loud music and go elsewhere
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick R R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

There were eight of us flying into Tahiti at night and we wanted a place to stay in the city. Hotel Tahiti Nui was perfect for us. We had two 2 bedroom apartments. The rooms were very large with big patios that offered views of the city. Everything was clean and we felt like it was a good price considering we had two couples in each room. The bedrooms are upstairs so you need to be able to get yourself and your suitcase up there. We were very happy with our stay and would do it again. It is close to good cafes for breakfast and very close to the huge market.

Room Tip: If you have a family and can negotiate stairs the two bedroom apartments are great.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runsuerun60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our family stayed here for two nights before going to Moorea. Granted, prices are sky high in Papeete, but we definitely didn't get our money's worth here. The rooms are generic and lack any Tahitian charm. The beds are incredibly uncomfortable - softer than a waterbed! My boys thought the sheets on the extra beds felt like plastic. The pool was cold... too cold for my kids to swim in, and they seriously swim in almost anything! There's no breakfast included; we got ham baguettes at the gas station convenience store next to the hotel. Finally, the hotel has Wi-Fi, but it's only useable in the lobby. Really inconvenient! Seriously, there's got to be a better option in Papeete.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews