We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisey” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tahiti Nui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Papeete
Honolulu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“noisey”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

motorcycle noise kept us up until the wee hours so the next night we asked for a quiet room away from the street. We got a room over the disco that was thumping with very loud music until 1 AM.
The rooms smelled like bug spray.
The staff was pleasant and let us use the spa to clean up for a late flight after we had checked out.
Nice hotel, but next trip I will find a quiet place where I can get some sleep

Room Tip: traffic noise at the front is bad. Find out when the lounge has loud music and go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick R R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    472
    265
    92
    43
See reviews for
145
647
41
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
148 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

There were eight of us flying into Tahiti at night and we wanted a place to stay in the city. Hotel Tahiti Nui was perfect for us. We had two 2 bedroom apartments. The rooms were very large with big patios that offered views of the city. Everything was clean and we felt like it was a good price considering we had two couples in each room. The bedrooms are upstairs so you need to be able to get yourself and your suitcase up there. We were very happy with our stay and would do it again. It is close to good cafes for breakfast and very close to the huge market.

Room Tip: If you have a family and can negotiate stairs the two bedroom apartments are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runsuerun60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our family stayed here for two nights before going to Moorea. Granted, prices are sky high in Papeete, but we definitely didn't get our money's worth here. The rooms are generic and lack any Tahitian charm. The beds are incredibly uncomfortable - softer than a waterbed! My boys thought the sheets on the extra beds felt like plastic. The pool was cold... too cold for my kids to swim in, and they seriously swim in almost anything! There's no breakfast included; we got ham baguettes at the gas station convenience store next to the hotel. Finally, the hotel has Wi-Fi, but it's only useable in the lobby. Really inconvenient! Seriously, there's got to be a better option in Papeete.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Papeete hotels

Napier, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The manager seems to think that it is a good idea to double dip by having a VERY loud disco on the 2nd floor while guests who thought they had booked in for a good nights sleep on the floors above toss and turn while waiting for their flights. Gee thanks! dining service and room cleanliness indifferent. But most annoying of all is the non-response to our complaint.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. That is what several rooms full of guests did at 11pm when told the disco would be pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingFoam102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helped me practice my rusty French. Clearly they do speak English too. Hotel Tahiti Nui is close to the centre of town and handy to the ferries. Central Papeete is slightly sleazy along the waterfront at night but there is a lovely park close by. The pavements could do with repair which would make handling wheelie suitcases easier. That is not a hotel problem though.
Hotel Tahiti Nui is a well appointed haven compared to the surroundings outside.
Because of traffic noise it would be recommended to take a rear facing room. We had one night on our return in a street facing one and even with ear plugs there was a lot of traffic noise on a Saturday night/Sunday morning. See more below.
I think Tahiti Nui is quite adequate for a stop over if you want/have to be in Central Papeete.

Room Tip: We had a Junior Suite at the back of the hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip and Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I expected much more from Tahiti and this hotel. The city is very third world and is infested by people who have that sick/twisted look in their eye and present as unhealthy. I've never seen so many transgendered prostitutes in my life! The hotel is C level at best and has the quickest elevator of all time. This is a polar opposite to the doors of the room as they are stiff, slow and more difficult to open then they needed to be. The cost was ok. Long story short, if you arrive in The French Polynesian Islands after 3pm your best bet is to spend 1 night at a hotel in the city as you won't get full value for a half day in Moorea, Bora Bora, etc. I would never stay at any hotel in Tahiti for more than 1 night.

On a postive note the food trucks by the water front are to die for! I recommoned the steak frites.

Room Tip: You will be jet lagged, don't expect a great sleep, stay no more than one night, try the food tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We arrived at midnight and were efficiently checked in. The rooms are spacious and had great air con as we adjusted to the tropical warmth.

The breakfast was good and the Shell station next door has a great grocery selection if you want to self cater. Our room had a kettle but no cooking facilities.

The hotel could promote its restaurant better. It is hidden behind forbidding doors. However once through the service is welcoming and the food good.

I would stay here again. It Crain,y makes exploring Papeete very easy and was close to the ferries and cruise ship port.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellerslieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
5.6 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
0.4 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#3 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Tahitien
Royal Tahitien
#1 of 2 in Pirae
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#1 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tahiti Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tahiti Nui

Property: Hotel Tahiti Nui
Address: Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tahiti Nui 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Papeete, right by shops and restaurants, Hotel Tahiti Nui offers 44 rooms and 47 most comfortable and modern suites.Hotel Tahiti Nui strives to you any service you may expect from an international hotel with competitive rates.Nearby the Market, shops, movie theatres and other Papeete downtown attractions. A few walk from the shorefront and the pier, this hotel is just the ideal stop between two islands.Enjoy the open-sky pool, relax at the fitness center or eventually let yourself go for a delightful massage at the Dhana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tahiti Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tahiti Nui Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing