We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Stop overs Hotel Tahiti Nui” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tahiti Nui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Papeete
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stop overs Hotel Tahiti Nui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helped me practice my rusty French. Clearly they do speak English too. Hotel Tahiti Nui is close to the centre of town and handy to the ferries. Central Papeete is slightly sleazy along the waterfront at night but there is a lovely park close by. The pavements could do with repair which would make handling wheelie suitcases easier. That is not a hotel problem though.
Hotel Tahiti Nui is a well appointed haven compared to the surroundings outside.
Because of traffic noise it would be recommended to take a rear facing room. We had one night on our return in a street facing one and even with ear plugs there was a lot of traffic noise on a Saturday night/Sunday morning. See more below.
I think Tahiti Nui is quite adequate for a stop over if you want/have to be in Central Papeete.

Room Tip: We had a Junior Suite at the back of the hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip and Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    437
    245
    84
    42
See reviews for
137
604
41
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I expected much more from Tahiti and this hotel. The city is very third world and is infested by people who have that sick/twisted look in their eye and present as unhealthy. I've never seen so many transgendered prostitutes in my life! The hotel is C level at best and has the quickest elevator of all time. This is a polar opposite to the doors of the room as they are stiff, slow and more difficult to open then they needed to be. The cost was ok. Long story short, if you arrive in The French Polynesian Islands after 3pm your best bet is to spend 1 night at a hotel in the city as you won't get full value for a half day in Moorea, Bora Bora, etc. I would never stay at any hotel in Tahiti for more than 1 night.

On a postive note the food trucks by the water front are to die for! I recommoned the steak frites.

Room Tip: You will be jet lagged, don't expect a great sleep, stay no more than one night, try the food tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We arrived at midnight and were efficiently checked in. The rooms are spacious and had great air con as we adjusted to the tropical warmth.

The breakfast was good and the Shell station next door has a great grocery selection if you want to self cater. Our room had a kettle but no cooking facilities.

The hotel could promote its restaurant better. It is hidden behind forbidding doors. However once through the service is welcoming and the food good.

I would stay here again. It Crain,y makes exploring Papeete very easy and was close to the ferries and cruise ship port.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellerslieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

It didn't take long to change Tahiti Nui to Tahiti No-No in my mind.

No, the TV didn't work. I was eager to watch some sport results.
No, the pool couldn't be used as it was icy cold and they threw 6 large exercise bicycles into it for water aerobics.
No, there was no wifi anywhere. Guests kept asking around in the foyer to see if anyone was getting it. No one was.
No, you couldn't connect to the internet cable in your room either unless you had an adapter.

Who would think of taking a cable adapter if free wifi was advertised as being available?
No, there was no one to help us carry our bags to our room.
No, you couldn't see where you were going when you got out of the elevator into the corridor - day or night. Why do they keep it so dark? There is only an eerily dim blue light leading to the suite door.

These are not major matters to rectify and the apparent negligent attitude to management to attend to the niggly little things easily fixed only adds to the annoyance and makes one lose confidence as to what they'd do if more serious matters arose.

The room itself was quite comfortable and we were there only two nights. We didn't use the restaurant and other facilities. We found a couple of very good restaurants across from the cruise/ferry terminal.

Service by reception staff was fine but they were perplexed and nothing was done except apologizing.

As we were catching a cruise, this hotel's proximity to the cruise terminal (just 400 metres) was a plus. We just walked to our ship.

As I was settling my account on the way out, I noticed a plaque on the reception counter showing a 4 star rating bestowed by Trip Advisor. I have stayed in many hotels around the world and I consider this a 3 Star if they make everything work. As it was for us I'd give it a 2+.

Where I rated it higher than that is what one should expect normally from any hotel charging that tarriff ie a good quiet night's sleep in a comfortable bed in a clean room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travinlyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Papeete hotels

Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on transit from moorea to back home.
Rooms are clean and modern. The corridors have no lights which at night are a little odd and creepy. Recommend they install better lighting before they get sued for someone tripping over.
Location is ok. 10 min walk to waterfront. Great service station with food/drinks next door.
Wifi is only available in the lobby and can be a little noisy but this would be expected given location.
Overall recommend for Papeete given value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario_Gala82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel is well located and very nice for a very short stay as the view is absolutly not the best of Polynesia, but you're also in Papeete...
The hotel has very nice breakfast, provides free wifi at the reception and has spacious rooms if you're travelling with kids.
You can also store your luggages at the hotel if you need it (as we went for 4 nights at Rurutu and we had to spend a night at Papeete before going to Rangiroa, we left most of our luggages at Tahiti to travel light as possible). The hotel has a nice little pool and a fitness center.
Don't expect to sleep with the doors of your balcony open as the hotel is located on a main avenue, there is a lot of traffic.
The only bad thing with this hotel are the elevators!!!!! Be very carefull when you go in/out as the doors closed after 5 seconds and can hurt you bad if nobody holds the button to keep the doors open.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Familyglobtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is underrated on the website. It is actually modern and well designed with attractive and stylish rooms. The staff were the most dignified and appropriate of all that I encountered in a range of hotel and resort stays throughout French Polynesia is very good value for money in this hugely overpriced country. The location allows easy access to the town cafes and the harbour. There is a comfortable mezzanine café. The pool unfortunately had women exercise groups using it each time we felt like a swim. I encourage you to try this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed once at front in suite and once at back in smaller room. Back was better as it looks to m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GANDK715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
5.6 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
0.4 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#3 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#1 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 1,433 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sarah Nui
Hotel Sarah Nui
#4 of 7 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tahiti Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tahiti Nui

Property: Hotel Tahiti Nui
Address: Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete 98714, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tahiti Nui 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Papeete, right by shops and restaurants, Hotel Tahiti Nui offers 44 rooms and 47 most comfortable and modern suites.Hotel Tahiti Nui strives to you any service you may expect from an international hotel with competitive rates.Nearby the Market, shops, movie theatres and other Papeete downtown attractions. A few walk from the shorefront and the pier, this hotel is just the ideal stop between two islands.Enjoy the open-sky pool, relax at the fitness center or eventually let yourself go for a delightful massage at the Dhana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tahiti Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tahiti Nui Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing