We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good option for pre-cruise, pre-flight brief overnight stay”
Review of Hotel Tahiti Nui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Papeete
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good option for pre-cruise, pre-flight brief overnight stay”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We needed to overnight from Bora Bora for an early morning flight to US. We booked a standard room and it was a 10 min cab ride to airport $30. (3 min to cruise terminal) The hotel was new and clean. The beds were comfortable. We paid $275 which sounds high for a 3 star but in French Polynesia proved to be one of the least expensive options for easter week. The hotel advertises free wireless, however wireless is only available in the lobby. There is free wired in the room. We also booked through hotels.com and the room was to be paid in full. At check out the clerk was adamant that city tax was not included so we had to pay that. The hall ways are not lit. There are small blue lights that illuminate the door lock. I would not stay there traveling alone because of this. As other reviewers said, surroundings are not great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indytraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    489
    274
    91
    50
See reviews for
152
672
41
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We loved the staff and the food. Rooms are being remolded and are clean. We stayed out over the water and enjoyed swimming from our room. Friendly, comfortable hotel. Take the little boat out to visit the small islands or mutus.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillOnaghAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nothing special or glamorous. Found the bathroom not super clean when we went in, had to kill a small bug. Nothing nearby the hotel which makes it hard to find places to eat or things to do. I thought it was expensive for the price, although we had a nice view of the mountain. Reception was supposed to call a taxi at 6am but it never came so we had to wait a while and ended up getting a ride with another couple in their taxi. Taxi's are quite expensive to airport! I would stay somewhere closer to airport if this is just a transiet hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pooja2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I booked an executive suite for less than $75 more than a regular room. What a deal!!! The apartment we received was enormous! It had a full sized living room, full sized kitchen/dining room area (complete with everything for cooking).

The bedrooms were on the second floor of this apartment. Each had its own large (!) shower and bathroom.

Beds were comfortable. Rooms very clean. No lock on the sliding door of our large terrace (yep, a terrace too... most rooms have at least a balcony big enough for a couple chairs).

The pool was OK. Wish it were deeper. The water tasted oddly.... sweet. But no chlorine smell. The jacuzzi did not work. They have a spa in the hotel with another jacuzzi, though I did not bother to check out the spa (which offers many services: massage, manicure, facials, etc.) It appeared quite good.

The somewhat drab lobby of the hotel is cavernous. The left hand wall is supposed to have water flowing from the ceiling, but it (like the jacuzzi) was not functioning. They have a restaurant I did not check out because there are some very highly recommended restaurants only a 10 minute taxi ride away.

This hotel has one interesting feature: the rooms are ringed around a central, open-air rectangle. But this I mean that there is no roof overhead in this central space. Huge tropical plants grow on the ground level. Very interesting design. Seems to take advantage of the local weather conditions.

Considering the unexpectedly huge size of our room (this wasn't some average suite!) I cannot complain at all about the accomodations.

Room Tip: Really.... spend a little extra and get a suite.... it's not just a little bigger, it's mass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copa777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel.It's a quite new hotel.The rooms are nice spacious,clean.The problem is the service.A friend of ours who lives in Papeete left us a letter when he came and we we're out and we never got the letter.Our friend called us at 7:30 p.m. to ask if we had received his invitation for dinner.We had not received it.I went downstairs and they had the letter but had not given it to us .No service to leave a message on the phone.The receptionnist said to me he should have called to let us know he had left a letter for us.He called the manager the next day and we never heard from him The hotel is well situated but would need better managing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The good: Bed comfortable, enough storage space, large room
The bad: Don't eat here, too expensive, pool needed to be cleaned. poor lighting in the halls

There is a service station attached to the hotel. Go get your breakfast food there. Much more reasonable. At the hotel it was approx. $28 US for continental breakfast and $35 US for American breakfast. Went and looked and not impressed with the choices. Pool towels are in your room. They are a different colour to the bath towels. No shower door and tub was super narrow. Anyone who is obese would not fit into tub. Difficult to get out of tub if you have mobility issues. Very central to town and east to walk to all the tourist attractions. Eat at the market and the Roulettes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CndnGuider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Pros:

1. Location is great. But are there even any other hotels in downtown Papeete? The price is high but on par with rooms of similar caliber in FP.

2. Rooms are modern and clean and had large balcony.

3. Internet is free.

4. Management handled problems pretty well. Given the captive audience, they are doing a pretty good job.

Cons:

1. No secure online reservation system--in what is otherwise "proper" hotel! You have to email your credit card details to make a booking, which is fine for a pension but preposterous for a hotel of this caliber.

Their antiquated non-system is not only insecure, it doesn't work. I sent my credit card details directly to the owner. The owners email clearly says that my credit card details guarantee the reservation. Yet upon check in they somehow did not have my reservation on record, and claimed not to have rooms in my price category. Ha! The owner didn't even process the reservation correctly.

Instead of taking responsibility for the error, the front desk placed us in the awkward position of having to call an assistant manager to complain. The assistant manager also defended their dysfunctional reservation system. He wanted to give me an "explanation," which was just to claim, as the front desk clerk did, that it is the guest's responsibility to wait for a special "confirmation email" when *no such stipulation is mentioned in my correspondence with owner*.

I re-read the email the owner sent me. It says that sending my credit card guarantees the reservation--and it never indicates that even after the customer emails their credit card details, that the reservation is not confirmed. I had this email in front of me on my phone. I showed it to the front desk and manager, but they ignored it.

All they need to do to avoid unpleasantness in the future (well, besides creating a standard SSL reservation system like most hotels, duh!) is to state clearly: "Submitting your credit card does not guarantee the reservation. The guest is not confirmed unless there is an email that expressly says "You are confirmed! You are confirmed!"

Ultimately the manager gave us a room at the agreed-upon price, but the whole incident was unpleasant and more stressful than it needed to be.

If you choose to stay here, I strongly advise using Booking.com, even if it does cost a little more money than booking direct.

2. Although the internet is free, it is hard-wired in the room. We travel with a portable Wifi modem, but most people don't. If you have an iPad or use only your phone, you have to sit in the lobby. The lobby Internet is ok but sometimes cuts out if a lot of people are using it at the same time.

3. The sink in the bathroom only gave hot water after a while. We usually drink the tap water in FP, but could not here.

4. You'd never consider Papeete to be a loud place, but if you are in Papeete on a weekend, don't get a street side room. I slept very poorly due to being assaulted continuously through the night by screeching scooters. The rooms are not soundproofed in the least bit.

Room Tip: Avoid Street Side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raincitysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
5.6 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
0.4 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Tahitien
Royal Tahitien
#1 of 2 in Pirae
3.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#2 of 3 in Punaauia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sarah Nui
Hotel Sarah Nui
#4 of 7 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tahiti Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tahiti Nui

Property: Hotel Tahiti Nui
Address: Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Papeete
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tahiti Nui 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Papeete, right by shops and restaurants, Hotel Tahiti Nui offers 44 rooms and 47 most comfortable and modern suites.Hotel Tahiti Nui strives to you any service you may expect from an international hotel with competitive rates.Nearby the Market, shops, movie theatres and other Papeete downtown attractions. A few walk from the shorefront and the pier, this hotel is just the ideal stop between two islands.Enjoy the open-sky pool, relax at the fitness center or eventually let yourself go for a delightful massage at the Dhana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tahiti Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tahiti Nui Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing