We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“great position” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tahiti Nui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Papeete
Venezia, Italia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“great position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

this hotel has a reasonable price, rooms are spacious and well finished. The wifi is free but is available only in the reception at ground floor. It's available also a baggage room that is very useful if you are here as point of departure for external islet. But the real best value of this hotel is surely the position cause it's really closer to the town center, the market and the "roulotte" where you can eat very well at fair price. i can certainly suggest this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andreasupertamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    472
    265
    92
    43
See reviews for
145
647
41
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I arrived quite late at night , at 1:30am in the morning and checked in was no problem.
I choose the hotel as other posts said there is loud partying and music and I was so looking forward to this , but was disappointed - there was none. In fact Papeete could do with some nightlife.. as there just isn't any. I stayed Thurs, Fri and Sat nights and no activity after 7pm. it felt more like a retirement village than what other posts makes it out to be. The town was dead when I was there.

Free internet and WiFi is really helpful in Tahiti. This was a real plus point of the hotel.

This hotel is nice inside... the room I stayed in was clean and comfy., everything worked well, air con, hot water, kettle. going to your room at night had the lights dimmed down.. I think this is give the hotel an 'atmosphere' , either that or they saving on electricity, but it could do with better or more lighting.

The Hotel has a service station ( gas station) next to it and this is really handy as you can get a mini bar coke for 350 francs or the one next door for 110 francs.

The Hotel is also handy to the Ferry port, ferries that take you to Morea and Bora Bora as well as to the 'tourist' areas close by.

Staff will organize a taxi and other activities for you. I did a four hour tour of the island with "Dave!" and he is really good. I would highly recommend you use him as he is an American that speaks clear English which is hard to find in TAHITI . He is also very knowledgeable and helpful. So ask for him and book him in advance if you can. He is popular and his prices is reasonable for Tahiti.

I was a bit short of cash and needed to convert some Dollars to Francs and NO banks are open on a Saturday or Sunday and there are no Currency exchanges around.

Yes, I could have used an ATM, but I personally dislike using my cards oversees and rather prefer to take cash.

The Hotel will convert up to $100/day for you and I just walked around to other Hotels and they seemed no to have a problem converting between $50-$100 for me.

The other option is to go to the Airport and use the converting machine.

The mistake I made was not taking enough converted cash earlier as the prices in TAHITI was generally anything from 3-5 times higher than Australia for most goods and services.

The Hotel, it's services are very good for the location and services provided.

The breakfast is simple. I did not have dinner at the hotel.

Room Tip: Room facing the pool is good, it was quiet and also you will be in for a treat when the aqua aerobic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SydneyBender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three days...all of which were equally awful. The first room lacked most of the advertised amenities...including no shower curtain, so water dangerously flooded the bathroom floor and ran into the bmdroon The walls at the entrance to the bathroom, had been damaged by water and the baseboards were inches away from the wall. This impression was enforced on day two when we returned from walking into the town to find water pouring into the bath from one of the light fixtures We were then moved to another room, which had obviously not been occupied for some time as the floors were filthy...and when they finally sent someone to clean, it took her more than an hour. I agree with another reviewer that the hotel is very dark. So much so, that it is hard to put the key in the lock and again I agree that the attitude of the staff is poor ,right up to and including the manager.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dzonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Papeete hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Tahiti Nui for one night, in one of the suites. The suite was very spacious and modern. The hotel itself has a great design, and is a tidy, affordable place to stay in Papeete (when other hotels of similar standard are really highly pried). The pool is okay (nothing special, but good for something on the second floor).

Everything is within walking distance of this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pacificNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was only there for a day stay before leaving on air plane at 12:00pm. I would not stay there over night. The whole hotel is dark, bathrooms need light and more lights. Staff needs to improve there attitude which was poor.. We did find a places to eat down the street at the dock park area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelehua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent 1 night at this hotel after an amazing week in Moorea and before a long flight home to Canada. Esthetically, the hotel is beautiful if not a bit worn in some public areas (especially around the pool), but unfortunately, as previously reported, we were on the 4th floor and were subjected to loud booming music and laughter well into the wee hours. I would find it difficult to recommend this hotel to people looking for a good nights rest before heading off. That said- if the noise is adjusted, all other reports are true regarding the central location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prariegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightwaters, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great hotel stayed two fablous nights.Very clean and well maintained.Location to downtown Papeete, roulette trucks and ferry dock was perfect. Would reccomend to everyone wanting to stay close to it all. Spa treatments were also very relaxing..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cg330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
5.6 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
0.4 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#3 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Tahitien
Royal Tahitien
#1 of 2 in Pirae
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#1 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tahiti Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tahiti Nui

Property: Hotel Tahiti Nui
Address: Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tahiti Nui 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Papeete, right by shops and restaurants, Hotel Tahiti Nui offers 44 rooms and 47 most comfortable and modern suites.Hotel Tahiti Nui strives to you any service you may expect from an international hotel with competitive rates.Nearby the Market, shops, movie theatres and other Papeete downtown attractions. A few walk from the shorefront and the pier, this hotel is just the ideal stop between two islands.Enjoy the open-sky pool, relax at the fitness center or eventually let yourself go for a delightful massage at the Dhana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tahiti Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tahiti Nui Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing