We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Tahiti Nui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Papeete
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent 3 nights here. Our first night we arrived around 10:30 PM and expected to hear the loud music everyone talks about here. There was music confined to a large room off the lobby area but in no way was it blaring. We had a room on the 5th floor as we requested away from the street noise. All our nights were noise free. The room was quite clean. I would have liked wash cloths and hand towels as there were only 2 bath towels. Also there is a note saying the fridge is not to be used except for the items stocked by the hotel itself. Ridiculous. Good location to the pier. Probably the best and most reasonably priced hotel for a stop over in Tahiti.

Room Tip: A room in the back away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellots29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    490
    275
    91
    50
See reviews for
152
672
42
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in March 2012, a few days before boarding the Aranui 3 for the Marqueses Islands and again upon returning. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the hotel staff was friendly and professional. On the day of our departure back home our flight left at 11pm. The hotel was gracious enough to hold our luggage and let us have day use of the pool and shower facilities (very convenient to have in such a hot climate).

Room Tip: Request room at the back of the hotel to avoid the main road. Breakfast buffet is very pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Davis, TX
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel 2 times, once on our arrival in Tahiti and once upon our departure. The first visit was excellent. This is an architecturally stunning hotel, and the staff anticipated our every need for the short day-stay while we got over our jet lag. This was in a "junior suite."
On our second visit, we had an "executive suite" on the 6th floor (617), which had a kitchen in it. But it was so poorly stocked, that it offered us no real convenience. There was some peeling plaster on the ceiling. The telephone (not cordless) was on the 2nd floor, so you had to go up there to call the front desk. There was a problem with tiny ants, no mirror in the downstairs bathroom. We needed a cork screw, but there was not one to be found in the entire hotel The staff suggested we wait until the lounge opened. The internet cable was wobbly and we had to hold it in place in order for it to work, and no one came to help us with that. They did send a staff person to replace the batteries in the remote for the A/C. Also, the sheets in the executive suites were "crisp" and rattled when we moved around...maybe starch? That resulted in an unusual sleep experience.
In summary, the potential for an excellent visit exists here, but there was a hint of neglect that could be easily fixed with more attention from the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Be sure you know the costs. The hotel seems to roll some taxes into the room rate and charge other taxes separately, meaning you have no way of being sure of what your real room rate is. When I questioned this with the front desk, they were very patronizing and unable to offer a legitimate explanation for the charges. Otherwise, the rooms were nice and clean.

Room Tip: Be sure you know the costs. The hotel seems to roll some taxes into the room rate and charge other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottsMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTahitiNui, Responsable réception at Hotel Tahiti Nui, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Ia orana,

First of all, we thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor!

Nevertheless, we have to clarify what you call "hidden charges".
When you made the booking, we confirmed you the rate + 14% taxes + city tax (150 XPF per night per person).
The day of your departure, on your final bill, you had : the rate confirmed + 5% taxes + 4% taxes (service charge) + 5% taxes (official tax in French Polinesia) + city tax so the total you've paid was the right one.
There was no "hidden charges".

We understand that the different taxes on the room bill were maybe confusing but you've paid the right amount.

We stay at your entire disposal for further information.

Mauruuru,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here one night, on our way to Moorea. Quiet hotel, rooms are huge. You are close to the waterfront and roulettes. We basically arrived late afternoon, chnaged clothes and headed out to get some food from the roulettes which was so fun! The food is great and its good people watching. We ended up walking along the marina after, having a nightcap at some pubs along the way back to the hotel.

Buffett breakfast the next morning was $45 nz pp, not really worth it , but we were in a rush to catch the ferry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanuckinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia, Peru
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

LOCATION: XPF 3000 and fifteen minutes’ drive with a taxi from the airport. Centrally located, only a short walk to the restaurants and the harbor.

HOTEL: Friendly, fast check-in and check-out. Big, practical room lay-out. Clean, quiet room facing the mountain, except on Friday and Saturday nights when the hotel bar plays very loud music until 2 AM. Good beds and pillows. Quiet air-conditioner. Adequate shower.

CONCLUSION: This hotel could easily get a high rating if not for the loud music from the bar. Even on a higher floor the noise was very loud, making it impossible to have a good night rest during those bar nights. The location is great, not too far from the airport, but still in a short walking distance to the local markets, restaurants, banks and post office. Tahiti Nui Hotel has good rooms. I will definitely use this hotel again, but not during the bar nights.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank HKasyouare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Papeete hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel is one of the more reasonabley priced for Papeete, great location close to waterfront, ferry building and market. The room was spacious and well air conditioned but staff need a little attention to detail. Our shower was dirty when we arrived and one of the drawers in the desk was falling apart and needed maintenance. Also when we checked in we were warned that there was going to be a big party on the Saturday night of our two night stay and the music was quite loud. We were glad for the warning but it may not suit everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieNgatiNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
5.6 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
0.4 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
274 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Tahitien
Royal Tahitien
#1 of 2 in Pirae
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#2 of 3 in Punaauia
1,750 reviews
13.3 mi away
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tahiti Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tahiti Nui

Property: Hotel Tahiti Nui
Address: Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tahiti Nui 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Papeete, right by shops and restaurants, Hotel Tahiti Nui offers 44 rooms and 47 most comfortable and modern suites.Hotel Tahiti Nui strives to you any service you may expect from an international hotel with competitive rates.Nearby the Market, shops, movie theatres and other Papeete downtown attractions. A few walk from the shorefront and the pier, this hotel is just the ideal stop between two islands.Enjoy the open-sky pool, relax at the fitness center or eventually let yourself go for a delightful massage at the Dhana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Tahiti Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tahiti Nui Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing