We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware of hidden charges”
Review of Hotel Tahiti Nui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Papeete
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Be sure you know the costs. The hotel seems to roll some taxes into the room rate and charge other taxes separately, meaning you have no way of being sure of what your real room rate is. When I questioned this with the front desk, they were very patronizing and unable to offer a legitimate explanation for the charges. Otherwise, the rooms were nice and clean.

Room Tip: Be sure you know the costs. The hotel seems to roll some taxes into the room rate and charge other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottsMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTahitiNui, Responsable réception at Hotel Tahiti Nui, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Ia orana,

First of all, we thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor!

Nevertheless, we have to clarify what you call "hidden charges".
When you made the booking, we confirmed you the rate + 14% taxes + city tax (150 XPF per night per person).
The day of your departure, on your final bill, you had : the rate confirmed + 5% taxes + 4% taxes (service charge) + 5% taxes (official tax in French Polinesia) + city tax so the total you've paid was the right one.
There was no "hidden charges".

We understand that the different taxes on the room bill were maybe confusing but you've paid the right amount.

We stay at your entire disposal for further information.

Mauruuru,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here one night, on our way to Moorea. Quiet hotel, rooms are huge. You are close to the waterfront and roulettes. We basically arrived late afternoon, chnaged clothes and headed out to get some food from the roulettes which was so fun! The food is great and its good people watching. We ended up walking along the marina after, having a nightcap at some pubs along the way back to the hotel.

Buffett breakfast the next morning was $45 nz pp, not really worth it , but we were in a rush to catch the ferry.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanuckinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

LOCATION: XPF 3000 and fifteen minutes’ drive with a taxi from the airport. Centrally located, only a short walk to the restaurants and the harbor.

HOTEL: Friendly, fast check-in and check-out. Big, practical room lay-out. Clean, quiet room facing the mountain, except on Friday and Saturday nights when the hotel bar plays very loud music until 2 AM. Good beds and pillows. Quiet air-conditioner. Adequate shower.

CONCLUSION: This hotel could easily get a high rating if not for the loud music from the bar. Even on a higher floor the noise was very loud, making it impossible to have a good night rest during those bar nights. The location is great, not too far from the airport, but still in a short walking distance to the local markets, restaurants, banks and post office. Tahiti Nui Hotel has good rooms. I will definitely use this hotel again, but not during the bar nights.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank HKasyouare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel is one of the more reasonabley priced for Papeete, great location close to waterfront, ferry building and market. The room was spacious and well air conditioned but staff need a little attention to detail. Our shower was dirty when we arrived and one of the drawers in the desk was falling apart and needed maintenance. Also when we checked in we were warned that there was going to be a big party on the Saturday night of our two night stay and the music was quite loud. We were glad for the warning but it may not suit everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatalieNgatiNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We found ourselves recently "stranded" in Papeete for a night as a result of the Air Tahiti Nui strike. We were assigned to the Hotel Tahiti Nui. Having only stayed at large resorts during our trip, we weren't sure what to expect from this hotel. The hotel has great "curb appeal" with a very modern look, large glass doors and a very open lobby area. We were in a room on the 6th floor, which is the top. Those rooms are all 2 stories, with full kitchens and a living room downstairs, while the bedroom and bathroom are upstairs. Ask for one of these rooms if you can.

My wife and I both felt as though this hotel has great potential, but it's just missing a few finishing items. It's almost as if we stayed there before it was really meant to open fully. There are no hand towels in the kitchen or bathrooms. It's bath towels for everything, including drying your hands after you wash them. Also, the shower solution is a bit of a mess. Not sure if it's the same in every bathroom, but the shower head is down about knee level, although there's a hose so it can extend. The problem is that there isn't a shower curtain and water just splashes all over the bathroom floor. Unlike the resorts or bungalows, this bathroom doesn't have floor drains, so be very careful. I also found that both TVs weren't plugged in for some reason, so we had to do that too. The sheets were very starchy, as if they were new, and made lots of noise whenever we moved.

The breakfast buffet is pretty solid and the staff was great. Hotel has free WiFi, but it really only worked for us in the lobby area and restaurant. Front desk staff was very nice. You can change money with them too, commission free. If you are getting into Papeete later in the evening and have an early boat to Moorea, this a great location for you. The marina is walkable. Otherwise, the downtown area isn't for the lighthearted. You must be ready for an adventure. Traffic, congestion and nothing too glamorous in this area, no big/familiar restaurants, but plenty of things to see if you're looking to explore an island city.

Room Tip: Look to the 6th (top) floor, mountain view. Rooms are 2 stories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alsmith031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel is in a great great location just a few mins walk to the town and the Moorea ferries and 15 mins from the airport.
Staff are very helpful and friendly.
Has off street parking.
Free WiFi in lobby area. Would stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

the hotel tahiti nui was ok for 1 night....they have no bell boys...so you are responsible for bringing your bags up to your room (they had 1 dolley). the bar opened at a certain time and you could not get even snacks before. while the room was clean, the whole place looks a little tired....it needs some renovation!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cleonardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
0.4 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
296 reviews
5.6 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
16.2 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#2 of 3 in Punaauia
1,832 reviews
4 mi away
Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tahiti Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tahiti Nui

Address: Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Papeete
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tahiti Nui 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Papeete, right by shops and restaurants, Hotel Tahiti Nui offers 44 rooms and 47 most comfortable and modern suites.Hotel Tahiti Nui strives to you any service you may expect from an international hotel with competitive rates.Nearby the Market, shops, movie theatres and other Papeete downtown attractions. A few walk from the shorefront and the pier, this hotel is just the ideal stop between two islands.Enjoy the open-sky pool, relax at the fitness center or eventually let yourself go for a delightful massage at the Dhana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tahiti Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tahiti Nui Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing