We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent accommodation, dreadful location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tahiti Nui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tahiti Nui to your Saves list
Hotel Tahiti Nui
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Papeete
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent accommodation, dreadful location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I would strongly advise anyone traveling to Tahiti to arrange for accommodations elsewhere than the island of Tahiti - Moorea, Bora Bora, etc. While Hotel Tahiti Nui offers decently comfortable, clean rooms and friendly/helpful staff a good price, the distant proximity from any decent beaches is most undesirable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlienCommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We planned on staying here for a pre-cruise overnight stay. Since our flight was arriving very early in the morning (5:30 AM), I'd booked for the night prior as well to insure we'd have a room waiting for us when we arrived.

The reservation agent suggested allowing them to set up a transfer from the airport. That worked out well and we got to the property and to our room with no problem. The hotel is located within a couple of blocks of the cruise port, so we were able to walk to our ship the following day. The Market is also within walking distance and well worth a visit.

Although we didn't request an accessible room, our arrival with me in a wheelchair (I usually just walk with crutches, but had a chair for our cruise) probably prompted our check-in into room 522, which appeared to be an accessible room. I say "appeared" because it didn't completely meet up to US standards (eyehole through door was at standing level only, for instance), but was certainly workable. The door to the bathroom was a sliding door, making getting in and out easy. The shower was a chair-friendly standing shower. (I'd asked for a stool for the shower; they provided a plastic chair.) I don't know if this was the case in other rooms or not.

The room was very nicely furnished, a decent size, and fairly clean. (I did notice long hair on the stone floor of the shower that didn't come from either of us.) The rooms all spread from an inner atrium which is beautifully planted with lots of plants. We got a mountain view room overlooking the pool. It had much less street noise, but did suffer from the beat of the lounge floors below (we were on the 5th floor). We were tired enough that it didn't much matter, though. If you need quiet, I'd suggest the rooms facing east, toward the water. (This is just a guess, though.) Bathroom amenities were only shampoo and body wash, in surprisingly beautiful containers.

Do be aware that Papeete is -not- an accessible city by any stretch. No cut-outs at sidewalks (and sidewalks that are highly raised from street level) meant we had to walk/chair on the street. This was terrifying until we decided to just take side streets to get around. That's not the hotel's fault, but they do not have any way to access their pool deck except by going down 3 steps. (Fortunately, I was able to work around this.) The pool was very pleasant, with a raised "sitting tub" area that flowed into the main pool. (I'd say "hot tub," but it was not heated.)

The Shell station next door was our surprisingly delicious choice for quick-meal food. (And it was accessible as well.) Their bread and pastries were fresh each morning, delicious, inexpensive, and were easily bought with US funds.

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. (We had problems with our Eurpopean power adaptors and converters, and they did everything they could to try to accommodate us -- but no luck.)

Although we didn't enjoy Papeete, we did enjoy the hotel. I'd recommend it, especially for shorter stays.

Room Tip: We had mountain-view. Less street noise, but more noise from bar. Our higher floor didn't seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vjdjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Arrived at midnight on Saturday, checked in no problem and while there is a bar on site that's open until 2am once we got to our room we couldn't hear anything, so no problem there.

The room was very large and very comfortable - looked like it had been built as a studio but there were no kitchen facilities other than a fridge. It was very clean and altogether better than I'd expected.

Location is good - easy walking distance to most places in Papeete. Pool was ok too and the gym looked modern and well equiped although we didn't use it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMWelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Perfect stop-over for short stay - Room overlooking swimming pool was bright, clean, modern & comfortable. Very convenient if you want to walk and explore downtown Papeete - public bus station & Market for groceries, souvenirs & a quick bite. Easy 10 minute walk down to ferry if one is planning to go over to Moorea (which is highly recommended). Visit the nightly open air food "routelle" market down near the ferry dock for freshlly made hot meals (mostly Chinese) and inexpensive.
Hotel Tahiti Nui is centrally situated & met our needs - Lighting in the Lobby area near elevators & washroom need to be brighter, otherwise no complaints on service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Well it's safe to say that early morning hard house DJ's and hotels don't mix. We stayed here on the way in and out of Tahiti and we were hammered by late hard house on the way in and drum and base on the way out. We're couldn't get to sleep until it stopped at 2am on the way out. The whole building was vibrating off the deep base and our windows were making a very annoying noise due to it. Even though they ensured us that nothing could be herd on the 5th floor at the far end from the disco tech ravathon it was still loud enough for us to envisage glow sticks, red bulls and Lillie pops being waved and consumed just below us.

Don't go near this place on a Friday or saturday night unless you want to stay up and have a private rave. Also don't trust the wake up call service they call us 25 mins late and admitted they messed up.

Even the taxi driver can't believe they get away with it!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Papeete hotels

Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Good central location but tired and needs some investment. No porter service and very few staff on show. Bathroom far too dark as was shower/toilet rooms near swimming pool. Breakfast restaurant far too dark, poor food selection, no atmosphere. No english TV channels. Spent 4 days in Tahiti and would never stay there again. Get a ferry to Morea (30 mins) far nicer, better hotels and superb beaches.

Room Tip: Rooms ar rear quieter I suspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1468VX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We arrived late in the evening and had requested the hotel to arrange for transport.
Knowing from earlier experience that late at night, on Tahiti airport, there are not many taxis I was a little anxious as to whether the hotel had sent transport. It took some time to find it but the transport van was there.
The hotel is modern and when we were there ( early part of January ) not crowded.
When booking this hotel via internet, we had requested a mountain view room / suite as the reviews claimed these rooms were more quiet, True they are, but given the low level of traffic at night in Tahiti it does not matter too much. The staff is friendly and speaks english but you have to carry your lugguage to your room yourself. There are elevators.
The junor type of suite was ok, clean and the beds were fine.
The restaurant is very good. Pity it is modern and located in the hotel (not very romantic) but still very good.
We rented a car ( about 10 minutes walk from the hotel ) and traveled the only road around the island. Visited the Gauguin museum ( only copies of his paintings ) but they have a list where in the world to find the originals. Annex the museum is a restaurant with reasonable food. You can easily do this trip ( incl. lunch ) in 5 hours. Bring the car back to the rental location but do not fill up the petrol tank. A person from the rental company will then do this for you and drop you off at the hotel. ( It can be hot in Tahiti in the afternoon ). We stayed in the hotel for 2 nites as stopover for Moorea. Yes the distance to the harbour is not very far, but with 2 big suitcases and the temperature rising in the morning we decided to take a taxi to the harbour. The hotel arranged this and 6 minutes later we were dropped off at the ticketing booth of the ferry. Having your tickets, they will let you into a covered corall type place waiting for the ferry. Have some water with you as you might have to wait for a while. Your suitcases are taken into a room and you do not get a ticket for this. By the way it always amuses me to see people running and pushing to enter the boat as if there is not sufficient space.
The ferry boat to Moorea is big and comfortable. You can eat and drink on board.
Arriving on Moorea ( it takes about 45 minutes ) you can find your suitcases in an open metal container and everybody also jumps on this. So while waiting for your suitcases tell a taxi driver which hotel you want to go and he or she will help you pull out your suitcases.
Overall a good modern stopover hotel before you go on to explore French Polynesia.
There is a motel at the airport but eventhough it looks like you can walk overthere it is hell to get there. ( steep hill, crossing a motorway )

Room Tip: ask for moutain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank torugbene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
5.6 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
0.4 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#3 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
16.1 mi away
Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#1 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Resort Tahiti
37.2 mi away
The Brando
The Brando
#1 of 1 in Tetiaroa
5.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tahiti Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tahiti Nui

Address: Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tahiti Nui 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Papeete, right by shops and restaurants, Hotel Tahiti Nui offers 44 rooms and 47 most comfortable and modern suites.Hotel Tahiti Nui strives to you any service you may expect from an international hotel with competitive rates.Nearby the Market, shops, movie theatres and other Papeete downtown attractions. A few walk from the shorefront and the pier, this hotel is just the ideal stop between two islands.Enjoy the open-sky pool, relax at the fitness center or eventually let yourself go for a delightful massage at the Dhana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Tahiti Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tahiti Nui Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing