We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not am unforgettable hotel, but a hotel where you forget of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanakee Hiva Oa Pearl Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hiva Oa
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not am unforgettable hotel, but a hotel where you forget of everything”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Un unforgettable Haloween party, where invited by default instead of dinner. Everything, but really every coind has been adorned with spider-webs and spiders, orange and black baloons all over (we have managed even to make one of them reach Geneva :). The personnel has been all dressed up, in vampires and whiches, with remarcable realistic costumes and make-up. The open buffet contained plenty of local and standard plates, the owner organised a "competition" for the best dressed kid, and the tens of kids all received extra large bags of candy, as the jury "could not decide on the winner" . As we have not been prepared for it (the party was Friday evening, after Haloween), the kids got special spider-web-make-up and went by default into the athmosphere.

The owner greets you personally on the airport with flower necklaces and takes you back with HivaOa specific nuts necklace. There is a welcome-drink and hands-washing. You do feel unique and they have time to have a personnal talk with all the guests.

The open view from the (premium) bungalow was openeing over all the golf, confortable beds, good and clean lining, very nice smelling toilletry, impecable shower room, flowers everywhere when entering the room. There is a swimming pool for hot days, next to the therase. The best choice to be even when raining, the view does stay magnificent. Prices might seem high, but one should consider the distance from where everything is brought in. It is at the level of eating out in the London/Geneva, where all comes only from tens of kilometers away. Breakfast was included, with home-made confiture in the freshly done pan-cakes, and European buffet in general (eggs, ham, croissents, cakes, milk, tea, coffee, 4-5 types of cereals, local fruit juice: pine-apple, mango, orange, grapefruit). Specific/exotic food extremly nicely done.

Room Tip: It would be advisable to call/e-mail the owner to locally book, as local prices are doubled by the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagdaDPPloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    60
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
96
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel is in a stunning location overlooking a valley with mist covered mountains in the distance. The rooms are also very comfortable and airy with great views. Staff were also very nice with the exception of the French manager who made us feel that English speakers are not quite welcome nor appreciated!
The problem we found with this hotel and island was the very high cost of food, transport and any activities. We realize this is a theme throughout French Polynesia but in Hiva Oa there is literally nothing you can do without paying as the hotel is very remotely located- a long (~40 mins) and very hot walk to the local village, which by the way if you want to be dropped off or collected the hotel charge you per person!
The activities the hotel offer are all >$100/person and mostly involve drives to archaeological sites. We did do the boat tour which was actually very fun but about $130/person and this is the only water related activity available.
Basically this island is for those who want total remoteness and to visit archaeological tiki sites. Do not go here if you want to visit beaches, snorkel or scuba dive. Also be prepared to spend a lot of money!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WorldT297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent two weeks at the Pearl Lodge on Hiva Oa and it became a home away from home. The manager went out of his way to help us and the staff was warm and friendly. The pool was refreshing and the view was outstanding. Due to limited supplies, the restaurant was a little inconsistent but in general, the food was very good. The beds were very comfortable and the shower and bathroom was excellent. I loved our bungalow with a view of the mountains. If you plan to visit this island, this is definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morningstar_janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our holiday company booked us into this hotel which had fabulous photos and excellent spiel. The location was indeed stunning and the staff in in general were wonderful. However, our Mountain View bungalow had clearly not been used for a while as it was ridden with cob webs on the rafters and the shelves of the wardrobe were strewn with tiny dead ants! Ants were a major issue in the bathroom!! We were given large cans of repllent spray for bugs and had to use them! Whilst unpacking we noticed the room was full of wasp like creatures, about a dozen of them, merrily flying about in the rafters! On our first night, there was a power cut for at least a few hours very early in the morning before sunrise. I ended up having to use the light on my phone to go to the toilet. I looked for a torch but found none. The following day when I told Jean-Jacques the manager about it, he seemed stunned that I was expecting the hotel to have a torch in the bedrooms. I informed him the sister lodge in Nuka Hiva had one but he simply shrugged in the customary French manner. Clearly Nathalie the wonderful manageress at Nuka Hiva had anticipated such incidents and had made sure guests were suitably prepared. Although the staff were lovely, they were not clued up about the town of Atuona. One fellow guest asked about some Tikis she had seen on a map given to us of the town. Neither Jean Jacques nor his staff seem to know where it was even though Atuona is the size of a village! Another member of staff had no idea where the souvenir shops were and whether they were open when she gave us a lift into town one afternoon. Clearly training is urgently needed to what is open and available to guests in the town. The room was also not adequately cleaned each day and necessities like shampoo just did not appear! Just as well we took our own. Overall, all that glisters is not gold at this lodge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GrumbeeCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Very comfortable bungalow (exactly the same layout as Keikahanui Pearl Lodge, Nuku Hiva, even down to the light switches in the same place!) with the most amazing view over the bay and the sea, verdant mountains around, private deck to sit out on. The hotel is properly and professionally managed, and one or both of the friendly, helpful managers was always around. Food was fine but portions far too big for us. Thoroughly enjoyed our tours with a good guide to the archaeological sites at Taaoa, which is not far from Atuona, and across the island to Puamau. The Marquesas are well worth the effort of getting there - the fascinating archaeological sites amidst such dramatic scenery, and a real feeling of being on a remote island. Unforgettable!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MyrtleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

My review could be a bit biased since our stay at the Pearl Lodge – with hot showers, a big comfy bed, lovely pool and great food – came after 18 days of sailing across the Pacific from the Galapagos Islands. We were a bit starved for some pampering. The hotel deserves high marks for its location, amenities and service. We were only there for a few nights, but our stay was thoroughly enjoyable. The resort sits high up the hill looking over the island and the harbor below. The Hotel Manager picked us up from the harbor and drove us up the steep hill to the resort. On the way, he regaled us with stories of the island and its people. The small staff was pleasant and accommodating. Dinner was by candle light with local music and fresh fish and local delicacies. Terrific meals and service. The breakfast buffet was filled with fresh fruits and baked french breads and sweets. I think my favorite memory of our stay was swimming in the infinity pool at sunset. The view was absolutely spectacular. Yes the pool would be considered small, but the view is not to be believed. Our villa was private and comfortable. There were fluffy thick towels, bathrobes and a bath and shower area decorated with beautiful local flowers. Our room was very comfortable and paneled in wood which gave a warm and cozy feel. The private covered porch / deck was our favorite place to sit, read and watch the landscape. Just stunning views. This is not a place with an active night life. The resort is small and private and quiet and Hiva Oa itself is such a remote place that there is not a lot of activity, even in the main town, the village of Atuona, about a half hour away. There are no beaches close by and getting to town and Paul Gauguins' gravesite will require a taxi ride or a long walk with hills. Yet Hiva Oa is such a beautiful and pristine place that just to be there – whether traveling there by plane or boat – feels like an accomplishment and a gift. The people are friendly, helpful and kind. It helps to know a bit of French, but it's not necessary. The island is filled with exotic flowers and is authentic French Polynesian. Friends of our enjoyed a tour (albeit very bumpy) to the other side of the island and its beaches. We spent an afternoon at a local home for lunch and a swim. I loved my time on Hiva Oa. It's a unique and special place.

Room Tip: the rooms with views of the bay are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 285Magtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
363 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Hanakee Pearl Lodge in Marquesas Is. is one of the the best place to stay at Fr.Polynesia. Do not hesitate togo there! Its manager and all its co-workers are so kindly, specially, the employee named Tahee. She's very very friendly. Congratulations for all board and workers of Hanakee Pearl Lodge!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KINO K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiva Oa
0.0 mi away
Village Temanoha
Village Temanoha
#1 of 1 in Cook's Bay
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
He'e Tai Inn
He'e Tai Inn
#1 of 2 in Nuku Hiva
38 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pension Villa Enata
Pension Villa Enata
#2 of 5 in Hiva Oa
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanakee Hiva Oa Pearl Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanakee Hiva Oa Pearl Lodge

Property: Hanakee Hiva Oa Pearl Lodge
Address: 98741, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Marquesas Islands > Hiva Oa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hiva Oa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanakee Hiva Oa Pearl Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing