We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best near Suva”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Suva
Ocean Park, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best near Suva”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

1. close too Suva and NO city noise smell or lights
2. great minimal cost
3. Great for a business meeting
4. The Staff and TOM are sincere good people with a smile and personalities you will always remember.
5. Sa kai dua na Lodge dodonu for visiting your family and treating them to a resort.

Room Tip: no tip needed as the staff are 100% honest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SemimaiNabubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    49
    26
    11
    7
See reviews for
21
48
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We booked a dorm bed and got upgraded with a private bure with private facilities. Great bar, and awesome food. Very quite and piecefull environment. To all my family and friends do come to fiji the best holiday destination. when you come to fiji come to Raintree Lodge the Eco Tourism Resort and see Mr Tom Davis the Hotel Owner and his friendly staffs helping making your stay in fiji, a memorable one just like mine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Even if this is a backpackers' lodge, I would have expected something better. I was scared the first time at dinner, when the chicken skewer contained pieces of almost raw chicken, and the second time when I almost stepped into the shower with a long-legged spider about the size of my palm. I just caught it in a cooking pan and relased it outside, so no harm came to it or me, but we kept all luggage closed after that. The nature experience is very hands-on in other aspects too, with lots of sugar ants in the room and the walls are so thin that the frogs/cats/birds sound like they are actually also in your room. On top of that you can hear the heavy traffic from the road.

We had a self-contained family bure with a double bed and a single bed downstairs and 4 single beds upstairs, but the stairs were too dangerous for the children (3 & 8), so we put one mattress on the floor downstairs and kept both children there instead. There was a broken window in the staircase and no mosquito screening on the window upstairs, so we kept the anti-mosquito burners on in the night (plus for providing them!).

The bure did not have a very clean feeling, the bathroom/shower was run-down, it smelled faintly of mould and the linen and towels did not seem clean/fresh.

We never tried the pool, but the water looked strange with some white flakes on the surface. The lake is muddy pool, but the children enjoyed feeding the fish.

The children/babysitter said that breakfast was ok, but otherwise food was almost inedible. The children's fish & chips was made of a bony piece of some unidentified old frozen fish and their chicken look like it had been panfried last week. Other food was bland and badly cooked.

I would not recommend this for families with small children.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TMWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were really looking forward to staying here as we have stayed in a number of 'Eco lodges' in the past and they have always been more interesting and enjoyable than a regular hotel. Unfortunately we were left disappointed from the very moment we arrived. Greeted with a friendly smile and no assistance in taking our luggage or even locating our bure we discovered a blocked toilet and enough chairs to seat a Fijian rugby team.

We asked for a new room, this was done much to the annoyance of the security guy who was watching football at the time. I believe the question he asked was "do you NEED a toilet!?". For $160 it would be nice.

The second bure had a working toilet but like the first was cramped and in desperate need of a refurb. The bed was comfortable but the mosquito net fell just short of the mattress therefore rendering it useless. It should also be mentioned that if you are a light sleeper then this is definitely not the place for you. The local wildlife and Aussies with guitars make light work of the paper thin walls and in our case resulted in two nights of very restless sleep.

The bar was an interesting place and a continuation of the stellar service we had encountered on arrival. A loud call of "excuse me" was required to get the waitress off her phone to take our breakfast order and the evening bar staff were of the same caliber. We will try to upload some photos of the back bar as it quite something.

It isn't a terrible place to stay but for the money you would expect a much much higher standard of service and accommodation. We do feel genuinely ripped off by the raintree lodge and would definitely encourage others to look elsewhere. The adventure of staying in the forest by a lake is completely ruined by this resort. A massive shame.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you don't want to stay in downtown Suva you will love Raintree Lodge it's away from it all, the food was great, not too expensive, terrific bar. Plenty of room in the bure only stayed one night but would stay again for a night or two. We had not planned to stay so our room rate was the going rate, I'm sure if I planned ahead I would get a better deal. It gives you another side to Fiji you are not on the coast, so no sea and beach views. Pretty sure if you are a bird and plant lover you would have the time of your life. About 1/2 hour drive to the Airport perfect if you have the very early morning flight to Nadi. No road noise was heaven!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseandHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Very nice lodge, itˊs like staying in an arboretum. Best facility for backpackers, hot water, laundry, wifi. May get upgrade to a double room for dorm price if it's less busy. Not cheap cheap but a higher standard stay like ˊflashpackers` between Suva and Nandi. Also available singles and buras. Restaurant over a lake surrounded by trees, you can feed fish. Some rooms by a lake with water lily, some scattered in tropical plantation. Over 100 different kinds of trees and plants are numbered and a guide book with descriptions and use\medical use of each, you can take a self-guided tour matching numbers, fun and really gain some knowledge. Also a guide book for birdwatching. When you are there you can tell the owner put a lot of work and heart in building this unique place. If you have more time than just transfering in Suva and like to stay in somewhere special, this is the one to consider. There is also a park with natural pools and waterfalls just across the street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weicreation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Absolutely excellent hotel Stayed in a private bure which was beautiful, four poster queen bed, even a DVD player (you can borrow the latest movies from Reception), balcony overlooking the lake with water lilies.Super helpful staff and great food. Extremely clean, exactly what we were looking for. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suva
6.2 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 12 in Suva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Suva
Holiday Inn Suva
#2 of 12 in Suva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
6.0 mi away
Peninsula International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
5.6 mi away
Quest Apartments-Suva
4.5 mi away
Five Princes Hotel
Five Princes Hotel
#5 of 12 in Suva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort

Property: Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
Address: Princes Road | P O Box CS001, Colo-I-Suva, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Raintree Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Suva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Suva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort (previously known as Raintree Lodge) offers world-class accommodation, food and atmosphere on the edge of a waterfall-filled rainforest just 15 minutes north of Suva CBD, Fiji's bustling capital city. Guests may choose from a range of accommodations that cater to independent travelers, couples, groups and Bird watchers -- tucked on the edge of lush foliage that buzzes with exotic birdlife. The Rainforest Eco Resort is ideally situated for seeing the Fiji's unique endemic birds. All but 2 of Viti Levu's endemic birds are found within a few kms of our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing