We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
South Seas Private Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort(Suva)(Great Value!)
$38
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$81
$62
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$67
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$251
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
7
15
17
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
15
17
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal kitchenfiji museumalbert parkbed dormself cateringthurston gardenscouple of nightspacificmattressesrugby
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 49 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lots of steps up to the place and a little walk into town. Close to Fiji Museum. The dorm room was okay and reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and looked after my valuables as there are no lockers in the rooms. They have a kitchen if you want to self cater. Suva is not a place you really want to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badbushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed one night for transit. They had had a very busy week, so when we arrived, apparently they had not been able to keep pace with laundering towels or linen.
While we were out at dinner, they DID get everything installed int he rooms.
DOWNSIDE was getting new towels that hadn't ever been washed, so they still had the residue of spinning oils from the manufacture proces, o they didn't dry you properly. It was mor elike a wipe-down process.

But the downstairs rooms were very nosiy with foot traffic above, it is VERY old, creaky, and really not a place I'd choose to stay again.
I have to say, the bed linen was very clean and crisp.
They take a key deposit as well as the security deposit, and required this in cash only, but as we were checking out early a.m. before reception re-opened, we had to return our keys before 10pm at night, and go to bed, or we would have not got our deposit back. We had to do the same with the towels. They need a bit more flexibility.

Our intrepid group of teenagers had a choice of staying overnight again after 13 hours travelling back from the outer islands where they ahd been living and volunteer working village style, but they opted to endure another 4 hours on a wild run in from Natovi landing, to catch the last Pacific Bus service of the day and a 10pm arrival in Nadi (17 hours all up on the road), so they could stay at Tanoa Skylodge again.

Room Tip: Upstairs would be better.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MethuselahNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed a night at the South Seas Private Hotel in Suva, paying for a private bathroom, their most expensive room at $64. Late at night we found we had no hot water. There was a school group staying at the hotel and we thought because of heavy use, the hot water might just have run out. However, we checked again at 5.30am and at 7.30am - still no hot water. On checking out we asked the staff whether they thought it was fair to pay what we had for a room with no hot water. They merely said that was the room rate, and it did not seem to matter to them that it was supposed to be a room with hot water.
So, fellow travellers, if you are considering staying at the South Seas Private Hotel in Suva, check that the room actually has hot water before accepting it.
Still no Internet or WiFi.
Ian and Stephanie Partridge

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tigerdriver67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here when in Suva for one night after checking out of the uncharacteristic Best western down the road. This was by far nicer, it had a lot more of a rustic theme, yes the rooms were far more basic, but the smiley staff made up for it as well as the rooms being half the price. The location wasn't the best but it was right next to the museum which we planned to visit anyway. I would stay here again if I came back.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are quite basic but clean enough.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freespirits182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I have stayed here several times when in Suva. Its very basic but has some class to it. The rooms have not changed since the place was built. It could do with some more powerful fans, a lick of paint and a power supply. The facilites are clean and the kichen and bathroom system works. Friendly staff nice garden The TV room now has satelite TV small bonus if board!

Room Tip: I advise to sleep on the higher floors, less noise and movements
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kamelionVibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews