We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value for Price Paid”
Review of Suva Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suva Motor Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Suva
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Value for Price Paid”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our two bedroom suite, with a balcony overlooking Albert Park, also had a large lounge, a dining area, all comfortably furnished, and a kitchenette which was well equipped. The bathroom had a large supply of linens. All areas were very clean. Staff members were all very friendly and efficient and were anxious to make our stay a pleasant and memorable one.

The restaurant had a varied menu with daily specials and the food was tasty, large portions and reasonable prices.There is ample on site parking but since the hotel is conveniently located, we did not use our car but instead walked to see the local sights and attractions.

For some people, lack of an elevator may present a problem -- it didn't for us plus they do have porters. We felt it was very good value for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Albert Park. Some rooms overlook the swimming pool and they may be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azulferro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelera, Manager at Suva Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Azulferro

Thank you very much for the good comments on the good value for the price paid about the rooms at the BEST WESTERN Suva Motor Inn.
We do appreciate and value all that you have described about our hotel, including our restaurant menu and friendly staff and we would love to have you again as our guests in the future.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    54
    37
    17
    21
See reviews for
44
28
13
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I wish I had of read tripadvisor before we checked into this this hotel! Honestly, I left crying and tired due to having been checked into a room with bedbugs! I awoke up at 1am to see bed bugs crawling on my pillow!!! I woke my boyfriend up and we went to reception and asked to changed rooms, in which we were moved. We were so paranoid and disgusted that we did not get any sleep at all! I had bites on me. On trying to find out where they were coming form, i stripped the bed and seen that there were holes in the mattress (in which they had tried to fumigate them out), for the record.....THIS MATTRESS NEEDS TO BE THROWN OUT!!!!

On checking out in the morning, the receptionist didnt even say anything, and because of this I asked to speak with the manager! The manager, appologised, and DID NOT refund the room! I actually couldnt belive it! She did however refund our breakfast (my boyfriend had bacon which tasted like fish, which in effect could not be eaten and the same with the eggs) and they also refunded a bottle of water and a beer that we had the night before! That totalled $15 AUD! This to me was unacceptable! The room should have been the first thing refunded in my opinion! And then on our departure, she asked me not to write a review about my experiences!!!!!!! AND this is exactly what I am doing!!

I would never stay here again and I willnot be recommeding this to anyone, and will be writing to Lonely Planet!! I expect a response from the hotel and I certaintly expect my credit card to be refunded to the full amount of the room!!!

Sadly Im rating this as a terrible experience! I just hope I did not bring back bed bugs to my own home!!!!!!! Very unprofessional!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has had NO BED BUGS!!!! Strip the bed, scan the walls and look at the mattress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munyagoesflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelera, Manager at Suva Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Ms.Munyagoesflying

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to highlight your concerns.

I sincerely apologise for your recent experience. During your stay you would have noticed that we were upgrading our walkways, restaurant and pool area. This is part of the upgrading project that we are carrying out for our hotel. Also as part of this program we were carrying out block by block replacement of furniture and fittings, renovation of facilities and fumigation of all our hotel rooms by a new pest control company. Unfortunately your room was in one of the blocks that we were yet to renovate and fumigate. Since your stay we have had the pest control company fumigate this room and had the beddings and linen destroyed. Our current renovation project includes new furniture in the rooms and this will include new mattresses.

I apologise that you found the refund made on your meals and beverages unacceptable and as such, we will be refunding your one night accommodation. We sincerely apologise for the receptionist's inappropriate response to your plight during your stay.

We hope that you will be visiting us soon to sample our newly renovated rooms.

Sincerely,
Kelera Ratumaiyale
RESIDENT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Suva hotels

Nadi, Fiji
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I decided to stay there because it was affordable and we have been going there for a long time. We actually know the staff and they know our kids. Sometime within the last year this hotel came under the management of Best Western and since then it has gone down hill. I have noticed bites on me but the last time that we stayed with our 3 kids we actually could see the bed bugs crawling the mattresses and the walls. It has been our worst experience in Fiji so far. My husband had to stay up all night checking me and the kids for bugs and had to kill them as he found them. It was disgusting. We recommend anyone that is planning on staying there to find a different hotel. We even told them about what happened and they still did not refund the payment made. We wrote a letter to the management and we are still waiting for their response. The staff there are good people so nothing against them we noticed the changes after it came under Best Western.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Giovanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelera, Manager at Suva Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Giovanna H,

We sincerly apologize for your recent experience to you and your family on your one night stay with us.
Thank you for taking the time to let us know. We have done everything possible to eradicate this bed bug issue from the room that you stayed in and also from our hotel.
We have changed to a pest control company who services our rooms to the highest standard.
Thank you for taking the time to write to management and we apologize for the delay in responding as I was not given this letter. We have since fixed this problem and disciplined the staff concerned, I would have made an effort to meet you if I had known soon. As guests your comments are taken seriously as this allows us to improve our services. As such we will refund one nights stay with us to the credit card that was used to pay for your accommodation. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back to our Best Western Suva Motor Inn Hotel.
Kelera Ratumaiyale, Manager, BEST WESTERN Suva Motor Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hotel had large room with good air conditioning.
Water slide to the pool would be great for kids.
Hotel restaurant served some really excellent food, especially the pancakes!
It was in a good location in Suva which was easy to get around.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AHyland7614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelera, Manager at Suva Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear AHyland 7614

Thank you very much for the good comments, it was very much appreciated.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our BEST WESTERN Suva Motor Inn hotel on your next trip to Fiji.

Kelera Ratumaiyale, Manager, BEST WESTERN Suva Motor Inn Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

i saw a mouse in the room ...
theres mould in the bathrooms..
sheets have odor n stains...
only locals swam in the dirty pool...
bar maid was rude...
food was ok but overpriced..
internet never worked..even after i paid for it...
one local call costs 1.50...rip off
some staff nice bur mainly women staff rude...
ac didnt work initially...
really dark n musty inside...
overall a poor experience..!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiji2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and 3 kids for 7 nights from 2nd of January. It was like home away from home. My kids enjoyed the pool together with the slide. The Hotel is managed by Kelera Ratumaiyale who has done a marvellous job in order to cater for the guests. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with tv and cooking facilities with a/con. My overall experience was very enjoyable and an unforgetable one. My sincere thanks goes to the maid for cleaning our room and a big vinakavakalevu to Kelera, barmaid(from Beqa) and all those who made our stay an enjoyable one. we will definitely come next time. Moce
Vinay Jatan

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vinay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was a great spot to stay with our three kids. The hotel is quite old but we were in an very spacious two room apartment with enough beds for the 5 of us. The rooms also had a TV with cartoon network - after 3 weeks traveling around Fiji with no TV anywhere else this was a welcome distraction for the kids, but best of all the crazy waterslide into the pool. Take care the first time down it hurts if you go too fast, but the kids soon mastered it and spent hours going up and down. Staff were friendly and accomodating and the location is good - tucked away in a quiet street but a short walk to down town. Great option if you are passing through Suva with the family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MUMOFTHREESYDNEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suva hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 12 in Suva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Suva
Holiday Inn Suva
#2 of 12 in Suva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peninsula International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quest Apartments-Suva
0.1 mi away
Tanoa Plaza Suva
Tanoa Plaza Suva
#6 of 12 in Suva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
6.0 mi away
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suva Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suva Motor Inn

Property: Suva Motor Inn
Address: | Cnr of Gorrie and Mitchell Street, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly BEST WESTERN Suva Motor Inn)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Suva
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Suva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suva Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Suva Motor Inn is centrally located within walking distance to the city and close to the Government Buildings. Accommodation is in modern two bedroom and studio units set in quiet, peaceful rainforest surroundings, all two bedroom units have full kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suva Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Suva Motor Hotel Suva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing