We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tanoa” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanoa Plaza Suva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tanoa Plaza Suva
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Suva
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tanoa”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Not a good experience. Hotel room needs fresh pillows and sheets. It could do with a renovation. Bathroom was cleanish but old. I didn't sleep well and couldn't wait to check out. On the other hand, staff were quite pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
2 Thank Raziya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoaplaza, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Raziya S,

Thankyou for your review, we are in the process of going through soft refurbishment for all rooms, and also since linens are outsourced, we will be receiving fresh linens to improve the quality sleep for all guests and will make sure of that.

Our staffs are always here to assist and once again, thankyou for your review, hope to see you soon.

Vinaka Vakalevu


Ms Mere Rakoroi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    64
    46
    18
    8
See reviews for
23
28
16
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

nice location handy for business
great views from top rooms facing sea
staff very slow on service sat a long time waiting drink and longer for meal to come yet plenty staff around
food overpriced especially bar food and drinks
plenty of new eateries in Suva just a couple dollars for taxi well worth the spend
dont think I would go back though some more central better value options

Room Tip: choose top levels less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun soul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoaplaza, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Bula Vinaka Sun Soul B,

Thankyou for your review, and appreciate the time you have taken to tell me about your stay. Reading through your feedback, I will look into the service delivery and ensure that our staffs are trained & retrained as per Tanoa standards.

Again, thankyou for your review and if you are ever in Suva, please dont hesitate to contact myself, will be happy to show you what we have done since your review.

Vinaka Vakalevu

Ms Mere Rakoroi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here twice during our most recent trip to Fiji. The hotel is good value, the location is good as it is just a short walk into the shops and restaurants of central Suva.
The bar is a very nice place to relax after a busy day in Suva.
The rooms have good views across the city so there is always something to see.
Rooms are clean and nicely decorated.
The staff are very friendly and Pat the duty manager was very very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndm2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoaplaza, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Ndm2010,

Thankyou for your review and acknowledging staff individually, that will mean alot to Pat and the team. Its indeed a great place and our staff will always be helpful. There is alot of advantages being close to the City, being Fiji's CBD & Bright lights of all cities, it has done well for itself.

Suva City Council has just opened up the My Suva Park at Queen Elizabeth Drive, beautiful setting, adding another spark to Suva. For your next visit, please don't hesitate to contact myself, will be happy to meet the reviewers.

Once again, Vinaka Vakalevu

Ms Mere Rakoroi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel is ideally located to primary shopping and restaurants. Check in was so smooth and fast...this is always a nice surprise. Breakfast was quite good, but the first morning they simply could not get a simple order straight. It took almost an hour to get our breakfast; by the third morning, everything the staff had things down pat. So I recommend that you stay at least three mornings and order the same thing every morning so the wait staff can get your order correct on the morning you check out. At least, you will be leave with a smile.

The rooms are clean and smell clean. The staff is welcoming and thoughtful. The location is very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 12Safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoaplaza, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear 12 Safari,

Thankyou so much for your review, very detailed about the service delivery that you have encountered. I will personally see that improvements are made and our guests leaving the dinning room is happy from day one till the day they checkout.

Once again thankyou for acknowledging our breakfast & room service, staffs & location, we will bring about positive changes and ensure that we deliver our very best to guests.

Again, thankyou 12 Safari for your review, hope to see you soon

Vinaka Vakalevu

Ms Mere Rakoroi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Easy excess to downtown Suva. staffs are very friendly. The security guard was very nice and helpful. I will recommend everyone to stay here even thou its a bit expensive :). Suva market and all the shopping centers are very near from this hotel. Taxi service is around the corner.

Room Tip: Al rooms are great , it just depends on how much you want to spend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank humrahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoaplaza, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Humrahi,

Thankyou for your review, will surely share your comment with our team. We are indeed very close to the shopping centers even government offices & headquarters of some organization in the Pacific, our location is an advantage for business and frequent travelers coming to Suva.

Once again, thankyou for your review and hope to see you soon

Vinaka Vakalevu

Ms Mere Rakoroi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have stayed here for 7 days. I rated this hotel 4* because of the sourronding conditions and offers. Most imposrantly the room was clean and the bed confortable. Staff was incredibly friendly. Room had a beautiful view as it was on the 7th floor however very tired and need a refurb. TV reception was great compared to other accommodation nearby.
Let me say that my room had a door shared with the other room which i could hear every noise from coming from my neighbors, during all my stay there was a constant noise coming from outside like an aircon engine that would not stop i had to ask almost every day for the complimentary ratio of water included in the room charge. Internet charges too high.
I would reccommend it anyway to anyone travelling into Suva

Room Tip: Not a room with a shared door
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank serviceau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoaplaza, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Bula Vinaka Serviceau,

Thankyou for your review and time, taken to tell us more about our hotel and people, totally agree with you that the upper floors have a beautiful view of the city by day or night.
And most important, to address the areas that you have raised, I will be meeting with our team to discuss the shortfalls in certain areas and will make improvements to.

Once again, thankyou Serviceau, let me know when you are in town, and hope to see you back soon

Vinaka Vakalevu

Mere Rakoroi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed 9 nights being sent by company. Got terribly poisoned last night at the hotel restaurant waiting for the order for 50 mins. Staff friendly, rather clean but nothing fancy. Suva in general is not the best place in Fiji.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrystianoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoaplaza, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Bula KrystianoM,

Thankyou for your review, I really appreciate, that you acknowledged our staffs during your stay, and at the same time, we are looking into the meal waiting time for guests to avoid future problems.

Again KrystianoM, very grateful for your feedback and when you are in Suva, please don't hesitate to contact myself.

Vinaka Vakalevu

Mere Rakoroi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suva
0.3 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 12 in Suva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Suva
Holiday Inn Suva
#2 of 12 in Suva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peninsula International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quest Apartments-Suva
3.2 mi away
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
1.5 mi away
Five Princes Hotel
Five Princes Hotel
#5 of 12 in Suva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Plaza Suva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Plaza Suva

Property: Tanoa Plaza Suva
Address: Corner Gordon & Malcolm Street, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Suva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Suva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanoa Plaza Suva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tanoa Plaza Suva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Plaza Suva Hotel Suva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing