We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Suva is of International Standard”
Review of Holiday Inn Suva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Suva
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Suva
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday Inn Suva is of International Standard”
Reviewed January 15, 2011

I have travelled widely and have stayed in many hotels overseas. This year 2011, I stayed at the Holiday Inn Suva Fiji as I was visiting Fiji. Oh my God this hotel in my expereince was world class and even better. The service was more than international standard. The rooms were superbly cleaned and eevrytime I walked into my room it was like walking into a room never used. From the porter to the cleaner everyone who worked at the Holiday Inn were extremely helpful and of very high and professional standard. I stayed there for about 10 days and it was the best experience I ever had. I was looked after by evryone as if I was someone special. At every moment I was asked by the staff if I was fine and required any other help. I could not belive how caring the staff were and how homely I felt staying at the Holiday Inn. I must take my hat off to all of the staff who made my stay there very enjoyable. In particular I would like to say vinaka vakalevu to Sita who looked after the joint when the GM was away.A hard working lady always on the move looking for ways to better the stay of the guests. Phillip, the french head chef the best I have come across having lived in many hotels around the globe always with a big french smile and so down to earth. He is so friendly and blends very well with the big Fijian smile and friendliness. All the bar women and men who are always at your disposal looking after you for the next drink and bringing complimentary savouries whenever necessary. The word " Bula" and "Sir" is always on their lips whenever they meet or approach a guest and you could tell from the way they say it that it comes deep from within their hearts the real Fijian way of looking after a guest. Keep it up folks you represent the best of Fiji. Aloisi the porter always very attentive and quick to assist your baggage without letting you carry the load. Vinaka Aloisi keep up your good work. The door man again always there to pull the door wide open for your entry. I cannot recall their names but they were great with their service. The cleaner Lanieta Vula Oh what a fantastic hard working lady she is. Very very thorough in her duties and never leaves any task half done. Always leaving her cleaning duties till very late in the evening and is never happy until such time the guest are happy. She is superb she deserves this accolade and some recognition of her service.

Not forgetting the house bands Tom Mawi, Seru Serevi and the most friendliest of all, the prettiest and gorgeous looking Laisa Vulakuro really put that icing on the cake. Their voices and friendly deameanour really makes one at ease and the vude just topped it all.

Finally, if I have forgotten anyone else I apologise but this hotel from the top to the doorman is a place to stay and enjoy your holidays whilst in Suva. I will surely return with my family in the near future and for those planning to visit Suva I would highly reccomend the Holiday Inn to you and if you want to talk to someone before you plan your stay talk to Sita or Phillip they will definately look after you.

Ni sa Moce

Faiyaaz Shafiq
Sydney Australia
mfshafiq@gmail.com

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faiyaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Suva_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this review, May 22, 2011
Dear Faiyaaz,

Thank you for your comments and feedback, greatly appreciated!! I have communicated your comments to the team members concerned and departments.

We look forward welcoming back to the Holiday Inn Suva.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Suva and choosing the InterContinental Hotels Group as your preferred choice of accommodation.

Kind Regards

Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    218
    73
    35
    9
See reviews for
81
72
32
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
apdva
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Suva isn't where you come on vacation, but if you have to be there, the Holiday Inn is the nicest place to stay. The rooms look out on the harbor and over the pool, which is pretty. The front desk staff is really good/helpful, but the restaurant/bar seems chronically understaffed and very slow. Getting what you actually ordered seems to be a problem. The breakfast is good, but way overpriced... $39FJ. Fiji currency or not, $39 just seems excessive for breakfast, especially at a Holiday Inn. The beds/rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apdva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Suva_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this review, May 22, 2011
Dear Apdva,

Thank you for your comments and feedback, during your stay with us I have communicated your comments to the team members concerned and departments. We have made some changes in the restaurant to avoid these type of problems.

Please do let me know when you are traveling to Suva again, it would be great to catchup with you.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Suva and choosing the InterContinental Hotels Group as your preferred choice of accommodation.

Kind Regards

Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Staff are great and very helpful. Everything under the one roof and in the humidity the pool was a godsend. Rooms and some facilities a bit tired at the times of our stays from 2006 to late 2009 and I understand from other family members recent stays - not much has changed. Also found noise from incosiderate late night arrivals and other children. We could not use the laundry as it was in constant use whenever we checked and we stayed in for the day to try and catch it free.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agent_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Suva_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this review, May 22, 2011
Dear Agent_Mum,

Thank you for your constructive feedback., the points mentioned are valid & greatly appreciated!!

Please do contact me directly on your next visit to Suva so I can take care of your arrangements personally.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Suva and choosing the InterContinental Hotels Group as your preferred choice of accommodation.

We look forward welcoming back to the Holiday Inn.

Kind Regards

Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Love the changes that have taken place here! Congrats to the management and staff for taking Holiday Inn Suva to the next level! Haven't enjoyed a sleep like that in months....love the new bed linen and shower head too!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalKruza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Suva_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this review, May 22, 2011
Dear GlobalKruza,

Thanks for noticing the changes here at the Holiday Inn Suva...the global refresh of our rooms & property relaunched on December 10th , 2010 has been fantastic....

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Suva and choosing the InterContinental Hotels Group as your preferred choice of accommodation.

I look forward to welcoming back to the Holiday Inn Suva & experiencing the difference.

Kind Regards

Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Most Friendliest staff and superb and excellent service. Staff are very accommodating and helpful and attend to my request without hesitation. The hotel is located in an Oasis in the middle of an Industrial City in Suva. After a long day of work I found the hotel a place to relax and wind down. The location is closed to the city and just walking distance to clubs, restaurants and shops. If you are ever going to Suva I highly recommend to check it out and stay in the Holiday Inn. They actually implemented my recommendation and value your opinion.

Then you can catch up with Jese who plays at the local Boat Restaurant and experience the fascinating Fiji.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExperienceCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Suva_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this review, May 22, 2011
Dear ExperienceCulture,

Thank you for noticing our changes here at the Holiday Inn Suva and providing us your feedback so we can improve our services and facilities.

I appreciate for you choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Suva and choosing the InterContinental Hotels Group as your preferred choice of accommodation.

Please do not hesitate to contact me next time you are visiting Suva, and I will be more than happy to assist with your arrangements.

Kind Regards

Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadi
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights there. Both of the nights, all of us couldn't have good sleep because the AC didn't cool the room at all. We could hear the phone ringing and next door guest talking at 5 am. We didn't want to change room because it hard to move with all the things and a small child. But at least the breakfast could cheer us up. The food were great and the staff were very helpful. The complementary pizza also so delicious. Only when we ask for comb, the receptionist said that they didn't provide it although it said on the sign on top of the basin in the room that if you forget something including comb you could ask the front desk. We love the porter though !! Great guy !! We decided to stay in this hotel because convenient with the bus from Nadi. But next time we'll try other accommodation around.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indoninfiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Suva_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this review, May 22, 2011
Dear Indoninfiji,

Thank you for your candid feedback on your experience during your stay at the Holiday Inn Suva.

Since you visit we have made significant changes here at the hotel. The property has gone through a Global Refresh project.

This includes a more distinctive level of guestroom comfort that dramatically improves the guest experience. Guests will enjoy new ‘comfort’ bedding, crisp white linens, choice of ‘soft’ or ‘firm’ pillows in addition to signature showers featuring powerful and adjustable shower heads.

Among the other new Holiday Inn brand features now visible at Holiday Inn Suva is the redesigned logo, improved signage and new outdoor lighting, landscaping. The welcome experience at Holiday Inn Suva has also be enhanced with a redesigned lobby feature wall, de-cluttered reception desk and all-new signature scents and sounds.

“The relaunch is more than just cosmetic,” “It is a renewed commitment to delivering best in class service and quality levels. We have introduced a brand new service culture we call ‘Stay Real’ which has added value and enhanced the guest experience across the brand.”

The newly launched “Stay Real” service commitment ensures that guests receive great service during their stay. Our “Stay Real” service training has enabled our team to always do this to our guests every single time they stay with us.

Indoninfiji please contact me directly when next booking your stay in Suva, as I would love to experience our changes.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Suva and choosing the InterContinental Hotels Group as your preferred choice of accommodation.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Joseph Della Gatta
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

room was roach infested, when I picked up a cup to make coffee roaches came scuttering out and all over the coffee counter top. Mildew on the bathroom tiles and dampness on the floor when you woke up in the morning.

This is not "Holiday Inn" quality I'm accostomed too when traveling abroad....what a disgrace to the name.

I will not be staying there again, the food was over priced the only plus was the location....but with taxi fares being so reasonable, it more than makes up to stay else where.....Novotel is really looking good......

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr8t_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suva
0.1 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 13 in Suva
487 reviews
73.5 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,122 reviews
45.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
6.1 mi away
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
74.2 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Suva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Suva

Property: Holiday Inn Suva
Address: 501 Victoria Parade | G.P.O Box 1357, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Suva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Suva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Suva 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome. Enjoy fine harbour views and a warm Fijian welcome at Holiday Inn Suva, just steps from the city's key sights. Leave the city bustle behind in the cool, open-plan hotel Lobby at Holiday Inn Suva. You'll relax as you stroll through palm-fringed gardens and cool off in the sparkling freshwater pool. Nausori Airport is 22km away and we have ample complimentary parking. All of our bright, modern Guest rooms have high-speed Internet and a balcony. Holiday Inn Suva is well-located for business, within 5 minutes' walk of major banks, embassies and the EU headquarters. Our 3 flexible meeting rooms, with wireless Internet and harbour views, provide a unique backdrop for events and you can catch up in the 24-hour Business Centre. Work out in our glass-fronted Fitness Centre, facing Victoria Parade and historic Government buildings. Vikatoria's restaurant is a laid-back setting for fresh fish while waterfront Bati ni Wai serves pizza al fresco. Enjoy an icy-cold beer with big-screen sport in Tapa Lounge Bar, or listen to live music and enjoy Suva's sunsets from the pool deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Suva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Suva Hotel Suva
Suva Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing