We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed by the variability of the accommodation”
Review of Holiday Inn Suva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Suva
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Suva
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Disappointed by the variability of the accommodation”
Reviewed October 13, 2009

I chose the hotel for the convenience of the Nadi bus. I chose Holiday Inn because this was an international brand that i had come to regard as having high standards. I am here now for three weeks, this is my second week. In my first week the room was fine with a sea view even though I selected the cheaper garden view. The hotel is certainly secure with views from the window looking a little like a prison with high barbed wire fence and the promise of infra red sensors to the beach at night! I'm not sure if this makes me feel secure or not! In my second week I was placed in a markedly informerior room with stained lobby carpets, stained setee (LOOKED like chocolate had been smeared everywhere and a poor finish to the room. It was so cold I asked to be moved. The second room had no safe so i asked to be moved. Thre third room had the same problem as the first an air-con that did not heat. I was shivering, so after waiting for it to warm up for a short time I asked for someone to look at it and went for dinner. The porter was just marvelous and genuinely made me feel like a person but he was told to turn the temperature DOWN not up! By this time i was getting rather stressed out. This time the porter (lovely chap) and I tried two more rooms and bingo we had success in finding one that could remain warm. 5th time lucky. The decor in this room is reasonable but the ceiling above the wardrobe is becoming detached. The room does smell of damp and the air-con does make an odd tapping noise randomly and occasionally but I've learned that turning it off and then on again sorts this out. The staff here seem genuinely caring but the finish of the rooms is very variable. All bathrooms though modern are poorly finished with poor grouting and levels. So lovely staff but a building that has seen much better days (and probably worse ones prior to what looks like a cheap renovation).
As this is my home from home I'm really hoping that my final week in Suva will be in a good room that i can report to you all met the standard for this grade of hotel. The food in Vikatorias is fine in the moring but predictable (and it's empty) in the evenings. Again staff are friendly.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Int_Academic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    218
    73
    35
    9
See reviews for
81
72
32
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I would rate them as very, very good. It was a great trip due to the name of the hotel I do believe.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fordharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Nice enough accommodation that you would expect from a HI, though not all rooms are refurbed. Good heart of the city location which we needed to visit family and AVIS car service was superb! Try and book as early as possible otherwise you will find the rates skyrocket! Other than beer the beverage prices are over the top!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank London_Ratu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Well unlike others, I was simply there for business travel. We had a late flight, gotta be careful with the taxi drivers, they rip you off!! But we arrived to the Hotel around 11pm - the restaurant closed at 10pm i think but coming off a long flight we asked the workers if they had anything, they go "were closed ... but its ok ... tell us what you feel like eating and I'll whip something up for you" - I was so greatful.
They made me a beautiful tropical cocktail and to relax me and topped it off with a delicious fish curry with rice. It was divine!!! Exactly what I needed.
I definetly went to sleep on a full stomach.

I stayed there for 10days and the buffet breakfast was delicious !! Loved it. I dont know about the others but I enjoyed the meals there - they were so filling etc. I dont know whether they were over priced etc as it was all expenses paid for trip.

Oh but the International Phone call rates are a rip off ... they were definetly expensive. It cost me $90 for 15mins.

Anyways, my room was awesome. It suited me - it wasnt too big, too small .... was just right. Room service was ok too. I had a wardrobe malfunction where my skirts zip broke so I needed needle and threads which they provided me with ... problem is it took them 15mins to bring them up.

Receptionists / Reservations was the only letdown for me .... they need to be more engaging, friendly ... a smile would help - even trying to make a conversation ... they just looked so cold. But apart from that I loved my stay there .... the food especially the curry dishes they had blew me away .... Id definetly go back :)

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Samoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Tagged along with my husband who was on business in Fiji. He normally stays at the Tanoa, but I wanted a place with a gymn and to be within close walking distance to the CBD. When we opened the door to our room (which was a downstairs room in the wing to the right of the pool) there was a definite stench in the room. We thought it could be just the mustiness of the air conditioner, but by the evening the stench was worse. Finally my husband couldnt take it anymore and rang reception to complain about it. A person came to our room to check it out and as soon as he walked in he admitted he could smell something terrible. He apologised and said that it could be the rat bait in the ceiling. I have to say it smelt more like dead rats! So we were moved from that room to another room, which was slightly better. The cleanliness of the rooms is not too good. The grouting in the tiles need a good clean and the couch was grimy. However, the entrance, restaurant, pool area, bar area is ok. Dont bother asking about tours from the lady at the tourist desk as may be encroaching on her personal life. She was too engrossed in a personal mobile conversation when I went to get some information on tours. When I sat down at the desk she moved away from the desk to continue her personal conversation as if I was intruding on her. When she finished she didn't even bother to ask me if I needed any help even though I was sitting in front of her at her desk waiting to be served. My husband then went to another worker to ask about tours and he went to speak to the same lady but had no luck as well. Weird. However, most other staff were really friendly and helpful. My husband really regretted staying here as he reckons the rooms at the Tanoa are much better.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnthrdonethat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

...great location, an oasis. Excellent staff, great bar. Easily walkable to downtown and Government sites.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pen_Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Great hotel for those on business. Friendly, helpful staff. Good restaurant and bar with inside and outside dining. Good pool area. Rooms are great. Probably not all that good for holidaymakers, but who goes to Suva for a holiday!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brettpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suva
0.1 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 13 in Suva
487 reviews
73.5 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,123 reviews
45.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
6.1 mi away
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
74.2 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Suva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Suva

Property: Holiday Inn Suva
Address: 501 Victoria Parade | G.P.O Box 1357, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Suva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Suva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Suva 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome. Enjoy fine harbour views and a warm Fijian welcome at Holiday Inn Suva, just steps from the city's key sights. Leave the city bustle behind in the cool, open-plan hotel Lobby at Holiday Inn Suva. You'll relax as you stroll through palm-fringed gardens and cool off in the sparkling freshwater pool. Nausori Airport is 22km away and we have ample complimentary parking. All of our bright, modern Guest rooms have high-speed Internet and a balcony. Holiday Inn Suva is well-located for business, within 5 minutes' walk of major banks, embassies and the EU headquarters. Our 3 flexible meeting rooms, with wireless Internet and harbour views, provide a unique backdrop for events and you can catch up in the 24-hour Business Centre. Work out in our glass-fronted Fitness Centre, facing Victoria Parade and historic Government buildings. Vikatoria's restaurant is a laid-back setting for fresh fish while waterfront Bati ni Wai serves pizza al fresco. Enjoy an icy-cold beer with big-screen sport in Tapa Lounge Bar, or listen to live music and enjoy Suva's sunsets from the pool deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Suva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Suva Hotel Suva
Suva Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing