We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Peninsula International Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peninsula International Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Suva
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We checked in and checked out right after visiting the room. The room was very dirty. Bedcover and ottoman seems to have blood like stains. There were visible cockroaches crawling around.
We asked for a cot or rollaway bed and they brought in a single mattress that was very dirty - torn and stained.

DIRTY

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelGuru411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl_perrin018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments concerning the quality of the room that you inspected. I have tried to contact you to determine the room number and date of your visit however to no avail. Without these details it is very hard to investigate further especially when there was no record of it at reception. No matter, I have spoken to my staff concerning your comments and requested them to ensure that the rooms are better maintained. If ever you are back in Fiji I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 104 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed four nights in this so called international hotel, and discovered it was anything but,we would have left on viewing the room only there was no other half decent hotel available.the reception staff are sour faced and very unhelpful,not a good start,the rooms, where do i start honestly,there was a stink of mildew and damp in the bedrooms, we spoke with other unhappy guests and discovered the cielings had only one coat of patchy paint,i had to ring to get the windows cleanes as they were so very filthy,i was in the room on two ocassions when the cleaner came and noticed that no washing liquid was used to clean the utensils and plates,infact one fork had hard ingrained dirt between the prongs,yuk!.we ate at the restraunt and were overcharged and had to fight for a refund,while we ate we were subjected to one of the wait staff ladies sitting on the ground behind the desk picking her feet,seriously,unless absolutely desparate this place should be avoided as its awful and really depressing to stay in,the staff are lazy,sour and couldnt give a fig,especially the receptionist,management need to revisit exactly what it means to boast an international hotel standard as this nasty little place is anything but.very very disappointed.this place wouldnt last a day outside suva.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl_perrin018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

The complainant was in a group and booked four rooms. At no stage did they make any complaints to the reception desk during their stay, otherwise the complaints would have been dealt with. Possibly the other “unhappy” guests were from the same group.
At no time have there been any complaints against the Receptionists as far as the reception to guests are concerned. They are there to greet, smile no matter what the circumstances are, assist wherever possible and ensure that the guests are as comfortable and enjoy their stay as much as possible.
I have checked the room that the guest stayed in and have not found any mildew smell or dampness. Admittedly the ceiling could do with painting and in the next few weeks all the suite rooms on the ground floor will be repainted, however it is not as bad as what it is made out to be.
All windows in the units are meant to be cleaned by the housekeeper as part of their duties. The housekeepers have been reminded that this needs to be dealt with each time a room is serviced.
The episode in the restaurant was not of the staff making. The guest ordered soup that was not part of the daily menu and in turn cost 50cents more. There was never any request for a refund and in actual fact the guest refused to pay for the whole meal and another party eventually paid it on behalf.
As far as a waitress sitting on the floor behind the “desk picking her feet” I find this an unbelievable statement.
We have in the past received some reviews that have not been favorable however we have always attempted to lift the standard and fix any problems that have been referred to us, whether it be by the website or reception desk. I much prefer to hear through the reception so that they can be fixed immediately if able.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Compared to what I saw in May 2012 this time I travelled with my wife and again stayed at the Peninsula International ( 5th. in the last few years) The staff as allways were super. Tokasa who took care of room#114 made us feel at home away from home.Siteri who took care of me in May 2012 made us feel as if I had never left the Hotel. Very sincerely your staff, my good friends are an excellent ambassdors of the hotel.

The improvement made to the rooms are very positive and am sure that in a few short months once completed the Hotel will be the best accomodation in the Suva area.

The complimentary breakfast was very nice and adequate.

Vinaka vakalevu.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl_perrin018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

I wish to thank you on behalf of my team for your comments in your review. These have been passed onto the staff concerned. It is very good to know that the staff looked after you during your stay with us.

We always strive to give the best results to our guests and are continuing to look for improvement.

Over the next few weeks all deluxe and standard rooms will be renovated on the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

When we arrived in Suva for the first night we were looking for a good hotel. Someone referred us to The Peninsula Hotel. We walked up to the reception,asked if a family room. She said yes and we asked hoe much per night. She said $165/night. We asked how many beds? She said 1 double bed and 1 sofa bed which can sleep 2 people. We said ok. We gave the girl at the reception $200 and she said she did not have any change and to collect it after afew hours later. After paying her she gave us the keys and then we went to meet my husbands cousin in Tamavua. We got back to our hotel arount 12 o 'clock at night. There wasn't enough parking and had to park our rental on the side road. We had to take our 5 bags and the street is so hilly and terrible road condition. Any how we got to our rooms,all 4 had shower and we asked for 2 more towels and they gave us the bath mats which we threw aside. The lounge had water sipping through the side wall. when my daughter and I went to the bed the bedsheets had blood stains on it. My hubby and son could not sleep on the sofa bed as it was so wobbly and whole night the taxi drivers and the staffs from the hotel talking and giggling. We could not wait for the next moring when we could just walk out. My hubby had to talk hard for our change.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Remi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl_perrin018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

It is a pity that our guests do not lodge their complaints with our Receptionists during their stay as a lot of items can be fixed without too much delay. I would rather hear about the complaint immediately than read a website comment and this would then ensure the guest had a pleasant stay.
Normally we have enough change to be able to give on the spot; however when guests have large notes for small purchases then the change we will go very quickly.
I apologise for the road condition even though it is not the hotel’s responsibility. If the guest had approached the front desk the Porter on duty would have assisted in getting the luggage to the respective room. It appears that on the night in question the hotel was full hence no parking on site was available.
It is possible that the water on the wall was caused by some condensation from the air conditioner. As far as the blood stained bed sheets this is not acceptable and the housekeeping staffs have been requested to ensure that this does not happen again.
The only hotel staffs on duty during the night are the Porter and the Receptionist and they are usually in the reception area only. As far as the taxi drivers and staff talking and giggling during the night, our normal taxi drivers that are licenced to be at the taxi stop have finished work by 9.00pm. I will be instructing the Security guards on duty to ensure that if there is any future noise from within the hotel premises that it be kept at the lowest level possible. From outside the premises it is sometimes impossible to police, however we will do our utmost to ensure that our guests have a quiet and peaceful night.
I am sorry that your stay was not as pleasant as you would have liked it however I can assure you that your comments have been noted and items that are in within our capabilities have been fixed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Everything that can go wrong did!!
We booked into the hotel on the 16th of January for 2 nights and arrived at around 4 pm.
As the 4 of us got into the room we asked for the WIFI (primary reason for booking this particular hotel) and were told that it would be switched on in a few minutes and somebody was bringing us the password. We waited for an hour nothing happened!! Time to take a shower but alas there were no towels in the room!! Called for that and answer we got was laundry was not out yet!!
Okay we will watch TV but no remote!! You are getting the idea!!!
Then when we shut the door there was a buzzing sound and this was the icing on the cake!!
The porter offered to fix the door and I finally asked to see the manager to complain.
I told her the service was bad. She said she could not do anything about it???
No wifi
No remote
No towels
Noisy Door
Seriously the manager could not do anything about it??
The person who paid the same amount got a better service than we did and we did not even get an apology!!
We packed and left!! While we were packing still there was no towels and WIFI!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl_perrin018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Within a few minutes of the guests checking in complaints were being registered.
We do not turn the Wifi off as it is available 24 hours per day with the guest purchasing the necessary card to use the internet. In the family rooms there are always two towels and a bathmat for at least two guests. Hand towels are available if guests request them. Additional towels are supplied as and when bookings are made for my than two persons. When the guests asked for the extra towels they were informed that they would be delivered within five minutes, however in the eyes of the guests it appears that five minutes was too long.
The remote for the TV and air conditioner are supplied and delivered to the room by the Porter when guests are escorted to their room. Yes I do agree that there was an alarm coming from the door lock. However as soon as we were informed of this problem an offer was made to fix the door which would have taken no more than a couple of minutes. This offer was refused by the guests.
Because the guests were not satisfied they went and approached the Receptionist (not the Manager) and requested a discount on their room. When this was declined they then left the hotel.
They were actually in the hotel for less than an hour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Being a Fijian leaving abroad it was to be a last minute decision to book into a hotel..Due to the location we chose this hotel & on arrival at the reception we weren't treated differently as other travellers.The lady at the front desk,Jenny,greeted us & we were accomodated in Rm 512.Due to air condition problem we were upgraded to Rm 107.
I must comment on ALL the staff at were on duty from the 30th Dec- 4thJan 2013.You guys regardless of what each traveller may face during their stay make us come back due to your tireless efforts..We all have different preferances & esp staying in hotels in overseas but we still get those infectious COLGATE smile from each one of you..thumbs up!!!please convey this to Jenny,Ana,the two porters,the garden staff,the securities,the maids etc..
blessed 2013 to you all..
Naborisi Family,Auck,NZ..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Va N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl_perrin018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

I would like to thank you sincerely on your comments in regards to the service provided.

It is nice to know that that all the staff were appreciated during your stay. I have passed on your comments to all the staff mentioned.

If service is provided to the guest's satisfaction, then no doubt the guests will return and that is one thing we strive to do, is to provide service with a smile and also provide facilities that the guest will use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've been making at least 2 trips to Suva every year since 1998 and have decided on the Peninsula which has a rate of approx $85 Fijian for a single standard room which is very good for Suva. The elevator is still shaky and slow but reliable, there is wireless internet which runs very well, and the guests continue to be a mixture of local and overseas people ranging from couples, sports teams, and visiting conference goers. No extra frills, and I wouldn't recommend their restaurant. There are safes in the luxury rooms, desks are really small (not good if you need to do work) and the shower cubicles are smaller than most. They used to have sky (with national geographic) but don't know what happened since. But the hotel has improved over the years and the atmosphere continues to be pleasant. Plenty of taxis up front, or catch a bus into the city (3 mins) just across the road on the same side or to USP and Cost U Less on the other side of the road.

Room Tip: If you want a safe to store valuables go for the luxury rooms which isn't too much more price wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl_perrin018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel.

Our normal price for a standard room single is $95, however we do run specials at $85 single, which you were able to receive on your visit. The lift is being serviced and the shakiness that you mentioned should be removed. A comment was made on the restaurant, however no reason was given as to why the restaurant would not be recommended. Currently all our deluxe rooms are being renovated and will be finished in the next two months, then the standard rooms will also be renovated. As each room is finished it is the intention that every room in the hotel will have safes so that valuables can be stored.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suva
0.5 mi away
Town House Apartment Hotels Suva
0.5 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 13 in Suva
554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Suva
Holiday Inn Suva
#2 of 13 in Suva
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tanoa Plaza Suva
Tanoa Plaza Suva
#6 of 13 in Suva
173 reviews
6.0 mi away
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
25.0 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula International Hotel

Address: McGregor Rd & Pender St, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Suva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Suva
Price Range: $79 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peninsula International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel has 100 rooms made up of 54 standard, 8 family suites, 32 deluxe and 6 superior deluxe rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Peninsula International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing