We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!”

Peninsula International Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peninsula International Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Suva
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Everything that can go wrong did!!
We booked into the hotel on the 16th of January for 2 nights and arrived at around 4 pm.
As the 4 of us got into the room we asked for the WIFI (primary reason for booking this particular hotel) and were told that it would be switched on in a few minutes and somebody was bringing us the password. We waited for an hour nothing happened!! Time to take a shower but alas there were no towels in the room!! Called for that and answer we got was laundry was not out yet!!
Okay we will watch TV but no remote!! You are getting the idea!!!
Then when we shut the door there was a buzzing sound and this was the icing on the cake!!
The porter offered to fix the door and I finally asked to see the manager to complain.
I told her the service was bad. She said she could not do anything about it???
No wifi
No remote
No towels
Noisy Door
Seriously the manager could not do anything about it??
The person who paid the same amount got a better service than we did and we did not even get an apology!!
We packed and left!! While we were packing still there was no towels and WIFI!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl_perrin018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Within a few minutes of the guests checking in complaints were being registered.
We do not turn the Wifi off as it is available 24 hours per day with the guest purchasing the necessary card to use the internet. In the family rooms there are always two towels and a bathmat for at least two guests. Hand towels are available if guests request them. Additional towels are supplied as and when bookings are made for my than two persons. When the guests asked for the extra towels they were informed that they would be delivered within five minutes, however in the eyes of the guests it appears that five minutes was too long.
The remote for the TV and air conditioner are supplied and delivered to the room by the Porter when guests are escorted to their room. Yes I do agree that there was an alarm coming from the door lock. However as soon as we were informed of this problem an offer was made to fix the door which would have taken no more than a couple of minutes. This offer was refused by the guests.
Because the guests were not satisfied they went and approached the Receptionist (not the Manager) and requested a discount on their room. When this was declined they then left the hotel.
They were actually in the hotel for less than an hour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    24
    16
    20
See reviews for
17
11
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Being a Fijian leaving abroad it was to be a last minute decision to book into a hotel..Due to the location we chose this hotel & on arrival at the reception we weren't treated differently as other travellers.The lady at the front desk,Jenny,greeted us & we were accomodated in Rm 512.Due to air condition problem we were upgraded to Rm 107.
I must comment on ALL the staff at were on duty from the 30th Dec- 4thJan 2013.You guys regardless of what each traveller may face during their stay make us come back due to your tireless efforts..We all have different preferances & esp staying in hotels in overseas but we still get those infectious COLGATE smile from each one of you..thumbs up!!!please convey this to Jenny,Ana,the two porters,the garden staff,the securities,the maids etc..
blessed 2013 to you all..
Naborisi Family,Auck,NZ..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Va N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl_perrin018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I would like to thank you sincerely on your comments in regards to the service provided.

It is nice to know that that all the staff were appreciated during your stay. I have passed on your comments to all the staff mentioned.

If service is provided to the guest's satisfaction, then no doubt the guests will return and that is one thing we strive to do, is to provide service with a smile and also provide facilities that the guest will use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apia, Samoa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've been making at least 2 trips to Suva every year since 1998 and have decided on the Peninsula which has a rate of approx $85 Fijian for a single standard room which is very good for Suva. The elevator is still shaky and slow but reliable, there is wireless internet which runs very well, and the guests continue to be a mixture of local and overseas people ranging from couples, sports teams, and visiting conference goers. No extra frills, and I wouldn't recommend their restaurant. There are safes in the luxury rooms, desks are really small (not good if you need to do work) and the shower cubicles are smaller than most. They used to have sky (with national geographic) but don't know what happened since. But the hotel has improved over the years and the atmosphere continues to be pleasant. Plenty of taxis up front, or catch a bus into the city (3 mins) just across the road on the same side or to USP and Cost U Less on the other side of the road.

Room Tip: If you want a safe to store valuables go for the luxury rooms which isn't too much more price wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl_perrin018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel.

Our normal price for a standard room single is $95, however we do run specials at $85 single, which you were able to receive on your visit. The lift is being serviced and the shakiness that you mentioned should be removed. A comment was made on the restaurant, however no reason was given as to why the restaurant would not be recommended. Currently all our deluxe rooms are being renovated and will be finished in the next two months, then the standard rooms will also be renovated. As each room is finished it is the intention that every room in the hotel will have safes so that valuables can be stored.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The main problems we had with our room (116) was the huge patches of mould on the ceiling, the strong smell of cigarettes and alcohol upon entering the room and the extremely unattractive view out of the window of a rusty tin roof, scaffolding, bits of wire etc (room was stated as 'delux'). We kept the curtains shut so we didn't have to look at it. The rest of the room was clean. The only other problem we had was the Friday night that we stayed, where there was a fair amount of drinking going on outside on the footpath and people running around the halls laughing and screaming - all this entertainment for us at 3am! We changed our room to 116 after that. On the good side, the restaurant was very clean and very tidy, with a good selection. One of the waitresses, Dipeeka, was one of the best waitresses we have encountered for a very long time, she was attentive, extremely polite, efficient and even when the restaurant wasn't busy, she was always busy filling milk jugs and juice, cleaning surfaces, replacing jams and cereals, straightening cutlery and was an all round lovely girl, who we would certainly love to employ here in New Zealand. One of the guards downstairs in the carpark we were also impressed with, from memory I think his name was Maika, who was very polite and took his duties very seriously, another staff member we would be happy to have on our team here in New Zealand. All in all, a nice enough stay and we'd probably stay here again. Great location, close to the CBD. Good air conditioner.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a look at the room before you commit to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl_perrin018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I can only respond on the comments made for room 116, as the previous room number was not quoted.

The ceiling of room 116 had no patches of mould and there was no smell of alcohol or smoke in the room on the day of my inspection. In actual room 116 is a smoking room.

As far as the rusty tin roof is concerned unfortunately this relates to buildings on a property not owned by the hotel. The scaffolding also referred to is neatly stacked between two sheds.

Rooms on three floors are currently under renovation and will be completed early next year. Drinking on the footpath outside of the hotel premises is very hard to stop however the security have the approval to move people on as our guests are our main concern. If there is a disturbance in the hotel that causes problems for our guests they only need to contact our reception and our porter and security will attend to the complaint.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel as indicated in your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

I have to say this hotel is so convenient to suva CBD! great bar and restaurant. Awesome staff i stayed for 5 days and i loved the smiling staff that work there, thank you to the young fijian boy (page boy)who helped with my luggage n everything else i needed! Thank you the cleaners n the lovely girls at reception. Will be returning nxt weekend and cant wait to see the staff not to mention great food thats provided at the restaurant.

From sulu. Seru

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sulz4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl_perrin018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
On behalf of my staff I wish to thank you for your comments.
It is encouraging to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that the staff were helpful and facilities were up to your standard.
At my staff meeting this week I read out your review and congratulated the staff on a job well done.
Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The room was dark with old yellow bulbs and I could not read any newspaper. No side table lamp and although it was a hotel, but no ironing board and iron.

There was no glass to drink water and once the hot water was not on.

The chair was rusty and there were bad marks on it. There was no head board.

I had to write a complaint in hand writing for light and side table...Although I stayed for 8 days but could not sleep better as the mattress was very old. This was my worst experience of travel life , out of 134 hotels/motels all over the world. Swimming pool is small and not suitable for young children.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshad363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl_perrin018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
The lighting in all the rooms is gradually being changed starting with the standard rooms. The “old yellow bulbs” are being replaced with warm white bulbs which are brighter.
All the standard rooms are to be fitted with a head board and side lights for reading. This however will take a little time as we have half the hotel to do. The hotel does not supply an ironing board and iron in each room however we do have an ironing room available for the guest’s usage.
My understanding from the housekeeper was that there were three glasses available in the room.
There are 100 rooms in the hotel and hot water available is not totally available to every room at once however after a short time it does become available.

The complaint that was lodged was left at reception on the day of checking out. All items complained about have now been checked and will be rectified, some taking a little more time than others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Suva hotels

Apia, Samoa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The rooms are basic as they come. The disappointment started when i opened up the folded bath mat to find that it was frayed and ripped almost in half hence the fold. The second bath mat during my stay was full of holes. On comparing notes with other friends also staying there confirmed that this was similar to what they had in their rooms. Perhaps management could take a good look at their housekeeping and provide some new towels and bathmats. And while they're at it, provide some face cloths as well for the rooms. Was surprised to find that there was no iron in the room. The ironing room was untidy and could do with a water blasting.

The plus was the friendly and very accommodating kitchen staff. Loved the fresh "kokoda" with coriander. Food, was so-so and nothing to rave about. Again housekeeping /management may want to look at wiping down that dust on the chairs.

Gave up on the internet - bought a card for the wifi and did the circuit from the poolside, to my room on the fourth floor and back to the lobby and finally to the bar. The signal was non-existent despite efforts by one of the staff members to try and connect. The following morning i tried the filthy internet cafe. It took twenty minutes to try and log on and when i did, I couldnt upload the google mail page. I gave up in disgust and left for my meeting.

The guest laundry was closed at 5pm. Just brilliant given that we were out all day and only returned at 5pm. Management need to look at leaving this service open much longer to accommodate for the guests who are out at meetings all day.

Whilst checking out after a week, a friend and I listened to the annoying ringing phone for a while, whilst one staff member was dealing with a client. Another staff member stood by idly doing absolutely nothing, and could have picked up the phone. Management should look at proper training for their staff. That phone shouldn't ring more than 3 times. Being an energy conscious individual, i switched off the ac and lights every morning, to return to an icebox of a room. This annoyed me very much for the sheer waste of energy let alone the cost savings that the hotel could have. The last two days, the ac control was gone. The floor was wet, with standing water around the bed.

This property has great potential with a good clean up to spruce it up. A good wipe down of the dust can make a difference without costing an arm and a leg. The bar had comfortable seats and is a bit modern looking Prices were very good and attractive.

Overall, the staff were friendly. Highly recommend that management note the above and do something about it as this hotel has great potential given its location and proximity to the CBD.

and finally, beware of the electronic keys.... they tend not to work often so when u stagger home after a good nite out, be prepared to be locked out. I was advised that this is due to the key been kept close to your phone!!! This is a first for me.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maligiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl_perrin018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments regards your stay in the hotel.
It is normal practice not to place any damaged linen in the rooms and unfortunately on this occasion a torn bathmat was placed in the room by mistake. Any damaged items have now been removed from our hotel stock, so that this unfortunate incident will not take place again. New towels were purchased some months ago however each week there are always towels etc that go missing. The hotel at this stage does not provide individual irons in the rooms.
The comment concerning dust on the restaurant chairs has been noted and staff has been requested to ensure that the chairs are clean at all times. On completion of renovations in the restaurant over the next couple of months the chairs are to be replaced. The restaurant not only has ala carte menus for lunch and dinner but we also have specials on a daily basis for both sittings.
Comments made concerning the non-existent signal for the Wifi. I have been advised from my Operations Manager that the signal was okay, with the problem being with the laptop. The internet room is cleaned every day by the housemaid or porter but at times guests have left their rubbish in the room after use. The porter normally checks the room on a regular basis.
The laundry room on the 4th floor is a linen room and an ironing room as well and is closed when the maid finishes work at 5pm. The laundry room on the 2nd floor is just an ironing room and is open 24 hours for the guest’s usage.
On the day when the “guests were listening to the annoying ringing phone for a while”, only one receptionist was on duty at the time and was dealing with another guest. “The other staff member standing by doing absolutely nothing” was the hotel Purchasing Officer on a phone extension placing the hotel orders with our head office. Phones are answered as soon as practical, however we try and sort out our guests first and as quickly as possible. The hotel normally has two receptionists on duty on each of the three shifts, however at times one of the staff may have to leave the reception area for one reason or another.
It is appreciated that guests do turn off their air conditioners when they are away for the day. However when the rooms are serviced on completion the floors are washed and the air conditioners are then turned on to help dry the floors. We have had comments in the past that when the housemaid has left the air conditioners off, the floor has still been a little wet from cleaning. So it is very difficult to determine what each guest prefers.
At times the locks on the doors do cause problems with opening and over the next few months all locks will be replaced. There are many reasons why door locks do not work, moisture from air conditioners, humidity and the closeness of key cards to mobile phones.

Management apologises for any inconvenience that may have occurred.

All complaints are taken seriously and are rectified as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suva
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Suva
Holiday Inn Suva
#2 of 13 in Suva
461 reviews
6.0 mi away
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
0.5 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 13 in Suva
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quest Apartments-Suva
0.3 mi away
Tanoa Plaza Suva
Tanoa Plaza Suva
#6 of 13 in Suva
167 reviews
3.5 mi away
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula International Hotel

Property: Peninsula International Hotel
Address: McGregor Rd & Pender St, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Suva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Suva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Peninsula International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel has 100 rooms made up of 54 standard, 8 family suites, 32 deluxe and 6 superior deluxe rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Peninsula International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing