We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Quiet”
Review of Bedarra Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bedarra Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Balmain, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Quiet”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We are so glad we booked at Bedarra and not somewhere like the Outrigger up the road (which is great for families with children). This is a great place if you are looking to unwind. The staff are wonderful and friendly and helped make the holiday pleasant and relaxing. It is a small complex so this made it easy to chat with other guests around the bar or pool if this is something you would like to do. Happy Hour and its announcement is fun and the Ocean Terrace offers a great range of meals. My only request would be to offer some simple sandwiches to the menu and also have the choice of a few premium wines (white and red). Also loved the king sized singles pushed together - we slept much better than at home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slowwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    217
    32
    10
    4
See reviews for
244
541
69
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dapto, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Wow, fantastic dinner was had here guys

My family of 14 had two dinners at Bedarra on 2/1/14 and 30/12/13

The menu is excellent and the quality of food and presentation is outstanding

The staff are hard working and professional, they looked after us very well and really cared

It was great to have some great food at reasonable pricing while staying just next door at the Outrigger which did not match up to these guys at Bedarra

THANKS AGAIN BEDARRA BEACH INN

We did not stay there so I could not comment on the sleeping arrangements but the food is EXCELLENT

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Our stay at Bedarra surpassed our expectations. In 5 days we felt part of the wonderful Bedarra Beach Inn Family. Spending time with native Fijians, experiencing their loving, giving, caring nature was a true gift and we thank all the staff for sharing themselves and their culture so generously. It is rare to find people who seem to really enjoy their jobs and their work colleagues as much as this team.

Above and beyond advertised - our stay included continental breakfast daily, which while I thoroughly enjoyed (fresh juice, large platter of delicious fruit, toast and coffee), didn't suit the tastes of my husband and twin 18 year old carnivore sons when eggs Benedict was on the menu. Firstly "Congratulations" to the chef and his team for serving up a meal that would raise nocturnal 18 year olds in time for breakfast. Secondly, and here I hope I am not getting someone in trouble .. all these special breakfasts were not charged and were given in lieu of the included continental breakfast .. this has never happened anywhere else we have ever stayed.

Thanks again for a wonderful holiday

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Couldn't be happier to rave about our recent week-long stay at Bedarra Beach Inn on the Coral Coast. We were so pleased to have stayed here instead of the big resorts. The rooms are simply furnished but clean and comfortable, and we loved that there were no TVs, clocks, or tons of electronics around; we really wanted to get away and relax and Bedarra facilitated that experience. The food is excellent, especially the dinner menu - the curry dishes infused with local seafood and flavors were my favorite, especially the Prawn Curry. The staff really make the place what it is: they are warm, friendly, helpful, and go out of their way to make you feel like Bedarra is home, however long or short your stay may be. Happy hour is where it's at: the drum sounds off at 5pm and you're greeted with delicious drinks at half-price and the Bedarra Beach Boys playing guitar and serenading the lobby and dinner crowd through the evening. We also appreciated the special events like the kava ceremony and helpful front-desk assistance with planning our tours. Bedarra is in a great location because you can relax by their beach or pool, go snorkeling or kayaking, enjoy a spa treatment, or if you want something different, easily walk to explore some of the other local restaurants and resorts nearby but still have the advantage of returning to lovely Bedarra. Although there were some families around, by and large Bedarra's vibe is for couples, both younger and older, and we appreciated that environment as compared with the neighboring Outrigger. I don't think I've ever stayed at a hotel where the staff made me feel so welcome and facilitated such a relaxing vacation. And like everyone says, we really, really didn't want to leave. I couldn't recommend Bedarra more! My only suggestion would be for them to add music to the spa during treatments and create a bit warmer ambience there.

Room Tip: We stayed in a lovely, quiet, and spacious room off of the main block, up the hill towards the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed for 9 days with our 6 months old and asked for a quiet room. We got a room at the back in a separate building, more like a bungalow with a huge terrace- perfect for our little crawling wriggling boy. We had room service most nights, nice food but the pasta is just ok so I would recommend local dishes. We also got a microwave in our room for free to sterilise baby bottles, an extra table and sheets, great service. The Italian coffee is fantastic. There were never more than 10 people at the pool, compared with the Outrigger which we visited and there where sooo many people at the pool, felt like a public pool. The beach is lovely, nice green strip under palms just behind the beach where you can get food and drinks brought out. Really peaceful and quiet. The ocean is like a big bathtub, no waves so perfect to take little baby in. Only thing that was a tat disappointing was the spa, but we didn't come here for that. This place has a great reputation, and well deserved so.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank frangipani_schnitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Bulla, Spent the first week of December with my wife and did not wont to leave. Lovely relaxed place to holiday. The food and the service are first rate the staff are the best very friendly and very genuine. Last of all DO NOT miss Happy Hour.

Room Tip: Any room it is the people that will make your holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phillip g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Just over a week ago, my husband and I got married at Outrigger on the Lagoon. However,we chose to stay at Bedarra Beach Inn for the week, and we are so glad we did. The price was so affordable for the week, and we definitely preferred staying in a smaller resort where our room wasn't too far away from our friends' rooms, reception, the BBI Spa, the pool, the restaurant, and most importantly, the bar.

Staff:
Bedarra is so close-knit, that the entire staff became our family for the week. We were amazed that we would walk around Bedarra the day after checking-in, and the staff would greet each of us by name, instead of Ma'am/Sir.

We had about 60 guests attend our wedding, with the majority of them choosing to also stay at Bedarra. The staff were so kind and friendly to all of us, helping out whenever and wherever they could, and being so accommodating to such a big group (especially at Happy Hour, where we would often occupy the entire bar).

Big shout-outs to Betta, Manoa, Jiten, Mere, Viliame, Sala, Vesi, Saki, Vani, Mateo, and a big thank you to the lovely Housekeeping lady with the beautiful singing voice (I think it was maybe Salote) - thank you for looking after us!

Accommodation:
I loved staying at Bedarra because the rooms were huge (they were at least double the size of the Outrigger rooms I saw, while over there). They are in the process of renovating the rooms, and my friend was lucky enough to be given the first room to be renovated, so I got to have a sneak-peek - it was very stylish! I also love the fact that the rooms had huge sliding glass doors, which allowed in a lot of natural light. I also liked the fact that there were no TVs or phones in the room - it made our Bedarra experience much more relaxing, and everyone was outside by the pool enjoying time together, instead of spending their holiday in their room watching TV. Another thing I really loved about our room was the HUGE bathroom, with SO much bathroom bench space (such a girly thing to say, I know)! And the little animals (a frog and a swan) the Housekeeping staff made with the towels each day were completely adorable.

Food:
I absolutely loved the Bedarra menus. The lunch and dinner menus boasted both traditional Fijian cuisine (Kokoda, Ika Vakalolo, as well as some amazing curry platters), as well as some classic favourites (burgers, fish and chips, steak). I thought the pizza menu was a fantastic idea - delicious too! One of our friends was vegetarian and raved about the Vegetarian Curry Platter. Everything was very reasonably priced, and the fruit and vegetables just tasted so fresh!

Drinks:
It's so hard for me to pick my one favourite part of Bedarra, but Happy Hour would come close. The cocktail list is extensive and the Papaya Surprise was a favourite among many in our group. It was especially delicious since it was made from fresh papaya, blended up right in front of us - yum! There were times when we would completely occupy the bar - with close to 30 of our group who were staying at Bedarra, as well as our friends from other resorts who would come and enjoy Happy Hour with us too, but the bar staff were completely accommodating and were always working so hard to get our many, many (MANY) cocktails made.

On our last day, we asked if we could have our Happy Hour Piña Coladas served in actual coconuts, and someone from the Maintenance staff went and picked eight coconuts for us.

BBI Spa:
Both my husband and I had massages at BBI Spa, and they were perfect! Very professional and relaxing.

Overall:
The few guests who chose to stay at other resorts, ended up spending most of their time at Bedarra with us, and they often commented on how nice it was to be greeted by name (by the Bedarra staff) each time they came to visit. Most of them stated that they wished they stayed at Bedarra, as everyone was so friendly, and the rooms were so big!

All that being said, there were just a couple things that, although they didn't take away from our overall Bedarra experience, could maybe use some change: Firstly, I didn't like that people could smoke at the bar (especially since it is inside, near reception and the restaurant). I also thought the pool had a little too much chlorine in it. And that's it - they're the only two bad things I have to say about Bedarra.

We will definitely be coming back to this place - it's affordable, clean, kid-friendy, welcoming, and most importantly, it's fun! Thank you, Bedarra for making our week the most enjoyable holiday ever!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Leilani W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
12.7 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,539 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#4 of 9 in Sigatoka
353 reviews
30.5 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.0 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
15.6 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedarra Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedarra Beach Inn

Property: Bedarra Beach Inn
Address: Sunset Strip | Korotogo, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bedarra Beach Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the personalized, intimate & friendly service of a small Inn with the luxurious accommodation, exquisite cuisine and special attention you'd expect from a large international resort costing twice the price. Our goal is to welcome you as guests, care for you as family and remember you as friends. 2 Great restaurants, unique cocktail bar, pool, lagoon beach, all rooms air-conditioned. Near Outrigger on the Lagoon Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bedarra Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedarra Beach Hotel Sigatoka
Bedarra Beach Inn Fiji/Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing