We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money”
Review of Bedarra Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bedarra Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Mona Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently stayed at the Bedarra Beach Inn whilst visting Fiji for a friends wedding at the nearby Outrigger resort.
We are glad we stayed at the Bedarra as it represented true value for money and suited us based on the holiday we were taking (did not need all the TV's, Mod Cons & extravagances etc in the room). The rooms were very clean and well presented and comfortable although simple (do not expect a 5 star city style hotel room). My only suggestion for the rooms would be for Bedarra to invest in some heavier curtins which do not fill the whole room with bright light at the crack of dawn, but then again who wants to sleep all day in Fiji?
The resort itself was immaculately looked after with the grounds, pool and common areas clean and inviting. All the staff were very friendly and happy to help throughout our stay.
Despite many fantastic reviews, we found the food average - definately nothing to rave about, but in saying that we also found the food in general in Fiji to be below the basic standard we are used to in Australia. We also to repeatdly ask for items we had ordered which still had not come well after the rest of the meal was served, however this did not worry us to much as we were in no rush. Fiji time certainly is very obvious here and for the most its very nice - no one is in a big rush and it's all part of the relaxing experince, however in saying this on more than one occassion we waited over 15mins after asking a couple of times for our resturant bill to sign which did get a little frustrating when you were waiting to head out somewhere.

All in all, Bedarra certainly is a nice place and great value for money compared to nearby chain resorts (complete with millions of screaming kids), the staff are nice and the rooms and common areas (including the amazing bar) are very well kept. Just do not confuse this for a 4/5 star resort by Western Standards because it isn't, but then again I do not think thats what they are trying to be either. Well done Bedarra, thanks for what was overall an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    216
    32
    10
    4
See reviews for
243
541
69
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This Inn is well run and managed and is great value. The Happy Hour is generous and always fun. Staff is attentive and all beach and water accessories are available and in good shape.
Restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The staff here were the friendliest of friendly Fijians. Even the groundstaff were chatty and happy to help. From carrying the canoes to the beach (and back) to setting out the sun loungers on the grass verge. They even cut down the cocnuts for us to drink the milk!
Food was really great. And very reasonably priced. The restaurant and bar staff (Jonathon, Mateo, Vesi, Vani and Amelia) were very nice.
We had a local band every night, and they sang us a tearful acapello Fijian leaving song on the last night.
Cava ceremony every Tuesday and Thursday was great.
For a truly relaxing and friendly holiday come here and chill out beneath the palm trees on the beach.
The rooms were quite spacious and very clean. I loved the sense of humour in the resort information pack regarding water supply getting cut off just as you're covered in soap.
My daughter was never out of the pool. She loved it. The pool area gets very hot. However, the grass verge near the beach has a lovely onshore breeze.
There are also several bars close by if you are in need of an evening stroll.
There is a local bus service into Sigatoka for $1. Bargain.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be of the same high quality. I enjoyed sitting outside on the veranda early mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyD661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambour, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a fabulous place to stay. We stayed here for a wind down after a few weeks in the US. What a wonderful way to end our holiday. The staff were amazing. Very friendly and made us feel so very welcome. The rooms were very spacious and the food in the restaurant was delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Only regret was that I wished we stayed longer. We will be returning.

Room Tip: Our room had a garden view, Was close to the pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mzcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our two night stay here was fantastic from the beginning to end! The reception staff was pleasant and efficient. We were assigned room #3, located just off the lounge/bar area. The room actually consisted of two rooms -- one with a queen size bed and a sitting area and the other room with twin beds. The rooms were very clean and tastefully furnished. The bathroom was large, clean and had a good supply of linens. We had our own little walled garden complete with flowers and chaise longue. When booking the hotel, we chose the garden room because sea view rooms were more expensive. We had a car and planned to be out of the hotel all of the time visiting places and doing various activities in the Singatoka area so the sea view was not important to us.

The hotel has a happy hour from 6 to 7 p.m. and all drinks were half price. The barman was very friendly and he, as well as ALL other staff members, knew and called us by name. Very impressive and we really felt welcome. Our first evening at the hotel, the hotel musicians, The Beach Boys, serenaded us with a welcome song. Dinners in the dining room were superb. The menu was vast, the quality and quanity excellent and the service outstanding. The dining room was always full because many clients of a near-by 5 star resort came here to eat not only for the excellent meals but also because the prices were reasonable The Beach Boys played in the dining room during dinner and we so enjoyed them that we purchased one of their CDs.

The hotel has a lovely swimming pool but our busy schedule didn't allow us time to use it; snorkeling gear is avilable, free of charge, for guests' use. A clean, sandy beach is just across the street and from it, you have a beautiful view arcoss to Beca Island.

The hotel guests were very congenial and we learned from many of them that they come to Bedarra year after year for their vacation and we can certainly understand why. Our last evening the musicians and ALL of the staff members sang us a farewell song. A perfect ending to a perfect stay.

We can highly recommend this superb hotel.

Room Tip: You may want to pay more and have a seaview room if you plan to be stationary and spend most of your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azulferro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

BULA!!

If you are looking for an over commercialized, over rated and over priced resort where the food is good, but expensive, where the noise from the many guests and their children drowns out your peace, solitude and relaxation, then Bedarra is NOT for you!

On the other hand, If you are looking for a relaxing, stress free stay at a place where the peace and quiet is appreciated, the numbers of guests are limited, the accommodation is roomy, fresh and clean, the staff go out of their way to assist you in your requirements and time almost stands still, then Bedarra is THE place for you.

There are two time zones on Earth; there is world time, and then there is Fiji time which is so much more relaxing.

The food and drink at Bedarra is so good that the quality and prices eventually attract guests from the other more expensive resorts. My wife and I should know this because we had relations staying at other more expensive locations who visited regularly for breakfast and other meals and brought their friends with them who all expressed their pleasant surprise at the quaility of the food and drink, as well as the prices!

We have returned to Oz after having spent five memorable days at Bedarra Beach Inn and have nothing but high praise for the staff, the groundsmen and the management. Nothing is too much trouble at Bedarra!

For instance:

You could find yourself sitting or laying on the beach at the front of the resort, maybe you could be picking up and examining coral pieces and sea shells, or have just come back in from snorkelling between the reef and the beach when you decide to try a fresh coconut straight off the tree (let me add they are nothing like you have had before) All you need do is to just ask one of the groundsmen whose ready smile and instant assistance will retrieve and prepare a coconut right in front of you using his large and very sharp machete. He will even show you how to drink the juice and to scoop out the white flesh. Delicious!

And all you have to do for this is to say vinaka, or thank you.

At 5:00 pm, the drum is beaten and Happy Hour begins at the bar. Here you will get to meet other guests and mingle with the staff who make Happy Hour very enjoyable. We met some lovely people from places all over the world and got to know nearly all the staff. While the drinks flow the local musicians who go by the name of The Bedarra Beach Boys, will sing their melodies which are truly beautiful to listen to and are available on their own CD (I bought one), and after a few drinks, or more if you wish, then all you need do is to move a few metres into the balcony restaurant and have another great meal.

How difficult is that!

And did I mention the atmosphere? Very relaxing, friendly, cheerful, the list goes on........

To Vani, Mateo, Vasi, Saki, Betta, Jonathan, Mere, David, Silas and all the other staff (friends) at Bedarra, vinaka vaka levu for a most memorable stay. Sandy and Terry are now planning to return to your amazingly welcoming and friendly resort around April 2014. And we will be bringing others.....!

P.S. Just a footnote, the beds are very comfortable! And they have a pampering spa available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrence O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Feb. 2013 and were not disappointed. The atmosphere was relaxed, the food was good, and the setting promoted conversation with other travellers which we enjoyed. It was easy to get into town by bus, beach was beautiful with the reef breaking far enough out that we could snorkel and kayak most times of the day. Happy Hour everyone seemed to join in around the bar with the music from "the beach boys" (locals). Just don't be in a hurry because everything is done in "Fiji Time!"

Room Tip: uppper rooms get better views of the beach/ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
12.7 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,538 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#3 of 9 in Sigatoka
353 reviews
30.5 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Gecko's Resort
Gecko's Resort
#5 of 9 in Sigatoka
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
15.6 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedarra Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedarra Beach Inn

Property: Bedarra Beach Inn
Address: Sunset Strip | Korotogo, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bedarra Beach Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the personalized, intimate & friendly service of a small Inn with the luxurious accommodation, exquisite cuisine and special attention you'd expect from a large international resort costing twice the price. Our goal is to welcome you as guests, care for you as family and remember you as friends. 2 Great restaurants, unique cocktail bar, pool, lagoon beach, all rooms air-conditioned. Near Outrigger on the Lagoon Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bedarra Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedarra Beach Hotel Sigatoka
Bedarra Beach Inn Fiji/Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing