We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love Bedarra... BUT... May we make a suggestion??”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bedarra Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bedarra Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“We love Bedarra... BUT... May we make a suggestion??”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We recently stayed at BBI again for 3 nights on a site seeing trip with our Mum and Aunty. This is our 3rd stay at BBI and we usually love every minute of our stays.... But.....

Here are the reasons we LOVE BBI so much:

1. BBI consists of around 30 rooms
2. It is small, intimate, friendly and most importantly, quiet and relaxing
3. There is no 'kids club', 'banana boat' or loud late night disco

Sadly, during our recent stay, a large group of people from the adjacent 'Outrigger' descended on our peaceful resort with about 6 or 7 loud squealing children!! (albeit without a dinner reservation) and the kids proceeded to tear around the restaurant, gardens, pool and up and down the stairs leading to the guest rooms. All the while the 'parents' of these out of control kids did nothing to supervise them at all. It was up to the manager on duty to actually ask the parents to please control the children. There were also kids in the pool during the day playing pool games and doing 'bombs' in the pool, resulting in us not utilising the pool whilst we were there.

I understand that the passing visitors to BBI are good for business but there are certain reasons why we go there. It is not a 'kid friendly' resort and that's why we like it. I beleive that the owners of BBI should advertise the resort as 'adults only' or 'children by prior arrangement' as we are aware of several families who enjoy their well earned annual vacation at BBI with their very well behaved kids.

My note to potential guests is this. If you do have noisy, over indulged children who need to be amused all day or children who are of the age where 'bombs' in the pool and banana boats appeal to them, please DO NOT STAY HERE!! There are many resorts in Fiji who cater to families and would be fantastic for kids! THIS IS NOT ONE OF THEM!!

We love BBI for the peace, the relaxation and the friendly staff. Please don't ever change.

We look forward to our next visit. Hopefully the next one will be a bit more relaxing.

One other suggestion. The curtains in the guest rooms are quite sheer and let alot of early morning light into the room. Would be great if we could have sime 'block out' curtains as sleeping in is definitely something we all enjoy whilst on holidays! Vinaka...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Endless-Summer-Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilFiji, Owner at Bedarra Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Bula Loving-Life,
What can we say but sorry... You are 100% right. Bedarra Beach Inn is not the best place for children - especially ones who obviously get no education in consideration for others. We also admit to being backwards in coming forward to shut them down. We should have done so on their first appearance and didn't in the hope it was a one-off visit.

Be assured that we (management) gave ourselves a very good talking to about this, and steps have been taken to make sure it doesn't get out of hand again. In my years at BBI I have never experienced this situation before and I think we all went in to shock for a while. Won't happen again, or if it does we will end it.

Do not fear, I promise that Bedarra isn't planning on changing what it is (Just so long as you promise to keep coming back to see us all). Forgive us this once and we'll make it up to you!

Vinaka
Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    209
    31
    10
    4
See reviews for
233
520
67
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Spent 6 nights here with family, and was sad to leave. Great, good value restaurant, but also other options a few minutes walk down the beach road if you fancy a change. Large spacious rooms with all the usual amenities, with unbelievably comfortable beds.

The fish turmeric curry on the lunchtime menu is the best, so much so I had to eat it every day, and even for breakfast on check out day!

The staff arranged a birthday cake and the band sang around our table which was fun on my father's birthday. You can try kava tasting here too most evenings with the band.

Coco's bar down the road make fabulous cocktails (thankfully stronger than those available at the hotel bar during happy hour!) You can get a local bus to Sigatoka for F$1 to have a look around town, just outside the hotel, ask the staff, they'll be glad to help you.

This hotel is classy, understated, and gets a lot of things right. It's hard to fault it, don't change please Bedarra!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms on the upper floors are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nasturtian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a great stay at the Bedarra during the middle of August. We enjoyed the pool and the meals at the restaurant were great. Good value too. We were in a large standard room which was directly off the bar but this was never an issue as the bar didn’t stay open late. I liked the location with good snorkelling right off the beach. The 5pm-6pm happy hour was a good way to meet other guests and with $9FJD cocktails and $2.75FJD beers it was a good time. Getting into Sigatoka was easy with local buses ($1FJD) going past frequently. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nzlpav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I ate at Ebb Tide, Bedarra's restaurant on two occasions whilst recently in Fiji, we were staying at the nearby Outrigger resort. Bedarra is excellent on a number of fronts. It is very clean and extremely friendly, happy hour from 5-6 is great and the cocktail list is excellent, the live music is beautiful and predominantly Fijian which is lovely, the staff are fabulous and again exceed with children, the vista is beautiful (probably best in Sigatoka) and the food is absolutely fantastic in terms of quality, service and price. We would recommend eating the fish, the meals are huge and two courses was too much for us on both occasions. We will definitely be back, thanks for a great experience.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DropBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed here for five nights and must admit I was pleasantly surprised! Bedarra is tucked away in Sigatoka with a great beach and lagoon out the front. The food was reasonably priced, well presented and generous with portion sizes. My room was next to the bar (which I thought might have been noisy) but everything pretty much comes to a stop about 10pm anyway. The in room water cooler was much appreciated!

All in all a great stay - good food, room and location. What more could you want?!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orangesidewinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellinzona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have been guests at the Bedarra Inn at the end of July 2012. During our stay (5 nights) we could appreceate the location, in front of the beach with just a narrow promenade in between, the friendly staff and the nice fidjian food with an indian touch. The value of money is given which is not a minor feature, especially considering that we are in Fidji!
Just a tip: book a deluxe room or, if you book a standard room, please consider the following. We booked a standard room. All standard room are next to the hall and to the bar, so they are quite noisy, at least until 10.00 pm and starting at 7.30 am. The first room that was showed to us was bad because it had no view at all. Then we asked for a better one and we had one with terrace and ocean view: very nice and big, but still noisy. Suggestion to the manager: please change the door with a better insukated one. By the way, we kept the room because the hotel was fully booked and because the room, apart from the noise which ended before we went to bed, was very nice.
Many thanks again to all the Bedarra Staff, especially to the desk, to the manager, and to the guys and girls at the service (Hi Jonathan!!). In conclusion, we can definititely recommend the Bedarra Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room or be prepared to have a bit of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

During a recent trip to Fiji we stayed at the beautiful Bedarra Beach Inn on the Coral Coast.
We arrived in the evening and the first thing that struck us was the friendliness of the staff, we were greeted with a song, a welcome drink and vouchers for a free Fijian Foot Spa, and were told we would have a table waiting for us when we were ready for our evening meal.
The rooms were basic but spacious and clean, the food at the restaurant was tasty, well presented and reasonably priced, we were serenaded by a trio of singers every evening while eating diner, the staff were always friendly and helpful, and we very soon felt like we were part of the family.
We would recommend Bedarra to anyone who would like a peaceful holiday on the beautiful Coral Coast

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timetotravel001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
12.6 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,442 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#5 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
30.5 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.0 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
15.6 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedarra Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedarra Beach Inn

Property: Bedarra Beach Inn
Address: Sunset Strip | Korotogo, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bedarra Beach Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the personalized, intimate & friendly service of a small Inn with the luxurious accommodation, exquisite cuisine and special attention you'd expect from a large international resort costing twice the price. Our goal is to welcome you as guests, care for you as family and remember you as friends. 2 Great restaurants, unique cocktail bar, pool, lagoon beach, all rooms air-conditioned. Near Outrigger on the Lagoon Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bedarra Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedarra Beach Hotel Sigatoka
Bedarra Beach Inn Fiji/Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing