We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value on Coral Coast for now”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tambua Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tambua Sands
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value on Coral Coast for now”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We arrived at Tambua Sands the first day in Fiji. We caught a bus from the airport for $16FJD each, it was about 1-1/2 hour ride. Upon reaching our hotel we were greeted warmly. The beach bure we rented had 2 beds. 1 full, 1 twin. There are kayaks for the guest to use free, the pool is great, the beach is great. The price was affordable, but with Warwick Hotels coming in, it won't be for long. The food was really a good value too. Catch the local bus into town ($1FJD each way) don't hassle with a taxi. Bring back beer and wine to your room, there are mini fridge's in the rooms.We would definitely go back, if the prices don't go up. Be prepared to just relax as this is the place to just lay back and enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms near the middle are quiet. The non-beach bure are closer to the highway and can get some of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosalind B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tevita T, General Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Bula Rosalind B,

Sunny greetings from Tambua Sands Resort and thank you for your positive reviews and for taking the time to write it. I really appreciate your positive insight regarding our resort especially the warm Fijian hospitality upon arrival and the food value. I will definitely share your comments with our staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Vinaka & Warm Regards,
Tevita Tuidraki
Resort Manager
Tambua Sands Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    116
    38
    12
    8
See reviews for
101
159
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Absolutely perfect retreat for peace and quiet. We loved this amazing place with its beautiful beach and fantastic people. If you want a lot of activity apart from kayaking, snorkelling, rest and relaxation then this is too quiet for you. We loved it and can't wait to go back. Paul and Gloria

Room Tip: We upgraded to room 2 with its own pool but all rooms are good even the ones classed as garden rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank theatregoer186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tevita T, General Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Bula theatregoer186338,

Thank you so much for your recent online review and for taking your time to write it. I am thrilled to read your comments regarding the staff, the resort in general and the beach which most of our past guests fell in love with.

I am hoping to see you again at the resort soon.

Vinaka & Warm Regards,
Tevita Tuidraki
Resort Manager
Tambua Sands Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We just love this place. This time our family spent 3 1/2 weeks here, it wasnt long enough!
The location, the Bures, the staff all spectacular! This is the most perfect place for a family holiday, its inexpensive, clean, beautiful grounds, cleanest pool I have ever seen. The staff make Tambua Sands what it is today...... it feels like home to us and we would NEVER want to stay anywhere else.
The only thing I will mention, I think the Chef needs a holiday, the food could have been a little better but all of the other positives make this the most wonderful place to stay.
We will be back :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denielle20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tevita T, General Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Bula Denielle20,

Warm greetings from Tambua Sands Resort. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the customer service provided by our wonderful team, your well-appointed and comfortable room, the amazing sunsets and the beach. We really appreciate the time you have taken to provide your positive comment.
I also appreciate your comments about the staff and the hotel operations in general. In regards to our chef, please be rest assured we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent any future occurrences.
Thank you sincerely for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Tevita Tuidraki
Resort Manager
Tambua Sands Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a lovely small and modest resort with friendly staff and a nice quiet setting on the beach. The bures are basic and a mixture of standard as they have been refurbished in stages - we are told they will all be refurbished next year, possibly becoming a couples-only resort with better quality rooms and obviously higher prices (so get in quick!). Kayaking and snorkelling in the lagoon is shallow and only small areas of coral and fish. The beach is very nice. The pool is small and with limited seating around it - but appropriate for the size of the resort. The restaurant food was good (for Fiji), prices were all pretty reasonable. We really enjoyed our family holiday and it was very relaxing with other nice families and couples. The staff were all lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TheSnapperWhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tambua Sands T, General Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear TheSnapperWhisperer,

Bula vinaka from the team at Tambua Sands Resort! Thank you for taking the time to share your recent holiday experience on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled that we were able to provide you and your family quality service with a relaxing, comfortable and most enjoyable holiday! Thank you for highlighting our white sandy beach including our warm Fijian hospitality at the restaurant which has added a delightful ambiance to your experience.
I am also glad that you remarked the food quality at our restaurant. I will definitely share your comments with all our dedicated staff.
Looking forward to welcome you again at our shores on your next trip to Fiji.

Sincerely,
Tevita Tuidraki
Resort Manager
Tambua Sands Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
One Mile Beach NSW
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had our annual family holiday with our 8 and 10 y.o. This place is a hidden gem. We spent 2 magical weeks, and having travelled many times to Fiji it was certainly our first true Fijian experience. The wonderful staff that come mostly from the neighbouring village make this place and give it the comfortable and happy vibe. Can I recommend you take the time to chat. But remember it is an older style accomodation and we liked the no TV, and limited distractions. The snorkelling is great just off the beach and I would recommend a supply stop on route. We can't wait to return to see the wonderful people and enjoy the natural beauty. Vinaka guys.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaBM57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tambua Sands T, General Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Bula LisaBM57,
Thank you for your recent online review. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will definitely share your comments with all our staff and I am sure your feedback will serve as an encouragement to us all, as we strive to provide and deliver quality service to all our guests at the resort.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next holiday to Fiji.

Sincerely,
Tevita Tuidraki
Resort Manager
Tambua Sands Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you like relaxed, slow settings, close to the sea with no computer distractions then this place is great. A 10 minute taxi ride ($25 one way) up the road and you can be amongst 5 star resort types at the Outrigger Resort, but personally I preferred the setting at Tambua. Spacious, simple villas right on the beach.

The only shame is the food. It's not great and has so much potential to be better. And because you're a taxi ride away from any other food really it's a bit frustrating. I'd recommend getting a few basics and fruit on your way from the airport at Sigatoka town - then relax at Tambua and perhaps treat yourself to some meals up by the Outrigger - either at the resort (pricey) or just downhill of it at the beach at La Café or at Bedarra Beach Inn (great food at a much cheaper price).

Room Tip: I guess ask for a villa on the beach front. There's a couple of rows, one in front and one behin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjcs78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tambua Sands T, General Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Bula jjcs78,

Thank you for recently online review. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks from all our guests as we strive to deliver quality service to all our guests.

The hotel management has reviewed your concerns and has undertaken appropriate measures to address them, in a bid to further improve guest experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the future.

Sincerely,
Tevita Tuidraki
Resort Manager
Tambua Sands Resort
ttuidraki@warwickhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandstone Point
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have stayed at Tambua Sands for the last two years on our annual Fiji holiday. We just love the relaxed atmosphere and the beautiful reef and ocean views from the beachfront bures. The staff are always smiling and can't do enough for you. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tambua Sands T, General Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Bula Grant,

Thank you for taking the time to provide positive comment on your previous stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will definitely share your comments with all our staff and I am sure your feedback will serve as an encouragement to us all, as we strive to provide and deliver quality service to all our guests at the resort.

Thank you again for your positive comments and I look forward to welcome you again at the resort soon.

Sincerely,
Tevita Tuidraki
Resort Manager
Tambua Sands Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
5.3 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,442 reviews
13.5 mi away
Gecko's Resort
Gecko's Resort
#4 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
11.0 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
5.0 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambua Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambua Sands

Property: Tambua Sands
Address: Queen's Highway | Coral Coast, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
#5 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tambua Sands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 17 pristine acres on the breathtaking Coral Coast of Fiji, Tambua Sands Beach Resort is a South Pacific escape for the soul. Bathe in the warm South Pacific waters, relax on a white sand beach, and articlee in to our blue lagoon and fresh water pool. Discover a romantic vacation getaway, where you are free to relax, indulge, play, eat, celebrate and fall in love at our spectacular Fiji luxury resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tambua Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambua Sands Sigatoka
Tambua Sands Hotel Sigatoka
Tambua Sands Fiji/Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing