We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tambua Sands
Nearby Hotels
Bedarra Beach Inn(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$148
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$111
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$248
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Gecko's Resort(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$65
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mango Bay Resort Fiji(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$70
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$296
$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveler rating
243
137
41
16
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
137
41
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswarwick groupmanager waynecoral coastbeachfront buresister resortresort managertable tennismarine reservecoconut treesget away from it allenjoyable stayhigh tidefiji timeslice of paradisesound of the wavessmall resortroad noise
Filter
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 445 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2008

We stayed in Tambua Sands Beach Resort for three nights. This was the last three nights of our 5-week-honeymoon and we just wanted a nice place to relax. The hotel is beautiful, beach is nice (but no good for swimming), very nice and clean bures and a good-sized pool. There is not much going on here and that was fine by us. What was not fine however was the rigid rules set by the management which made the otherwise nice staff seem very little flexible.

For instance, when we first arrived we came straight from Barefoot Sailing Safari (a wonderful experience!) and I was seasick and carsick and felt like having a pizza and not a main course. Pizza is on the menu, but obviously only on the lunch menu and is under no circumstances to be served after 4pm. That just surprised us as we had been traveling the South Pacific for weeks and only met smiley, serviceminded people everywhere. It just made a bad first impression and even more so when we could not pay cash for our dinner, but had to put it on our bill. That may be a small thing of course, but we like to keep track of our money by paying at once.

Tropical breakfast is included, but if you choose something else (my husband ordered omelette one morning), you will not be served the tropical breakfast that you've already paid for?! Happy Hour is a joke, boasting reduced prices which means 5 FJD instead of 6... The bottled water was four times as expensive as anywhere else in Fiji, a ridiculous price, but it's really nowhere else to go buy it, I recommend buying water on your way to the hotel and store in the fridge in your bure. For breakfast you get a tiny glass of juice, no refill...

On the day we were to leave there was some confusion regarding our pick-up-time as we and another couple were on the same flight, same travel agency, but had different pick-up-times. Of course the hotel would not place a call to confirm our pick-up-time, that would cost us dearly, so we ended up using our cell phone as the phone boot in the hotel was out of order. We also asked for information about the airport departure tax but they did not know and if they should find out we would have to pay for their call?!!

Late check-out was also incredibly expensive even though they had only one occupied bure that day!

It is really a shame that such a nice hotel is ruined by silly management! But I will not recommend this hotel to anyone, go elsewhere and get the real Fiji-experience! I strongly recommend Captain Cook Sailing Safari. We will also recommend our travel agency in Norway to remove this hotel from their booking recommendations.

P.S. We were also honeymooners and entitled to a bottle of bubbly according to the voucher, sadly we had to ask for this ourself which is a lot less charming than being given it voluntarily from the hotel staff...

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank enerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2008

We've just come back from an extremely relaxing two weeks at Tambua Sands. The resort did everything is promised, and more besides. The beachfront bures are right infront of the beach and the sunsets were amazing. You can walk right into the lagoon and see loads of tropical fish in the coral even without snorkelling.
I would say that a week would be better than two weeks, and we were looking for a bit of variety towards the second week. Most people only seemed to stay less than a week and the menu seems to be on about a four day rotation.
As the last reviewer said (and I think they were there with us!) it's very quiet and not suitable for people wanting excitement. For us it was great to be away from tv, newspapers and internet (although there is access in the shop). It was a real treat to just eat, read, swim, look at fish and then eat again!
I was a bit concerned before going, seeing the reviews of the eating options, but things seem to have changed and you certainly do not need to eat three courses. Most days we just had one. Lunch options (burgers, toasties etc) were $12-20, evening mains were $15-30. (Fijian $). We had continental breakfast included and it was lovely, four different tropical fruits, toast and cereal.
My main concern was that there were only 8 sun loungers around the pool, and four shades. When we were there only about 6 of the 26 bure were filled, but at full occupancy I think it would be pretty cramped and certainly not enough room for everyone to have the lovely experience that we had, particularly as you can't really swim in the sea, as it's too shallow.
Another quibble, there was cheesy `elevator' music playing at all meals, live and recorded, it would have been much nicer without it, the same four songs were played over again each evening, and there is only so many times you want to hear a muzak version of `I'm dreaming of a white christmas' over your breakfast, certainly not every day for two weeks.
So, do go to Tambua Sands, but maybe not for two weeks! Oh, and take shoes you can go into the water with.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank carmucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2008

While immigrating to Australia, our family stopped over in Fiji for 5 nights at the Tambua Sands. From booking to depature, the people in the resort and the adjacent villages treat you like gold. Honest is the word to discribe them all. Our two children ages 8 and 10 months had fun. Our oldest enjoyed the pool, snorkeling and tours, while our 10 month old was treated like a king, being taken during dinner or when it looked like we needed a break. A big thank you to Tina who was awesome.

The resort is perfect if you are looking for a place to relax and enjoy the beach. What is does not have (t.v. phones, etc in the room) makes up for in other areas. Nothing starts the day off better than opening your eyes and looking out at the ocean and the sounds of the waves are perfect for putting you to sleep.

If you are looking for a party place, this is not it. Bring a good book for relaxing by the pool or at the beach and have a cold beverage of choice.

We would recommend this place to anyone and will return.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Canuck_in_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2008

Following our trip to Australia we had a 4 night stopover in Fiji. Our detached beachfront bure was lovely & had an outstanding view but it was very simple with no mod cons or freebies in the bathroom etc but it was clean (apart from an invasion of ant like bugs running around the door frame!) and nicely decorated.
The main problem we had was that the beach was a public one and there was nothing to stop locals walking into the resort so we were advised when we checked in not to leave anything on the patio and to put all valuables in the hotel safe which was very unnerving. We didn't feel safe at all at night as the security in the bure consisted of some rickety shutters and a tiny bolt on the front door. However they did have a member of staff that patrolled the resort along the beach but quite often we would see him relaxing in a chair asleep!
They have a blackboard in reception that boasts a full range of activities but no-one seemed to take part. It is definitely not the sort of place you go to if you want any sort of excitement-all there is to do is sit by the lovely pool and swim in the sea.
The staff were 1st class and very friendly although their relaxed natures took a little bit of getting used to!
The food was excellent, luckily, as there was nowhere else you could go unless you jumped into a taxi and go to another hotel.
Three or four days here would be a maximum time to stay, any longer and you will get bored.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaspergucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2007

My husband and i have just returned from a week long holiday at Tambua Sands. We had a wonderful time, the people that work at the resort made our stay awesome, they were all very friendly and always smiling and greeting us by name. Wame, who we now call our friend, was great, he is a asset to the resort, with his big smile and his knowledge of the area which he shared with us. Sisi was also great she made us laugh and have a good time.
The restaurant was nice, beautiful food, although a breakfast menu that you can look at would be good and also if a snack menu was available that would make it better.
Our room was nice it was cleaned daily and it had all you need for a relaxing stay.
Our favourite part of the whole resort would be the people they make you feel so welcome and they keep you smiling.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank KiwiGirlNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews