We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveler rating
282
175
69
34
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
282
175
69
34
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mango beachfront bure mosquito net outdoor shower coral coast other guests fish feeding island trip kava ceremony daily activities local village table tennis different activities staff were amazing ceiling fan food and drinks vinaka vakalevu
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 589 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2019

I stayed here for 4 nights in a beachfront bure.

The resort needs a lot of tlc to bring it upto speed. the bure's are dimly lit and the washbasin and toilet seem ancient. The bed are pillows are not the most comfortable. The fan on top speed was still pretty slow.
Many of the waterfront seating areas haven't been cleaned/cared for in a while as they were covered with bird poo and dirt. The pool table is torn and tattered, cue's dont have tips. I saw a ping pong table which looked derelict too.

The mens washroom by the dining hall had a leaking soap dispenser so a bright pink liquid would constantly stain the basin. The urinals were all stained and fairly dirty.

Hopefully, management looks into this and turns this around as this place has so much potential.

The good thing about the resort is that the staff are very enthusiastic and they have different activities planned everyday which makes it fun but you need to get involved in it. The food was pretty good too and all their fish was very fresh which was great.

Not sure if i would stay again as there were a few other higher end accommodation in the area for the same price with better amenities.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank t0pi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayResortFiji, General Manager at Mango Bay Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you t0pi86, We will take into account your review and points, and we are already beginning to rectify some of these small and easily mendable issues. Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019 via mobile

This was our third stay at Mango Bay Resort Fiji. We absolutely love this place and the friendly staff really make you feel welcomed and relaxed. The place is really clean and quiet.

The restaurant over looks a lovely children friendly swimming pool and beach where snorkelling is a must!

The fresh seafood in the restaurant was amazing. We ate Kokoda everyday! We felt that some of the food and drinks were a little over priced (resort prices) but still delicious. Make the most of the happy hours.

The only issues that we had was that our room leaked a lot when it rained causing the bed to get soaked and there were $150 of charges that did not belong to us when we paid our bill but the staff were happy to fix the bill for us. Unfortunately paid extra to be able to pay on arrival (twice the price) but the money was still deducted on day of booking. Have messaged about this and heard nothing back.

Overall we love the place so will most certainly be back!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank ajstewartnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayResortFiji, General Manager at Mango Bay Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Bula ajstewartnz, Thank you for your review and honesty regarding the issue. As you remember the weather was against everyone during your stay. We are in the process at the moment of refurbishing all of our roofs in order to try to prevent the weather winning next time. Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019

this place has no wifi, bad service, was flooded. rooms were small, dim lightings. the water was brown no matter how long we ran it for, the shower knob fell off. the security guard was curt and rude, really bad service. there are no umbrellas in the room and when it rains, there is nothing to do. there are also no shelters from the reception to the bures, you are expected to walk in the rain. when we drove to the bure, we were told we were not able to park out there even though there were other cars there.
this is a really terrible place. i have been here all of 10 minutes and have already been looking for another place to move out to immediately. i highly do not recommend. this place is not only 1 star, its not terrible. its utterly horrendous and i would not recommend AT ALL. really bad service and really bad resort in general. 0/10

Room tip: no good rooms. very bad, do not pick this place.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jalene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayResortFiji, General Manager at Mango Bay Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jalene T, We are very sorry to hear about your negative experience, and I apologise for the rude security staff member. It should also be noted that in your review you forgot to mention the one thing out of our control - Mother Nature and the weather. During your visit in April, we experienced 3 Low Pressure systems, and extreme flooding not just at our resort but the entire Coral Coast and Viti Levu. Queens Road was flooded, villages were flooded. We tried try to do our best in this situation but sometimes we can not control everything. Again, we are sorry that you had a terrible experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019

We stayed at this resort for 2 nights last week/ What a hidden hideaway. The staff are all friendly, helpful and 'real Fijians". The meals were amazing and fresh. The accomodation is amazing and the outdoor shower is a must do experience.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank wally04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayResortFiji, General Manager at Mango Bay Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you wally04, we are glad that you had a great stay and enjoyed the Fijian Hospitality that we try to offer everyone. Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

Highly recommended place.
Stayed for 5 nights and
We came back after a week in 3 different places. Really missed Mango the dog and the friendly staff.
I love how pretty it is and the facillties are awesome.
You can take a free kayak and go to a lonely beach, clime a coconut tree. Or snorkel.
The food is good and the activities every night were fun.
Its perfect for couples or families but its also great for solo travellers since you wont feel alone there. The staff will make you feel like home.
And that's why we came back.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayResortFiji, General Manager at Mango Bay Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Vinaka Jenny M, thank you for the kind words and the return visit. You will always be welcome back to see your Fiji Family. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews