We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveler rating
282
175
69
34
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
282
175
69
34
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mango beachfront bure mosquito net outdoor shower coral coast other guests fish feeding island trip kava ceremony daily activities local village fun activities table tennis different activities staff were amazing ceiling fan food and drinks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 589 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2018 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the staff were amazing, unfortunately we were awoken by a disgustingly violent argument at 3am from neighboring room. Disappointed to learn that it was the resort owner...

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
6  Thank Voyager773842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayResortFiji, General Manager at Mango Bay Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2019

Thank you for the review and our apologies for the events that awoke you during the night. This has been raised and dealt with accordingly and should not be any issue in the future.
The owner wishes to personally apologise for this incident.
Thank you for the beautiful words regarding the staff which are always aiming to be as helpful and friendly as they can. Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2018 via mobile

We tried Mango Bay for 2 nights in Jun18 and our family of four (2 kids 10 and 12) loved it ! The location was beautiful with soft 'carpet' grassed lawns rolling onto a lovely beach which was was protected from the winds due to the bay location. The staff were very friendly and all you had to do was ask if there was anything you needed. There is a nice well maintained pool overlooking the beach. We enjoyed relaxing, collecting and husking coconuts, swimming, using the beachfront swing, playing ping pong, trying the results of the cooking class, etc. Plenty to do. Food was nice with a reasonable variety, breakfast included was very simple being toast, cereal, coffee tea and a couple types of fresh cut local fruit, but you could pay for eggs etc. We had 2 beachfront bures which had outdoor bathrooms. Bures are very simple but utterly charming, a little run down e.g. mosquito nets had tears in them, no air con, very hard beds, etc, however the price reflects this and is good value. Mango Bay had plenty of room and we enjoyed the space and absence of packed rooms full of screaming toddlers and babies, which we experienced at Denaru. The bill on checkout itemized every dish and drink ordered which made reviewing it a breeze, well done Mango, the larger resorts could learn a thing or two from you! Staying here was more like what we thought the 'real Fiji' would be like (we stayed at a Denaru resort after this, which we also enjoyed, but it was a little like staying in Legoland). We would stay here again in a heartbeat if they upgraded the rooms with air con in the future. We had a fantastic time, thank you Mango Bay !!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayResortFiji, General Manager at Mango Bay Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2019

Vinaka Jane S. We are glad that we could provide a more authentic and peaceful holiday to Fiji for your family. Charming, Friendly staff, good value, Peaceful, Fun sums this place up in a very honest and warm way. Thank you from all of our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful resort, Australian TV show bachelor/bachelorette use this site for shooting. But unfortunately maybe due to local popularity this resort is not very safe. Someone broke into our Bure through the roof and stole stuff from our luggage. He was still in the room when we walked in, he panicked and ran through the back door and jumped the fence around the Bure. We checked out as soon as possible and organised refunds though our booking agents. This resort is not investing enough on security, there’s only one security guard, it’s impossible for him to cover everything. Hotel manger blamed the local village nearby for this incident. We also had police involved, they came onsite to have a quick look, there’s nothing they could do to recover anything. This whole incident was very unfortunate, we wasted so much time dealing with these issues. It was very painful to look for a new room very last minute. Too much unnecessary stress during a holiday. Unfortunately can’t recommend this resort at all. Pay little bit more and stay somewhere safe.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
6  Thank AshH124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayResortFiji, General Manager at Mango Bay Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2019

Bula Ash H, thank you for your review and we are sorry that this incident occurred during your stay. We have countered these issues by employing more security and also by upgrading and investing in new secure electronic locks for all Bure and Villa doors. We are now doing everything we can to prevent these occurrences. Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018

A beautiful rustic, chilled out, resort, friendly staff and sunsets to die for.
Not for those who want package holidays, rooms are nice, the beach Bures are are stunning, no TVs ... perfect. That said there’s a huge screen at the beach bar for watching the internationals ... cold beer mandatory
If you’re into a bit of they cater for that too, I have witnessed some awesome catches being brought ashore, albeit I caught nothing .
Going back v soon.

Room tip: The beach bures are the best that said the garden bures rate too.
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank JohnTPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayResortFiji, General Manager at Mango Bay Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2019

Vinaka johnTPW
I think these words sum up what guests can expect from Mango Bay Resort - "A beautiful rustic, chilled out, resort, friendly staff and sunsets to die for. Not for those who want package holidays, rooms are nice, the beach Bures are are stunning, no TVs ... perfect."
Although we do also offer packages for those interested.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

We got a great deal on Expedia, and stayed 3 nights in a bure on the beachfront.
Basic rooms with outdoor shower.
We had a lovely time as it wasn’t that busy, very quiet and relaxing, great snorkelling, friendly staff, lovely meals and beautiful sunsets.
Only negatives were the fly wire over the gaps in roof were torn and a few wasps got into the room.
No internet in room, there is a little shelter you can go to but I kind of liked that.

We’ll stay here again next time.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoBayResortFiji, General Manager at Mango Bay Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2019

Vinaka Dan S, thank you for the review and our apologies for the wasps wanting to join your short holiday. We will book them into a different room for your next stay. In regards to the WiFi we do not have this in rooms, but it is available in the public areas and reception. Moce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews