We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there for the staff and then explore other islands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Sigatoka
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Let me start by saying that Mango Bay has an amazing staff. If it weren't for them, we wouldn't have enjoyed our stay nearly as much and probably would have left. We had so much fun with them and they made Mango Bay a much better place to stay and our trip to Fiji much more memorable. Joe and Illy were AMAZING and we wish that they were part of our daily lives!

After a couple of days there, we felt a little trapped/stranded and left for a couple of days. Those days gone made us realize that Mango Bay really is a great place and we returned. Most places in Fiji are fairly secluded which we didn't realize when we decided to leave MB. The amount of people staying at MB really affect your experience there. When there were more people, we had a better experience because there were more people to do activities and you weren't stuck with the same small group of people all the time.

This definitely can become a party resort in a fun not too over the top way. I wouldn't take kids here. The other guests wouldn't appreciate it too much if you did since most are fairly young and ready to have a good time. We stayed in a bure and loved it. What we didn't love is that it was closest to the bar/restaurant/blaring music (Bura 7) so it was a bit annoying especially when the music played until 2-3am. Try to stay in one farthest from the restaurant.

The one thing that irked us is that the water sports were not run well. We tried to go fishing only to be told about 11 pm the night before that there weren't enough people to go and we were offered no alternative. The rest of the trip, the boat was rented out by the same group for fishing and we never got to go out. The owner is in charge of this and he was often hard to track down and not very accommodating.

The biggest complaint that I have is that their liquor selection is pretty terrible. They only had the most bottom shelf of bottom shelf liquor to sell. For beer, they had Fiji Bitter and Gold and Heineken. Their rum was good(local) if you like rum. I like to drink, but I'm not going to drink just anything that gets me drunk as a lot of their clientele did. I would recommend that you buy your own liquor (especially vodka, whiskey, tequila) in duty free if you plan to drink good liquor while you're there.

I would definitely recommend Mango Bay to people going to Fiji. I would also recommend that they travel to other islands. The driver we hired through MB was great and was basically a tour guide after he picked us up from the airport. MB can help arrange transfers around the island. One word of advice: If you go, DO NOT go on a horseback ride. The horses are not in good shape. It definitely will disappoint.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mc2283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 511 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed in the beach front bure.
The bures are very traditional Fijian & the view from your room of the white sandy beach & crystal blue water is amazing.
The bure itself is only very basic but it's still very cosy & the out door shower is an amazing experience.
The staff are amazing & so so friendly. They know each guest by name & go out of their way to wish you good morning or 'Bula' every time they see you.
Each day they offer activities & visits to the local villages, rainforest walks, islands boat day trips & much more!!!
The food is great(ok it's a set menu each lunch & dinner) but you have at least 10 + options on the dinner menu plus the nightly specials. All food is fresh & tastes great.
If you plan on doing any activities off the resort they offer transfer to & from the resort.
We will defintantly being coming back to Mango Bay Resort my partner & I just loved the entire trip & would recommend checking this place out.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Crunchie1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed here for three nights and it was our first taste of resort stay Fiji style. We had a beautiful bure down near the ocean front with a verandah and outside shower at the back set in beautiful gardens. The beds were comfy and the gardens beautiful and well maintained. The restaurant is excellent and the bar was pretty livelt whilst we were there. Snorkelling is free and whilst limited killed an afternoon very pleasantly and there is the potential to arrange plenty of other activities e.g. my wife went horse riding. However, and this is the one fault, the list of activities on offer was full and enticing, but very few actually seemed to take place. I don't doubt if we'd asked the friendly staff they would have done something, but it was a resort operating strictly on Fiji time for almost everything!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

i spent just under a month at Mango. i went alone from the uk and everyone there made me feel so welcome. it become like a second home to me. i meet lots of friends at mango and really enjoyed my time there. i done my diving certifactions there.. amazing sites underwater. it was absolute paradise there. would love to return every year!! by far my best holiday ever! i stayed in the dorms. it was basic but very clean and was good to meet new people that way. food was great and they had a wide selection on alcohol.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steph139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

beautiful place with wonderful staff who are so helpful and nice, and put a smile on your face. 8 bed dorms room lovely an worth extra money way more comfortable than the 16 bed dorms and 8 bed dorms have personal lights so you can read :). massage lady is amazing and they are quite cheap compared to australia. cocktails yum and food quite nice. free activities are really good and excursions worth going on.

Room Tip: choose 8 bed dorms over bunkbed , the mattress's more comfy as well as they have private lights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emma_ruby_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Me and my partner loved our time here in Mango Bay. We stayed in the 16 Bed dorm room and the beds were great and couldn't of asked for more for what we had paid. Everyday there is a board with a guideline of activities and thing to do during the day with the activity guys... Jerry (activity guy) made our stay amazing, he even took us on a kayak to a beach full of coconut trees and climbed one! Food is great and the waiters were always there making sure everything is ok. If i revisit Fiji, i would definitely come back here!!!

Room Tip: Book direct with the resort, they have deals! Phone first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbobgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Mango Bay resort is an absolute must stay. The accomdations range from hostel sytle bunks of 16 beds and 8 beds to ocean view bungalos. The communial area has a little restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch, and diner with their own bar. The food is great, everything is fresh. The staff are all remarkable, their smiles and upbeat energy are infectious. What makes this resort stand apart from others is they have a schedule listed each day of activities, partake in as many or as little as you wish. From making of coconut jewlery, kava ceremonies, football to rugby. By the end of your stay you'll know everyone staying at the resort. The reef right out front is great for snorkeling, an absolute gem this place is.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cburg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
18.4 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
1,030 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,819 reviews
11 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#3 of 10 in Sigatoka
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Sigatoka
1,159 reviews
42 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,421 reviews
16 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort Fiji

Address: Off Queens Highway Namatakula, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
#7 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range: $64 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mango Bay Resort Fiji 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush… Balmy… Unspoiled…. These are just a few of the idyllic thoughts that will cross your mind the moment you arrive at Tadrawai ('Dreamwater') Valley, home to the beautiful Mango Bay Resort. Prepare yourself for blissful relaxation and rejuvenation of spirit while nestled among 12 lush acres adorned with a rainbow of tropical colours; where greens, blues, aquamarines and white (sands) blend into a tranquil cocktail of natural harmony. It's what you expected and exactly what you deserve, a Fiji experience you will both savour and treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mango Bay Resort Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Sigatoka
Mango Bay Sigatoka
Mango Bay Resort Fiji Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing