We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD FOOD,BAD SERVICE”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Koko's Bar - CLOSED

Koko's Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Swansea, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BAD FOOD,BAD SERVICE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

A group of 28 went to koko bar as a friend recommended, we were so displeased with the service and the food and drinks with no ice, to top off the night after waiting two and a half hours for our food it came out and the chichen was off, so bad luckly I did not ,could not eat it, they did say sorry and gave me a drink( no ice) but not good enough I could have been very ill if i had of eaten it. BAD NEWS

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TEEREES1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolla T, Owner at Koko's Bar, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Bula TEEREES1

Thank you for sharing your views both on Trip Advisor and on our Facebook page.

Bula Teena, obviously we apologise to you for the problems your group faced as this is not what we aim to do in the provision of a service.
while not trying to excuse the problems, it should be noted that we had a booking for a group of 20 that same night which was scheduled for 7pm. At 6pm, your larger group arrived, when asked if they had made a booking or were part of the same 7pm booking, the response was "that must be us". Obviously through some confusion and misunderstandings on both sides it was thought that this was the same booking.

As you can imagine a small eatery of our size has limitations to the number of meals it can produce at any certain time. We apologise for the delays you encountered and sincerely apologise for the issues you have raised.

According to the meal dockets, the orders for meals were made at 6:45pm, with the meals being unnacceptably late which we acknowledge, but this came about due to the chefs in the kitchen having prepared for the booking of 20, but instead being faced with supplying meals to 60 people (majority of these being your group).

As a new business we are constantly striving to improve and fix problems to ensure our customers have the best possible service. We welcome all comments both negative and positive as a means to improve.

We have spoken with the team about ensuring orders are taken and provided in an efficient manner and also the need to ensure bookings made are not confused with other customers.

We understand that this does not fix the problem which occurred on Monday night, but we hope it goes some way to explaining the situation behind the scenes which caused these problems.


Vinaka vakalevu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    57
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sigatoka, Fiji
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“KOKO CAFE ON KOROTOGO BAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a great venue for the locals and tourists alike. Its a breezy semi- open venue overlooking the ocean. Its hard to beat with a cold beer,feet up on the veranda and watching the sun going down while your pizza is being made. Very good pizza every evening except Tuesday.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Sigatokatown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We dropped in for lunch one day after walking past a couple of times. Diners have a view out past the palm trees to the sea, just across the road. We really enjoyed the meals as they were delicious and pretty inexpensive and the service was warm and friendly. Recommended!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank South37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on Viti Levu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were all over the island from Port Denarau to the Coral Coast and Koko's was the best restaurant by far. We must have eaten there at least a half a dozen times over the course of the week, breakfast, lunch and dinner.

It is located on what is called the Sunset Strip, this little quaint beach front road on the Coral Coast not too far from the Outrigger.

The service was very good, quick and friendly and the food was awesome. We had grilled mahi, curries and they have a great monster typical Australian breakfast.

Sit on the patio where there are big wooden tables, or you can sit in a couple of the lounge chairs and put your feet up on the rail and watch the ocean.

And if you are staying in the area, they will even come pick you up and then drop you back off. Huge benefit especially if you're planning on having a few cocktails.

Would highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlohaShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Well worth the walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Of the 'sunset strip' of bars and restaurants by the beach near the famed Outrigger, this is the farthest from the resort. Despite the slightly longer walk, it was the unanimous favourite among my group of travel buddies. Long picnic-style tables on a large outdoor deck were perfect for hours of drinking beer, playing cards and shamelessly ordering meal after meal the way that's really only excusable on holidays. 

The service here consistently met the famously friendly Fijian standards, but there was a refreshing absence of 'Fiji time' - that is, food and drinks arrived promptly after they were ordered. The prices were far cheaper than those at the resort, and represented better value than those at many of the nearby venues. The menu, though clearly designed for Western tourists' tastes, was varied and offered a few Fijian twists, and the food was consistently very good.

Although the nearby Outrigger was chock-a-block, we found we often had Koko's to ourselves, particularly when we dined here during the day. This is a place that seems to be a surprisingly well-kept secret. It's one that's worth discovering.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank samdukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koko's Bar also viewed

Sigatoka, Coral Coast
Sigatoka, Coral Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing