We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Considerations when visiting Sigatoka Sand Dunes”

Sigatoka Sand Dunes National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$117.15*
and up
Full-Day Coral Coast Tour
Ranked #3 of 25 things to do in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sculptured through the workings of wind, water and vegetation, the Sigatoka Sand Dunes stand out as one of Fiji's most unique wonders. In 1989, 390 acres of the Sigatoka Sand Dunes was established as Fiji's first National Park- The Sigatoka Sand Dunes National Park. A key contributor to its protection is the archaeological treasures buried beneath the dune sands. These artefacts have contributed to the history of man's first arrival in Fiji. Today, evidence of this past continue to be unearthed by the wind. The Park is home to a unique Dune forest which is now home to a myriad of wildlife. Some notable inhabitants of this forest include the Fijian Swallow tail Butterfly, the fruit bats, the Goshawks, the giant stick insects and cryptic Pacific Boa. The National Park is a Fijian heritage, rich in both natural and cultural attributes.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Considerations when visiting Sigatoka Sand Dunes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just returned from a recent visit to the sand dunes and felt I needed to update potential visitors with the following:

1) Wear covered shoes when visiting the dunes, there's a fair bit to walk upslope in a forested area
2) Not sure if the place suits families with toddlers as the place cannot accommodate prams and I also noted leeches on the ground

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank thambi117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigatoka Sand D, Manager at Sigatoka Sand Dunes National Park, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Good considerations have been offered by this reviewer.

The only comment we have to make is that our National Park or Fiji does not have leeches. The 'leech' that the reviewer saw is our common ground slug.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    125
    36
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had difficulty finding the entrance and drove back and forth on the Queens Highway several times before stopping and asking for directions. The lady with whom we spoke said there was a sign and the entrance was next to a rubbish tip. Well indeed we had seen a rubbish tip several times as we drove back and forth; we turned around and immediatley after the rubbish tip was a drive way into the National Park but no sign! The rangers at the Visitor Center advised us that it blew down during a storm in December! How long is it going to take to get it back up?

We paid the F$10.00 per person entrance fee and the rangers described and showed us on a map the walks you can take; we signed our names and the time we were departing and elected to take the shorter walk. There are some hills but the climb is an easy one and the view from the top is superb. The varying vegetation was interesting and the driftwood cluttered beach was quite a contrast.

We spent two and a half hours doing this walk; we made many stops to enjoy the vegetation and scenery and collected shells on the beach. Upon our return to the Visitor Center, we signed in.

This was a fascinating and interesting morning.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank azulferro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sand and Rainforest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We ended up at the Sand Dunes as part of our village tour. A guide took us up to the dunes and told us about the history of the place, such as the planting of the forest to protect the area and the types of tree they used and why. Not too interesting for the kids as it's a long walk and on our day the sun was particularly brutal. Walking back through the rainforest was quite pleasant.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RockGod70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sand Dunes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

The guide was a student and volunteer and provided lots of information; and answered all my questions. The heat and humidity was heavy. Best to do this in the early morning.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Antonietta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
Level Contributor
342 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a guided tour and we chose to do the longer hike. The information was interesting. We went from the grassy area overlook to the sand dunes (which were hard to climb) and then walked beside the ocean. It lasted about 2.5 hours.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank gardeningteacher8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sigatoka Sand Dunes National Park also viewed

 
Pacific Harbour, Coral Coast
 

Been to Sigatoka Sand Dunes National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing