We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good historic site, off the beaten track”
Review of Tavuni Hill Fort

Tavuni Hill Fort
Ranked #13 of 27 things to do in Sigatoka
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tour this restored ancient fort where you'll learn about pre-colonial Fiji life and enjoy great views from two lookout points.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good historic site, off the beaten track”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Tavuni Hill Fort is a historic site where cannibalism took place. The road leading to the fort is 5km inland adjacent to the Sigatoka River, just follow the signs. The guide (F$12 each) was knowledgeable about the area and also explained the vegetation in the area which made it more interesting as the native Fijians are also great herbalists and traditionally live off the land. The views are also great from the fort. I can't remember if they sold refreshments (as in cold drinks) as you will need something to cool off with after the walk... we had some chilled pineapple pieces with us which was very welcoming after the walk.

For the entire hour we were there, we had the place to ourselves so the guide could take her time (and some of us in the group). This historic site gets very little publicity and little funding so see it now before its becomes popular as an eco site.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon_B_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    12
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting History”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very knowledgeable local guide from nearby village. Did not realise that cannibalism was so common pre european.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“What a view.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Again, the visitor center staff was very helpful and offered to take us on a guided tour of the property and give us the historical background of the Fort. Very informative and interest to learn about how Tonga had influence over this area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing History”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I visited last year after hiring a driver from Port Villa. I couldn't find this site or the Sigatoka National Park on any tour - but they were a highlight of my trip to Fiji. The guide was knowledgable and clearly very proud of his people's history. He made all the stories interesting while still allowing me to take in. The incredible view from the top of the hill. I would recommend. A day trip to goon the walks in both these places amazing archaeological sites!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinksy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting glimpse of history.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Did self-guided walk, beautiful views of Sigatoka River and snapshots of life in the past. The walks around the fort might be difficult for those with walking difficulties and are not suitable for young children. Suitable footwear a must. Well worth visiting to experience another aspect of Fijian culture.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavuni Hill Fort also viewed

 
Sigatoka, Coral Coast
 

Been to Tavuni Hill Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing