We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful idyllic location, friendly staff, but not tranquil”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“beautiful idyllic location, friendly staff, but not tranquil”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

We've just returned from our annual family trip, this time we wanted an all inclusive package, which this certainly was, booked through "Specialist Holidays" it was very easy and efficient. Kids are 11, 8 and 5 years.

The location is unbeatable - surf break, day spa, beach, reef and kids club.

Food was really good, kids meals that were in the inclusive package were standard fare, plenty of variety. Breakfasts were great. Bar and restaurant service was very slow at peak times, but staff were always friendly and very accomodating.

Kids club had good activities, but could have benefited from some "out of sun" activities during the hottest part of the day. Supervision probably not as good as it could have been, but once again, staff so friendly.

We did the Sigatoka river tour and visited a village, highly recommend this, one of the highlights.

The pool area was great, kids loved the slide (watch out - it goes fast and we had a split lip on the first go, but once kids learnt to ride it properly they wouldn't get off it). You have to compete for umbrellas, and we often found that people had put their towels on the recliners under the umbrellas to "bags" them by 0730hrs. They need some more. Aqua aerobics was fun as was the volleyball.

The snorkelling, diving and surfing was excellent. Watersports included in cost (not diving), and kayaking great too. Most importantly, the day spa.......I had two excellent treatments, the therapist I had gave such a good massage, one of the best I've ever had.

The local village encourages people to visit their church service, which we did, didn't understand a word of course, but the singing was absolutely amazing. Take some money to put in the giving plate. We also took books and pencils etc to give to the kids.

The size of the 2 bedroom bures is excellent (with lounge area), and it is nice that there is no highrise but there are only 4 and the bathrooms are pretty old - taps dripping and leaking, but functional. Also, they are close to the bar, which sadly has a VERY loud disco from 10pm to 1am - this pretty much ruined the tranquillity of the location and meant we had broken sleep, despite earplugs. The staff did what they could to have it turned down and were very sympathetic. The constant music by the poolside also gets rather tiresome, but if loud music doesn't bother you, then it won't be a problem.

So in summary, location and scenery, picture perfect, really truly beautiful, staff so friendly and helpful, if you get a bure away from the bar, perfect, but if close, the noise is really intrusive.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    459
    173
    47
    37
See reviews for
522
556
33
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

We stayed in the Rydges for 10 days in August 2010 as part of our honeymoon and we both loved it. We spent the 10 days snorkelling, relaxing and exploring.
The location is truly stunning, and the bures are lovely little places. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a little ant-problem in our room to begin with, but you can quickly sort that out by putting your rubbish outside on the terrace rather than anywhere in your room (hanging the rubbish up didn’t help either, they got everywhere!). Can’t blame the hotel for that really though.
The only thing we missed was a CD player in our room which we requested at reception, but they were unable to provide us with. However, one staff member said she would check out prices in Sigatoka for us and then accompanied us into town at the end of her shift to purchase a basic CD player for 99 FJD to make sure we get the price for locals rather than tourists.
Snorkelling is fantastic (you can borrow equipment at the dive shop in the hotel for free), even though snorkelling is only possible at high tide. However, we found that if you wander up the beach at low tide to the left you can snorkel further up where the little river comes in as it's much deeper there. My husband also did some scuba diving at the Rydges and loved it.
Food in the hotel was definitely very good, I liked their bar menu with snack items (Fajitas, Club Sandwiches, etc) rather than huge meals in the evening. The only thing which did not impress us was the lovo meal; we've had better ones at other places. Also, we ventured to Raj's (very tacky) curry house in Sigatoka which had been recommended to us by all the local as THE place to eat and we were thoroughly disappointed. Their curries were not half as tasty as you get them in curry houses in London and not even very cheap. This made us appreciate hotel food even more. To our knowledge, there are no places in walking distance of the hotel where you can eat.
We also visited the Outrigger on the Lagoon one evening and found their food incredibly pricey. However, on their beach to the right there is a little cafe which has inexpensive and reasonable food and the Kokoda was absolutely mindblowingly delicious and 7 FJD! Furthermore, the Outrigger is a huge resort in comparison and it was very busy and full of families. With the Hideway, the clue is the name and it's true.
If you want to go to Sigatoka then don't take a taxi, but speak to the reception staff and tell them you want to take the bus which is 2 FJD per person. They'll go out with you and make sure you get on a minibus. We often went to Sigatoka for shopping and there is a lot of aggressive selling going on, so be prepared to be bamboozled. But the street food is cheap and tasty and we stocked up on drinks and water at the supermarket.
Chat with the taxi drivers, take their cards and negotiate with them rather than hotel reception, they will often give you a better price.
A word of warning: Fiji is quite a poor country and if you leave stuff around it will be nicked (even things like shoes being left on the beach for 15 minutes as in our case). But you can't blame them for it.
However, the locals are very friendly and everyone we chatted to invited us for dinner and we once accepted. It was quite an experience eating with a Fijian family in their shacks, playing with their children and animals, drinking Kava with the men and chatting. Their lives are so different from ours and it’s refreshing to hear about life from their point of view. They were all very sweet and were ready to share everything they have with you. Just make sure you bring Kava roots from the market for dad and chocolate for the kids.

We would also highly recommend two trips:
1. Get a taxi to the Biausevu waterfalls, they'll take you up to the village (lovely drive) and a village guide will take you on the 30min walk to the falls (12 FJD per person). With a bit of luck, you'll have the whole place to yourself as we did (chances are better in the afternoon). Also, give your guide some extra money, our guide was 11 years old and told us he gets 2 dollars of the 12 we paid which he needs for school books. On your way back, stop at Felicity's restaurant which is about half-way and watch the sunset from their terrace - absolutely stunning!
2. We took a 3 day cruise with Blue Lagoon Cruises from Lautoka and it was the best experience ever! What a great way to visit the Yasawas. It was not expensive and definitely worth it, the beaches are too good to be true! Check it out!
We wanted to rent a car and get around a bit, but we didn't as the Fijian style of driving is criminal. So we took taxis or buses to everywhere which was fine.
All in all, we loved the Hideaway and we loved Fiji and we would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 123marei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

We have just returned from our honeymoon which was with our children aged 7 and 6 months. We got there late at night and found that our accomodation was right next to the disco and bar area. After contacting reception that was rectified and we then found ourselves right up the other end of the hotel.
The staff were really helpful and friendly and just adored our little girl. BUT dont rely on them for your wake up call especially if your leaving Fiji really early in the morning and set your alarm clock instead, as that wake up call never comes. And you will probably have to ring for the porter to come and collect your bags.
Our son loved the pool and was more than happy to hang out there all day.
We had a good holiday but wont be going back there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarbear12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed at the hidaeaway for acouple of days when travelling aruond Fiji and we had so much fun, the staff were very entertaining and enjoyed playing volley ball and doing the sun dance :) thanks for adding to our great holiday

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

I've spent five days of my honeymoon in early october 2010, choosen via TripAdvisor we've found a very relaxing & beautiful location. Staff's good, good rooms, very good service and availability, food with little variety but verygood and not expensive.. appreciated! I'd suggest to close the rejuvenation process of some bures (bungalows), the only point I can make.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hydroisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed at the resort with our 16 and 13 year old children in July 2010. We had an amazing time. Fantastic location. Family orientated, relaxed atmosphere. Incredible staff interaction (more like we were one big family.) We ALL cried when we left! The resort is casual and not posh; which we like. The villas are great. There are amazing staff employed to interact and 'play' with the older kids(and adults!) all day. Our children had an absolute ball and made many friends whom they are still in contact with. It is much nicer than staying in a hotel, it feels more Fijian but you still have all the comforts and room service etc. Nice food....good value. We can't wait to go back. N.B: make sure you ask for a villa well away from the main area because of the music at night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacsberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

We have just returned from a fantastic 8 days at the Hideaway. We travelled with two of our sons aged 10 and 12 (our eldest, 14 was away on a school trip) and we all just loved it, and want to return with our eldest next year as we know he would enjoy it too. Highlights for us were - lovely friendly staff, delicious breakfast with everything you could want (we hardly ate lunch) and huge selection for dinner, the waterslide and great pool for the boys, fun aqua aerobics every morning (great music) with the Activities guys and then pool volleyball, snorkelling right off the beach, excellent scuba diving nearby also, wonderful relaxing massage in stunning beach pavillion, fun happy hour with a great quiz each night suiting all ages, pool tables and table tennis table....I could go on. Our kids went to kids club twice, quite relaxed but they seemed to enjoy it, and also went to supervised movie at night so my husband and I could enjoy our dinner. The cultural entertainment each night was excellent (not at all cheesy), and we enjoyed the ambience created by the lovely guitar players.
The bure rooms were good, bathrooms need an upgrade (I noticed that some of the two bedroom villas have been upgraded) but this is a minor complaint cos how much time do you spend in the bathroom??!! We were lucky enough to go to a local rugby match which was a fantastic experience, and Rachel on the front desk organised the tickets and transport and looked after us at the game. We got the hotel to organise our transfers to/from the airport, and we had a great driver...and we found the 1.5 hour drive no problem as we got to see some of the countryside and villages.
If you are looking for a friendly, relaxed smaller sized resort to suit all ages, the Hideaway is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank queenkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
5.8 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
34.6 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.7 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
6.6 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
15.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa

Property: Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa
Address: Queens Road, Sigatoka, Viti Levu Box 233, Sigatoka, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#4 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
#5 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiji Hideaway Resort And Spa
Fiji Hideaway Hotel Sigatoka
Rydges Hideaway Hotel
Rydges Hideaway Sigatoka
Hideaway Resort Fiji
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing