We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good and some bad..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Some good and some bad..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Hideaway Resort.

First the good parts:
1. Efficient check in
2. Friendly staff
3. Fantastic rooms ...we had the Deluxe beachfront bure and it was one of the best rooms we
have stayed in.Apparently, it had been recently renovated and if the rest of the rooms are
brought unto this standard then the accommodation is definitely 4 star.
4. The gardens in front of our bure were beautifully maintained and were a joy to walk through.

Now, the bad parts:

1. The older area incorporating the pool and the restaurants is dated and tacky,with billboards
advertising their menu and neon lights flashing at night.This was not expected at such a resort.
2. The food generally was poor, except for the breakfast and the pizzas. The mud crab served to
us was undersized and should never have been taken from the ocean.
3. The tea making facility area should be separated from the cupboard area,as it is too cramped
and two persons cannot pass each other in that area on the way to the bathroom.
4. Watch out for your valuables! The safe provided in the room was not bolted down and it could
have been easily carried away by someone.
5. Make sure you double check your bills at checking out time...the bar had assigned someone
else's drinks bill totaling nearly $50/- to our room but my wife caught it in time!
6. Lastly, and I feel very strongly about this,there should be a minimal dress code in the dining
rooms. It was horrible to see hordes of singlet wearing,tattoed men with hairy armpits eating
next to you whilst you are dressed up for the meal.
K.S.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KSR153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    459
    173
    47
    37
See reviews for
522
556
33
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
QLD
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We recently travelled to the Hideaway with all of our family of 17 people. The group we travelled with were aged from 5 years to 58 years old. The shuttle bus ride from Nadi Airport to the Hideaway was around 1.5 to 2 hours later at night.
We arrived around 10pm due to delays at the airport, but once we got to the resort the staff serviced us a 2 course meal as part of our package as we were all quite tired and hungry at this stage. The service was always friendly at the resort, however, at lunch and dinner you should be prepared to wait on average 1 hour to get your food. A good tip is to order early if you want to get a meal as you are on Fiji time with the food service.
we stayed in the Frangipani Bure rooms and they were large and very clean with a king size bed and one single bed. This also included an indoor and a great outdoor shower. The room service was fantastic and the rooms were cleaned everyday. We asked for rooms away from the bar/entertainment area, so we were away from that noise. I would also suggest that if you don't like noise also ask to get a room away from the main highway as well, as there was a bit of traffic near the highway where our room was but there is a large fence dividing us. We did have a problem the air-conditioning not working but once we reported they replaced the unit immediately.
Our package included all meals,drinks and the in house spa treatments with a $500 voucher, I would strongly recommend this if you are looking at taking your family with children (old and young). The facials in the house spa are fantastic using their local beauty products.
The daily timetable was good for the first 3 days, but we got a little tired of the same timetable after that as we stayed 7 days and the daily timetable never changed.
I would recommend this place for a good family holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from entertainment area, but not close to the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Recently had our honeymoon at Fiji Hideaway and upgraded to a oceanfront bure for $300 AUD and it was great. I really wanted to sleep in a bed with net and the outdoor bath and shower was just beautiful.
The Fiji Hideaway while not five star is great for a friendly, relaxing, great food and actually feels like you are in Fiji not just anywhere else in a 5 star hotel in any city. My husband had lobster twice and mudcrab twice and was suitably impressed.

The coral reef while not the barrier reef contained interesting creatures to see while snorkelling more than once. This was our second trip to Fiji and we also stayed at the Radisson Blu this time for 3 nights, which was luxury but Hideaway was more our type of place.
The staff are local are lovely people. We met lots of repeat visitors to the Hideaway and we would like to go back as well.

Loved the shows every night put on by the staff, they certainly know how to have fun.
We enjoyed a massage in the spa. We had family with us and the kids had a great time. We didn't have to go anywhere else to see Fire Walking as they came to the Hideaway one night and a fire throwing show was provided free one night. The Church Choir on Sunday were gorgeous and we donated to help them get to Australia for a tour.

I would like to suggest some crisper linen as the sheets on our bed made it feel a little warm. Our air conditioner did struggle a little to keep the room cool. The housekeeping services were great.

We are hoping to go back to see some Rugby as Sigatoka is the Rugby town. Thank you for a nice honeymoon.

Room Tip: The rooms off the road and the oceanfront are the pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I have been to the Hideaway 2 times now and each time I have been given the best service offer-able. The staff are so friendly and service was amazing. The food was always cooked to perfection. The Staff at the bar were always up for a good chat, and service was always fast.
cant wait to be back in January 2014

Room Tip: the west rooms (Ocean rooms) were the best rooms, not as busy and with a perfect view. Both the Ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meghanmking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

The taxi from Airport took surprisingly long, about 1,5 hours. On arrival we were greeted warm heartedly by the staff and offered a drink. Check-in was efficient and the staff very helpful. We had a beachfront villa with a seaside view located towards the end of the resort. It was a quiet location with a nice veranda with views straight to the sea. The room was large and had basic furniture and amenities. No TV which was a great. The furniture was slightly outdated but nevertheless good enough.

The resort has lots of families and groups which seemingly mostly hang around the pool playing volley ball in the water or eating / drinking in the bar. There's some sort of organized program going on but failed to see anything interesting and the general style was catered towards the mass tourist. The pool is adequate but the pool area and restaurant is a bit worn out. The restaurant is really basic and the food quality was nothing special. The most annoying part is the music blasting at full volume every evening during dinner! We always tried to go for dinner after the evening show was over even though the music then starts blasting from the only bar right beside the restaurant. There's only one other option beside the beach but it's an even more worn down restaurant with a mix and match of tables and food. Don't understand why people fly all the way to a peaceful island and then knock themselves out with loud music and a boozing frenzy in the evening? Would think people would rather enjoy the peaceful atmosphere and great island views…

On the positive the staff are extremely friendly and have a great sense of humor. Lots of smiles and laughs. The resort has its own scuba diving center so it's really easy to go out scuba diving on the reef right in front of the resort. Snorkeling is also ok and free masks and fins are offered. There's also a charismatic small guitar group that plays nice tunes around the resort and came to our veranda every evening to play. Great guys!

Our check-out didn't work out as the porter failed to show up as agreed up in the early morning when it was pouring rain. Don't mind carrying luggage ourselves but would have appreciated an umbrella and some help with the luggage. Didn't get any apologies at the front desk and left the resort on a literally wet and disappointed feeling.

All in all, I would say that the location is worth 4 stars but the atmosphere around the pool and restaurant is somewhat cheap and unsophisticated. Probably great for families and groups wanting to booze and listen to disco music blasting in the night. A facelift and upgrade throughout the restaurant and pool areas would improve the experience. Good value for money though if you get an affordable price as well as extremely friendly staff.

Room Tip: As far away from the restaurant and pool if you want some quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helsinkiglobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colac, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Our family stayed at the fiji hideaway for 7 days and loved it. My husband and two kids aged 14 and 16. The people make the resort and the all inclusive was the way to go if you like to have a drink and eat heaps even if you don't I would still advise to do this. Snorkeling was fantastic we seen lots of different fish even lots of clown fish if you know where to go. Yes the resort is a good hour and half from the airport but if you only do it there and back and not head to port denaru again it doesn't matter to much. If I had my time again I wouldn't travel back to Port Denaru to do the island trip the snorkeling we did at the hideaway was just as good sure the coral wasn't but that didn't bother us. Meals were good and the egg man was always freindly and funny. If you have a good sense of humour and friendly outlook in life you will enjoy it here. Join in and have a great time its not hard. If more people had the outlook in life like the Fijian people the world would be a better place. Hello to Latte and Marle and everybody else, to many people to mention. We'll be back

Room Tip: We stayed in the Frangapani and was very happy your only 50 meters to the beach and ours still had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the fiji hideaway for 7 nights with some mixed feelings. Overall we enjoyed our stay but not sure if we would return for a number of reasons. Firstly, you must know that the resort is a minimum of 1.5hrs drive from the airport. It actually took us 2hrs. With 3 young kids (aged 10, 8 & 4) this seemed to take forever! We stayed in the frangipani bure which was large and comfortable. We really loved the outdoor shower/bath. Rooms were cleaned every day by lovely ladies. Location is lovely. Even when not in an ocean front room, no rooms are more than 500 metres from the ocean. Dinners proved a little difficult as kids ate separately to adults. Strict times applied to their meals which then meant they were bored when we were eating. I guess if your kids are older this would not be a problem, but with 5 years and under this was always stressful. Food was ok. Not the best, not the worst. Some nights better than others. Of course everything is on fiji time so expect to wait up to half an hour for your cocktails lol. Kids club was not much. Either a small room with tv and toys etc but bigger kids got bored here very quickly or the outside activities such as volley ball in which our 4 year could not be part of. Overall, the resort felt alittle outdated, but the staff were all really friendly.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey-11-74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
5.8 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,442 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
34.6 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.7 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
6.6 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
15.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa

Property: Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa
Address: Queens Road, Sigatoka, Viti Levu Box 233, Sigatoka, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#4 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#5 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiji Hideaway Resort And Spa
Fiji Hideaway Hotel Sigatoka
Rydges Hideaway Hotel
Rydges Hideaway Sigatoka
Hideaway Resort Fiji
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing