We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We checked in a day before our friend, into what was meant to be a ocean view room,but we where stuck behind another room with only partial ocean views and noisy crying kids all around.after complaining we were moved next to our friend into a nicer room which we should have been in the first place.
Our friend arrived the next day at 7am, she had also booked an ocean view room.As she arrived at 7am her room was not available,the staff said they would come and get her when it was ready.
NOBODY came looking for her all day!! She waited at the pool where she told them she would be, she inquired 4times to the staff if her room was ready she was told to wait as she is now on fiji time...We also waited with her as she got very burnt in the sun waiting.
Her luggage was being held in safe keeping until her room was ready.
At 3 pm we went to reception to ask if room was ready yet!! They said yes we have been looking for her,They lied ! No one came looking !! When the porter went to get her luggage it was GONE!
They had sent it back to the Airport with some other guests!!!!!
Our friend was now very burnt and has no luggage.not to mention very upset.
They found her luggage at the airport and said they will,send it back with the next driver at 9pm,So we demanded they send a taxi to get it straight away it finally it arrived back at 7 pm,So 12 hours later she gets her luggage only to find it had been tampered with a now the lock on the bag had to be broken into mby the resort staff and the bag lock will not work again ($450 bag mind you!)
The resort customer service lady Cilla,was extremely rude,she offered our friend 2 free dinners,which is very not much as the food is not that good and if you have to pay you would be disapointed and it is very expensive too.
I have traveled the world 32 countries and would not return to Fiji.

Room Tip: Ask for deluxe ocean front only all other room are old
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lisaguyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FijiHideaway, General Manager at Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Bula lisaguyler,
We are extremely sorry that, yes whatever your friends are claiming regarding lost of luggage and delay of check in has happened . Please note that delayed checkins are likely to happen during periods when we are running on 100% in occupancy but we ensure that all guests' rooms are ready by the checkin time which is 2pm.
The misplacement of the luggage which was then located later on to be intact. This incident which has happened for the first time. We will try all our best to see that this incident doesnot happend again and also see that the guest is given extra care during his or her stay. However it seems that your friends expectation for compensation was more than what the current resort policy is.
Please be mindful and be rest assured that this kind of incidents will not happen again. Once again lisaguyler, I would like to take this time to thank you and your friends for choosing Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa as your holiday destination and on the same token, we do apologise for what you and your friends have encounted during your stay which has spoiled your vacation in our beautiful island..
Thanking You,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    472
    184
    49
    37
See reviews for
542
577
33
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have just returned after our third time at Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa and had the most fabulous time again. Coming back here is like coming home to family. It really is our home away from home. It is a 1 1/2 hour drive from Nadi airport, however it is definitely worth the drive. All the staff make this holiday so special for our family.

We stay in a 2 bedroom bure on the ocean front and it is big enough for the 6 of us. The view straight from our bure was amazing, just beautiful.

You can do as much as you like or as little as you like at the resort. You can snorkel straight off from your room, which is fantastic as you don't want to be traveling by bus to snorkel. They resort supplies snorkeling gear, however we bring our own. They supply beach towels for everyone. We all love doing the sun dance at 12 noon pool side. There is water volleyball, aqua aerobics, beach volleyball around the pool. You can ride a horse on the beach. Have a massage at the resort or beside the resort. Have your hair braided. Go on reef, fishing and garden tours. There are many more activities to be done at Hideaway.

The all inclusive is the way to go with a full buffet breakfast, 2 course lunch and 2 course dinner, and basic beer, wine and spirits from 10am to 10pm. The food is fantastic and a lot of variety. They do offer a few smorgasboards each week, however you can still order from the main menu if you wish. There is the A-la-carte menu as well to choose from. There are the two restaurants you can eat at, the main one and the one beside the beach which is the Mongolian, Pizza and Pasta restaurant. There is now somewhere where you can buy snacks which is called the "Quick Bite". It has burgers and other tasty foods available at a very reasonable price. The cocktails are to die for, the amount of time and effort the staff put into making them is amazing. Take your camera to take photo's of them.

Each night at 6pm there is the torch lighting ceremony, beating of the drums and happy hour. 6:15pm there is games around the bar area, which is so much fun. 8:30pm there is a nightly show on the stage in the main restaurant. It is always entertaining and fun to watch.

The kids club is great, you have the two options, outdoor kids club and indoor kids club.

Our room was always cleaned and tidied everyday, with beds made. There is no cooking, no cleaning and that is a big thing for us to have a relaxing holiday.

For a family of 6 for us to travel overseas would cost a fortune, however with value for $$$'s we can receive from Hideaway makes it affordable for us to do so.

We love all the staff at Hideaway and all the activities and that makes us wanting to come back each year for our family holiday. We have had a few friends now stay at Hideaway via our recommendation and have loved it. It really is a wonderful place to holiday and we would highly recommend it to anyone that is going to Fiji.

We will definitely be back for our 4th trip next year.

Room Tip: Definitely go for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our first time to Fiji. The Hideaway was racomended to us and turned out to be more than we expeted it to be. We were greeted as long lost friends and treated as one of the family. The atmosphere, food, entertainment and activities were all surpurb. This is one place we would recomend to anyone. We will be returing again.

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront bure. Travel anound middle of the year
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Wonderful hoiliday at Hideaway resort..Excellent breakfasts!! The chef who cooked the perfect eggs was brilliant! A very friendly place, a smaller resort than the 5 star hotels on Denerau but much more our style..good snorkelling, although more exposed to the winds. I would recommend this resort as having everything you need. We went to Fiji for a wedding in Denerau and got a rental car for a couple of days.We felt that we saw far more from here, like visiting Denerau, Outrigger, ShangriLa and some villages like Sigatoka,Vitalevu,Natadola Beach, that we would never have seen if staying in Denerau the whole time. This place gives you more of the real Fiji experience. Denerau- 5-star- but bit like "Benidorm" and very costly!!. We were pleasantly surprised at our bill at the end of our stay at Hideaway...so if you want a more rustic experience and aren't too picky then I would recommend Hideaway, its also owned by locals which is a definate PLUS -the money is going back to the local people rather than wealthy foreigners and we had an amazing a unforgettable time there! Recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms are like a camping ground as far as noise goes as the windows don't have glass but insect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FijiHideaway, Manager at Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Stephanie S,
Bula Vinaka and a very Warm Greetings from Sunny Fiji. On behalf of our Team here at the Fiji Hideaway Resort, I would like to take this time to thank you for choosing our resort for your holiday destination. We do appreciate your feedback about your recent stay and Iam glad to hear tha that you had a wonderful, relaxing and amazing holiday with us. As you commented of the real fiji experience which you have encounted here, yes that is what we always aim for since our resort is fully locally owned and managed you will feel this Fijian atmosphere in here during your stay. And things are of reasonble prices. Thankyou for your comments of the excellent breakfasts you have been having and the brilliant perfect eggs which our Mr Eggman(chef) always prepare every morning. I shall pass on to him about your comments.
Stephanie, thank you again for your time in sharing what all you have experienced here, and we look forward to welcoming you back on any of your future travel.
Warm Regards,
Joana Naikatini
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked last minute so maybe we had an un-renovated room, the bathroom was straight out of the 70's...very retro! Fantastic view, fantastic staff, ok food, great activities, just needs a few dollars put back into facilities..worth a visit for a cheap family holiday..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iduj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FijiHideaway, Manager at Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Iduj2013,
Bula Vinaka and a Warm Greetings from Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa. We thankyou for your recent stay with us. Iam glad to hear that our staff were fantastic, food was ok and the great activities that we offered. I do apologize that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectation. We aim to make everyone's stay at Fiji Hideaway Resort a comfortable and enjoyable experience. We are comitted to providing the best possible accomodation and service so I have taken your review on board to help us improve in the area highlighted.
Iduj2013, thankyou for your time in sharing your review with others and hopefully on your next visit to our beautiful island, you will be offered with a new and comfrotable room if chosen to stay again here at he Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa.
With Kind Regards,
Joana Naikatini
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legana, Tasmania, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Could not have asked for a better place we paid extra for a deluxe beach front bure, it had been recently renovated so magic, the staff where friendly and plenty of them, food was good just a bit overpriced, drinks like all resorts on the coral coast a bit expensive but that is the price you pay for such a magic location. We would definitely go back to this one.Had read a few negative reviews after I booked so was a little worried no complaints at all. One thing I would suggest it stop at a supermarket and stock up on snacks and soft drink as a pack of chips $10.50 at the resort

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the deluxe as they are much more private, we noticed when we went for a walk thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa Heads, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a Deluxe Bure in September.
Sadly we were disappointed. We will start with the positives.

Beach:
The beach was gorgeous. Beautiful clear water and some nice snorkeling.

Room: Our deluxe beach front bure was nice but we think it was overpriced for what it was. We were under the impression they were a bit more separated but it's 2 bures per building. The beds and pillows were comfortable. We also enjoyed the outdoor shower.

Restaurant: We weren't happy with the food at the main restaurant. We only enjoyed one meal that we ate there so we had lunch at the shack beside the pool. It is well priced and the burgers were nice. The service at the restaurant was pretty bad. One night we waited half an hour and everyone was avoiding us. My husband ended up having to go up and ask for a menu. The lady seemed grumpy that we needed service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jess T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FijiHideaway, Manager at Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Jess T,
Bula Vinaka and a Sunny Greetings from the Fiji Hideaway Resort and Spa. On behalf of our team here, I would like to thankyou for chosing our resort as your holiday destination. We do appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. I'm glad to hear that your room was comfortable and you had some nice snorkling in our beautiful clear water just few steps away from your bure. I'm sorry of the confusion of what your impressions were (individual bures) was not what you have stayed in, as all our bures are built in as two in a building. I do apologise for what you have encounted in our restaurant, that has caused your disappointment . I have noted your comments regarding the delay in getting your food as well as the lady behaviour, once again I sincerely apologise for these issues and I will personally address these to our F& B Manager in order to rectify this area of concern. The providing and delievering of the top quality service is what we are always aiming for in our everyday work and all must be treated equally and I'm terribly sorry if you didnot receive this service on that particular night, and hopefully in your next vacation to our beautiful island, you are most welcome to visit us again and we assure you that you will be provided with a top quality of service.
Jess T, once again thankyou for your time in sharing your holiday experience and we are looking forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Vinaka with Kind Regards,
Joana Naikatini
Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
5.8 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,578 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,033 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#3 of 9 in Sigatoka
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.6 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,123 reviews
6.6 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Naviti Resort
Naviti Resort
#1 of 3 in Korolevu
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa

Property: Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa
Address: Queens Road, Sigatoka, Viti Levu Box 233, Sigatoka, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#4 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
#5 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiji Hideaway Resort And Spa
Fiji Hideaway Hotel Sigatoka
Rydges Hideaway Hotel
Rydges Hideaway Sigatoka
Hideaway Resort Fiji
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing