We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Wonderful hoiliday at Hideaway resort..Excellent breakfasts!! The chef who cooked the perfect eggs was brilliant! A very friendly place, a smaller resort than the 5 star hotels on Denerau but much more our style..good snorkelling, although more exposed to the winds. I would recommend this resort as having everything you need. We went to Fiji for a wedding in Denerau and got a rental car for a couple of days.We felt that we saw far more from here, like visiting Denerau, Outrigger, ShangriLa and some villages like Sigatoka,Vitalevu,Natadola Beach, that we would never have seen if staying in Denerau the whole time. This place gives you more of the real Fiji experience. Denerau- 5-star- but bit like "Benidorm" and very costly!!. We were pleasantly surprised at our bill at the end of our stay at Hideaway...so if you want a more rustic experience and aren't too picky then I would recommend Hideaway, its also owned by locals which is a definate PLUS -the money is going back to the local people rather than wealthy foreigners and we had an amazing a unforgettable time there! Recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms are like a camping ground as far as noise goes as the windows don't have glass but insect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FijiHideaway, Manager at Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Stephanie S,
Bula Vinaka and a very Warm Greetings from Sunny Fiji. On behalf of our Team here at the Fiji Hideaway Resort, I would like to take this time to thank you for choosing our resort for your holiday destination. We do appreciate your feedback about your recent stay and Iam glad to hear tha that you had a wonderful, relaxing and amazing holiday with us. As you commented of the real fiji experience which you have encounted here, yes that is what we always aim for since our resort is fully locally owned and managed you will feel this Fijian atmosphere in here during your stay. And things are of reasonble prices. Thankyou for your comments of the excellent breakfasts you have been having and the brilliant perfect eggs which our Mr Eggman(chef) always prepare every morning. I shall pass on to him about your comments.
Stephanie, thank you again for your time in sharing what all you have experienced here, and we look forward to welcoming you back on any of your future travel.
Warm Regards,
Joana Naikatini
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

847 - 853 of 1,482 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked last minute so maybe we had an un-renovated room, the bathroom was straight out of the 70's...very retro! Fantastic view, fantastic staff, ok food, great activities, just needs a few dollars put back into facilities..worth a visit for a cheap family holiday..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iduj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FijiHideaway, Manager at Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Iduj2013,
Bula Vinaka and a Warm Greetings from Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa. We thankyou for your recent stay with us. Iam glad to hear that our staff were fantastic, food was ok and the great activities that we offered. I do apologize that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectation. We aim to make everyone's stay at Fiji Hideaway Resort a comfortable and enjoyable experience. We are comitted to providing the best possible accomodation and service so I have taken your review on board to help us improve in the area highlighted.
Iduj2013, thankyou for your time in sharing your review with others and hopefully on your next visit to our beautiful island, you will be offered with a new and comfrotable room if chosen to stay again here at he Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa.
With Kind Regards,
Joana Naikatini
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Could not have asked for a better place we paid extra for a deluxe beach front bure, it had been recently renovated so magic, the staff where friendly and plenty of them, food was good just a bit overpriced, drinks like all resorts on the coral coast a bit expensive but that is the price you pay for such a magic location. We would definitely go back to this one.Had read a few negative reviews after I booked so was a little worried no complaints at all. One thing I would suggest it stop at a supermarket and stock up on snacks and soft drink as a pack of chips $10.50 at the resort

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the deluxe as they are much more private, we noticed when we went for a walk thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a Deluxe Bure in September.
Sadly we were disappointed. We will start with the positives.

Beach:
The beach was gorgeous. Beautiful clear water and some nice snorkeling.

Room: Our deluxe beach front bure was nice but we think it was overpriced for what it was. We were under the impression they were a bit more separated but it's 2 bures per building. The beds and pillows were comfortable. We also enjoyed the outdoor shower.

Restaurant: We weren't happy with the food at the main restaurant. We only enjoyed one meal that we ate there so we had lunch at the shack beside the pool. It is well priced and the burgers were nice. The service at the restaurant was pretty bad. One night we waited half an hour and everyone was avoiding us. My husband ended up having to go up and ask for a menu. The lady seemed grumpy that we needed service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jess T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FijiHideaway, Manager at Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Jess T,
Bula Vinaka and a Sunny Greetings from the Fiji Hideaway Resort and Spa. On behalf of our team here, I would like to thankyou for chosing our resort as your holiday destination. We do appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. I'm glad to hear that your room was comfortable and you had some nice snorkling in our beautiful clear water just few steps away from your bure. I'm sorry of the confusion of what your impressions were (individual bures) was not what you have stayed in, as all our bures are built in as two in a building. I do apologise for what you have encounted in our restaurant, that has caused your disappointment . I have noted your comments regarding the delay in getting your food as well as the lady behaviour, once again I sincerely apologise for these issues and I will personally address these to our F& B Manager in order to rectify this area of concern. The providing and delievering of the top quality service is what we are always aiming for in our everyday work and all must be treated equally and I'm terribly sorry if you didnot receive this service on that particular night, and hopefully in your next vacation to our beautiful island, you are most welcome to visit us again and we assure you that you will be provided with a top quality of service.
Jess T, once again thankyou for your time in sharing your holiday experience and we are looking forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Vinaka with Kind Regards,
Joana Naikatini
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The thing that catches your attention at the Fiji Hideaway resort is the friendly staff - they are genuinely happy to see you , go out of their way to assist - the food is great (get the all in package) - yes the area around the pool needs attention , but the resort is very clean , grounds extreamly well kept - rooms have everything you need - we will be back. I found no problem with the food - but remember when people from many places come together a virus like the Rota virus can hit and spread - no matter where you stay - always carry a basic travellers medical kit ! See you next year Fiji hideaway !

Room Tip: all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FijiHideaway, Manager at Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Bula Vinaka Bob G,
On behalf of our Team here at the Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa, I would like to extend to you a very big vinaka vakalevu for choosing our resort for your 2013 vacation and also thank you for the good comments about our resort and all what you have experience which have made your holiday here a relaxing and enjoyable one. You have kindly share your experience with other review , we thankyou for this. F or the areas you have highlighted, yes we are looking into it and very soon it will have a new look at all. We are thankful for your comment about Rota Virus and we hope that other reviewers will take it seriously ,
Bob G, we really appreciate the time you have taken to provide all the positive comments as well as mentioning our friendly staff and we are all looking forward to see you again in the not too distant future.
Vinaka and Kind Regards,
Joana Naikatini
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

BULA!

My Mum and I spent 5 nights at Hideaway, first time to the Coral Cost, the weather was great - not a drop of rain. But it was pretty windy!
The staff were certainly a highlight of the trip! A special thanks to Male and Lita in activities! And to Mita at reception for making our stay extra special.
The staff at Hideaway go out of their way to make sure you are happy and enjoying your stay, they are also amazing at remembering names!
They offer lost of activities / entertainment, we visited the local village twice and if you have children I would highly recommend Hideaway as a good place to visit.
We went snorkeling straight off the beach a few times, there isn't a lot of coral due to the harsh surf but plenty of fish! So not disappointing. The water was VERY clear!!
The food is pretty good, and there is plenty of choice! - People don't go to Fiji for the food and Hideaway clearly make an effort to give you as much choice as possible.
Our room was great! Room 304, the bathroom is wonderful and very clean and tidy. We had a few light bulbs blow in the room and maintenance was straight onto it!
My only criticisms are how windy it was - (but thats not controllable) and it would have been nice to have more loungers available for the rooms. For the first 3 days we were there we couldn't find one and once we did we had to hang onto it for dear life so it wasn't pinched by somebody else! :)
There are plenty of loungers by the pool - but if you want to relax and read a book with some peace and quiet away from kids, outside your room is where you want to be.

I would definitely return to Hideaway in the future, especially with children. If you are looking for a real slice of Fiji and don't mind that it's not 5 starts then Hideaway is certainly worth visiting!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a beach front Villa if you can ! Room 304 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FijiHideaway, Manager at Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Bula Diana G,
Sunny Greetings from the Team at Fiji Hideaway Resort and Spa. We are delighted to hear that you had a faboulous holiday experience at our beautiful resort. We would also like to thank you and Mum, for picking Fiji Hideaway Resort and Spa for your holiday destination and on this same token we woulld also thank you for sharing your wonderful holiday experience with other reviewers. For your comments about our staff, as you found out that our staff were certainly a highlight of your trip, we thankyou for this and yes, we always have a common goal, that is to deliever and provide the top quality holiday experience to our guests. I shall pass on your special thankyou to Male and Lita in activities as well as Mita at reception.
Thank you for your comments on our food with plenty of choices and also your great beach front accomodation which was one of our top accommodation category. We are delighted that you had a comfortable stay in this bure. We do apologise for the shortage and unavailability of lounges for the rooms. We have been putting in lounges in front of each room and only in the front row. These are being used by any one who doesnot want to go to the pool and need a quiet place to relax. And we always come across this shortage problem, but we are monitoring this and hopefully on your next visit, you will have lounges of your own.
Diana G, once again we thank you for your comments and we look forward to the day you will return to our beautiful Hideaway resort.
Vinaka & Warm Regards,
Joana Naikatini
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had booked a week at hideaway and left early. There was the 3 of us, 2 adults and a 4 year old.
We booked two interconnecting rooms which were ok, but I would think not even 3 star. We enquired about kids club and wanted to make sure this was ok for 4 year old, which we were told was. When we arrived we were then told you need to be 5 or you have to have a nanny. Kids club was very basic.
Overall the place needs a face lift. Room was basic, bathroom needed work with rotted wood on the shower screen trim. We had a few nights of windy wet weather and it felt you were outside as both rooms only had shutters, no windows. Would be ok in warm weather, but not with any wind or rain.
We told reception if we could please change rooms and they showed us two other rooms which were just as bad. We were then told that we could put you into a villa room, which was a good room at the other end of the resort, room 308. Then we were told that we would not be charged extra, ok thanks whee we were going from 2 rooms to one.
The resort needs a lift, just dated. Food is ok, but you do not have any other option. There is nothing around that you can go to.
Staff are nice and friendly, like all Fiji resorts.
We ended up leaving early and heading to the Sheraton, which was excellent for about the same price. (Read my review there) We did ask for a refund which was refused.
Overall I would not recommend Hideaway, unless you are looking for a 2 star hotel, but check as you can stay better places for the price.

Room Tip: If you are staying here book a villa room. These are good for couples, but not much else to do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FijiHideaway, Manager at Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Andrew V,
Bula and Sunny Greetings from the Coral Coast. On behalf of our Team here at the Fiji Hideaway Resort, I would like to take this time to thank you and members of your family for choosing Hideaway Resort as your holiday destination. And also thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay at our beautiful resort with other reviewers. As for the good comments about our staff, we thank you for this and yes our staff do love coming to work and looking after our guests and providing them with the best service. As for the negative comments stated, that in your case there were several areas that didnot meet with your expectation and we apologise for this occurrence and we will definately take these on board and work on these areas which we have failed to act on.
Andrew V, please allow me to clarify few areas which you have mentioned, and if only you would have highlight these areas to us during your stay, we would have act on them straight away as we are always here and to make sure that we deliever the top quality holiday experience to our guests. I do recall that on your third day you had wanted to move to a bure with glass windows and also quiet location which we did get you a beachfront villa (glass windows)at no extra cost and did offer you another one just next to, as you did mentioned of your noisy son but you didnot want to take it, you were ok with one bure. SHUTTERS - As for the sutters, we do not have shutters, but what we have in some of our bures are wooden louvers and are just similar to a glass window louver and these were the two bures you were being first allocated.
KIDS CLUB - Children 1-4yrs can join our Kids Club, but have to be supervised by an adult or baby sitter and for 5years up, there is no restriction. We do have Kids Club Co-ordinators who looks after kids joinning into the Kids Club and they have their Kids Programme daily from 9am to 8pm and they have two meal break. The daily kids activities are of two categories, inhouse activity and outdoor activities. And its the kids choice. For the Inhouse activities, we do have a fully furnished aircon kids play centre with a full time kids co-ordinator and this is open seven days a week from 9am to 5.30pm .
FOOD - We have three food outlets,1) the Hideaway Point Cafe for Pizza, Pasta and Monogolian BBQ, 2)The Quick Bite -for Hot dogs, Sausage rolls,Burgers,Wraps with all its different fillings and all are below F$10. 3) Chiefs Restaurant - this is our main restaurnant (breakfast,lunch and dinner). Apart for the three Buffett nights, there are daily menus available from Monday to Sunday .
TOURS - (As stated -nothing around that you can do). W e do have a Rosie Tour Desk, located in the resort and they handle all tours outside the resort, bookings are all taken by them. They do have quite a lot of tours to sell to guests. And within our resort, we also have organised tours that are programmed everyday for our guests, and these are done at our Activities Desk.
Reason of leaving early and to stay at Denarau, was that you would want to spend some time in Nadi and do not want to waste the half day on travelling. Little did we know that you have got few things that you were not happy about and if only you would have given us all the above issues during your stay, we would have tried all our best in fulfiling all your requirement so that you have a happy holiday with us. Once again, i do apologise if we have failed to deliever the quality holiday expereince to you and your family, and hopefully one day you will visit our beatiful Island again.
Vinaka & Warm Regards,
Joana Naikatini
Resort Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
5.8 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,707 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 10 in Sigatoka
506 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#3 of 10 in Sigatoka
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Sigatoka
1,099 reviews
31.4 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
6.6 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa

Address: Queens Road, Sigatoka, Viti Levu Box 233, Sigatoka, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#5 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range: $122 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiji Hideaway Resort And Spa
Fiji Hideaway Hotel Sigatoka
Rydges Hideaway Hotel
Rydges Hideaway Sigatoka
Hideaway Resort Fiji
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing