We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, good food but some Bures need a refresh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here for 9 days in October and was in one of older seafront bures. The Bure was fine but very much in need of updating. The cleaners are very good though. There are a range of Bures though, and the 'villas' looked nice, so be aware when you make your choice. You also upgrade at a reasonable cost when you arrive there, although clearly that depends on availability. Agree with some other comments here about the facilities and issues around sunbeds. Think the sunbed problem could be partially solved by simply having more (and more modern) sunbeds! or by spreading some out amongst the Bures. Seem to be a bit slow to maintain things as some of the hammocks were broken the whole time we were there. Also agree that it was a bit irritating having music blasting out much of the time, especially when the staff band were trying to create some Fijian atmosphere. Beach was nice and sandy, (though maybe not quite Goa and the tide comes right in) and the water in the lagoon was nice and warm for some (limited) snorkling.
All the staff were great and the food choice at dinner was very reasonable. Sometimes service was a little slow but this is because, on most nights, people are served at their table rather than the constant buffet/school meals type approach. The food is also well presented and I don't think we had a bad meal whilst there. (We weren't 'all-inclusive' and the prices weren't too bad) The Mongolian restaurant is also recommended. There is also a 'pub' across the road which does some decent food - nice staff but it was very quiet. Massages at the hut just outside the resort are also meant to be better than those in the hotel according to people who discussed this..
It was my first time in Fiji and whilst this seemed a reasonable, I would certainly be having a wide look around before going back to this resort - although clearly budget is a factor. It took us about 2hrs from the airport but 90mins going back as we had gotten used to the roads by then. Also used a local car-hire firm (Sharmas) rather than the extortionate biggies......but sometimes you do get what you pay for! Car was clean, but the suspension was shot and the windscreen wash did not work and we got 'fined' $50 for not cleaning it on return!

Room Tip: Some Bures are more modern than others so be aware. The semi-detached Bures are also quite close tog...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,469)
There are newer reviews for Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,469 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just over a week and a last minute decision, we decided to go to Fiji. Hideaway was practically the last few available on the main island. There are lots of other resorts to choose from if we had planned ahead.

We chose the all-inclusive package for the four nights that is all food inclusive with beer and wine, but cocktails at 50% and most activities included. We are not great alcohol lovers and I for one, can only take wine in small quantities. But as we preferred different choices for each lunch and evening, we chose the package instead. Even with less wine consumption, it evened out eventually by choosing the all-inclusive.

The bure at Ocean Villa (semi-detached) was partially ocean view I would say. It looked tired, desperate and screaming for an upgrade. No TV but there is a ceiling fan plus an air-conditioned unit. A hospitality tray of tea and coffee. During our first night, an alarm woke us up in the middle of the night. Some lights went out. Rang Reception who came a few minutes later. We thought it was the smoke alarm, even though we are non-smokers. They said it will be fixed first thing in the morning but nothing was done as another alarm came on during the second night. We went to Reception and were passed on to another desk. However friendly and likeable the staff may be, it’s not their job, so no choice but t wait for 15 minutes for the lady to finish attending to another guest.

Breakfast was varied and okay. For lunch, the Chef’s Choice was a hit and miss but the majority of the food were average for us bar a couple of evening meals, which was above average. The wines: Chardonnay, Cabernet Sauvignon or Riesling was nothing to shout about. Pity we were not allowed to bring our own wine to the table. Perhaps a corkage charge for those with an all inclusive-package could be considered?

It’s really funny but like most resorts, you practically can never ever get a sun lounger unless you put your towel and belongings on it first thing in the morning. And this is then reserved the whole day! Wished management would see the problems that other guests encounter. They could put in a time rota. This way, other guests can then benefit and enjoy soaking in the sun and the pool. Although, I must add the only time it was available, was when it’s a cloudy day and there was the odd few lying empty.

For pickup at the airport, Hideaway booked a taxi for us but as we had a lot of time to kill for our flight back to Auckland, I asked Reception if we could take the bus instead. Of course you can’t change your mind.

Previously, we did not book any transport back to the airport, as we were not sure what we wanted to do. Anyway, we agreed to take the taxi after some bartering (only a wee bit). Best to check the costs on both options first in case you prefer the longer route on the bus. Incidentally, for our return trip, the taxi driver was very reckless as it was peak time and he wanted to get home.

Our best activity was following the Ground Head keeper giving a talk on the various shrubs and plants within the resort. For all the above reasons, I have rated this hotel a 3.5 star.

Room Tip: Double check to make sure it's the type of bure you want. If not, what are the extra costs to g...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aster_palms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I travelled to Fiji in May 2011 with my 6 year old son. I found the resort reasonable & the staff really friendly. We stayed in Bure 47 which is one of the older Bure's and it is showing its age, however was clean & suited our purposes. The Resort is on the Coral Coast & I found the 2.5hr drive from Nadi after the 3.5hr flight a bit tedious. If I was to return to Fiji I personally would stay on one of the island closer to Nadi. I was a bit disappointed with the Kids Club & one morning found my Son & another child about the same age playing unsupervised by the beach. However having said that it was just typical of the Fijians laid back attitude which is one of the reasons we love visiting them! I had an accident whilst I was there falling over and splitting my head open. The staff were VERY help full and one of the cooks drove me to hospital in his car, where I was promptly stitched up! In all I enjoyed my stay, the resort & staff were great, if you can put up with the 2.5hr drive from Nadi I would recommend staying here

Room Tip: There are some newer Bure's that look very nice & include a garden shower.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Sorry to say I can't agree with recent reviewers.

We had a beachfront room which, whilst obviously recently redecorated, still had all the style of a 1970's motel room, with two dining chairs for relaxing in the room and two stools for relaxing on the balcony. The windows (other than the bathroom window) could not be opened for fresh air, and all had blinds which were not very good at keeping out the significant amount of night lighting. Additionally there was no furniture on which to place our suitcases, other than the spare bed.

We had booked at the Hideaway for 8 nights and found the resort to be geared very much towards entertainment for (younger than us) people, led by the activities staff around the pool and bar. If you wanted to stay around the pool you had to contend with music being played most of the day, often drowning out the singing of the fijian trio who were doing their best to entertain diners in the restaurant (beside the bar).

The beach unfortunately is very flat, so when the tide is out there are just paddling pools out for 300 mtrs with dead coral. No really good snorkelling and no catamarans, which was a shame as during our stay the wind blew strongly for 6 of the 8 days with white caps.

So that we could relax on our balcony, away from the bar/pool, we asked for and got two recliners from the pool area but unfortunately our two requests for cushions for the recliners were ignored and our requests to repair/replace one of the recliners which had two straps missing were also ignored.

It wasn't all bad though as we found the food to be very nice and the room cleaning staff (Nina), dining room staff and ground staff were very friendly, and the grounds are immaculately maintained.

Unfortunately for us, we came to Hideaway after 8 wonderful days at the Mana Island Resort, and this resort was unable to compare.

Room Tip: If you like your sleep, get a room a long way away from the bar, as the disco runs until after midni...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Bula Everyone!! My Husband and I had the most amazing holiday ans experience while staying here. We stayed for 4 days and the service was outstanding, the food was fantastic and the people were wonderful. We could not have asked for a better holiday (Our first international one). We were so happy with this holiday we came home to Australia and we booked our whole family in for another holiday in June next year. We have not stopped talking about the Hideway Resort since we left, FIJI you have won our hearts!! We will see you next June stay safe everone and Vinaka for our wonderful experence at the Hideway and keep up the great work

Room Tip: We stayed in the Beachfront Villa... AMAZING!! The view from our front door was beautiful, and liste...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Right of the bat the service was 1st class. The reception was very friendly , we were given a ice cold drink on arrival, ( much needed). We stayed in a breach front bure. The room was basic,but clean (Has kettle, fridge and tea and coffee everyday - No TV.) - there is a TV room for Kids . The resort had 1 restaurant. we chose the all inclusive option . Breakfast was a buffet - great selection, Lunch and dinner you had a 2 course meal - also great selection of foods. If you didn't fancy anything on the menu, they had theme nights- Mongolian, Island, Asian, and an Aussie food on offer too. Meals were a good size and well presented. Dinner theater every night . Great shows hugely entertaining. It is the first resort I have been to where the staff actively interact with the guests- they played volleyball, water polo even had the occasional dance with us. Although the staff and friendly and relaxed, they were very professional and helpful. The resort offered free diving lessons on the pool every day for 30min, aqua aerobics every day at 11am, reef walks ( where they educate you about the reef), free use of canoes and snorkeling equipment .
12 pm everyone got involved in doing the sun-dance. The highlight of my day was the lighting of the torches ,the staff would beat the drums and one of the men would be in traditional wear and light the torches around and in the pool signifying Happy Hour. Happy hour was an experience, we would play quiz games and If the staff member didn't like your answer you were marked wrong ( Fiji rules) it made for a very light hearted entertainment. The resort had 1 pool , outdoor spa- a must try and an indoor spa . ( prices reasonable) . This is where all inclusive is great , you get $500.00 Fiji resort credits to use in spa or bar .The all inclusive entitles you to free local beer, wine, and liquor, (white and dark rum, vodka, gin) these do not come out of you resort credits) the Cocktail however do and with all inclusive package they are half price- they have a very impressive cocktail menu, I started at A and ended at Z. They have a Kiosk for small gifts, and basic. toiletries, cool drinks etc. The resort name said it all- Hideaway resort.where you break away from civilization, no TV, limited internet access, the perfect place to relax and rejuvenate you spirit. Highly recommended for families with young kids, couples and business people who really want to get away from the rat race. One tip for the daring - Beware the Kava

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pokkiequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday ..... It was sooooooo relaxing this hotel is a little dated and defiantly not a 5star flash hotel but it was fun and the staff were so friendly and they couldn't do more to make your holiday enjoyable loved ever minute of it my 5 year old son had the most amazing holiday they just love kids ...... Thanks the hideaway for a fantastic holiday

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
5.8 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,661 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#3 of 9 in Sigatoka
398 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#7 of 9 in Sigatoka
503 reviews
31.4 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
6.6 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa

Address: Queens Road, Sigatoka, Viti Levu Box 233, Sigatoka, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#5 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range: $98 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiji Hideaway Hotel Sigatoka
Fiji Hideaway Resort And Spa
Rydges Hideaway Hotel
Rydges Hideaway Sigatoka
Hideaway Resort Fiji
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing