We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$267
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$112
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bedarra Beach Inn(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$105
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$243
$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mango Bay Resort Fiji(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$49
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gecko's Resort(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$68
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tambua Sands(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$87
$66
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Beach Cocomo(Sigatoka)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,276)
Filter reviews
3,276 results
Traveler rating
2,041
798
302
89
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,041
798
302
89
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbebe spaivi restaurantplantation burebutler servicesundowner barmei meitalai butlera deluxe ocean view roomvale nichampagne and canapeskids clubtapaspeter hopgoodmeimei serviceevery afternoonpool aerobicscoral coast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,766 - 2,771 of 3,276 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We had a great time here. The rooms are just devine! It has an amazing pool and a few small bars around the pool. The restaurants are a little pricey but there are plenty of small restaurants to eat at if you just walk along the beach.
Buffet breakfast is fantastic! Plenty of variety and selections including fresh tropical fruits.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. my 2 year old was still having formula and i needed to exchange the kettle as it was a little smelly.. and they changed it with no hassle.

It's a lovely place to stay at if you're purely interested in relaxing with your family.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poonam-ENL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice173, Executive Assistant at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2010

Bula Beachy-Mimi
Vinaka for your kind feedback! We thank you for choosing Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji as your holiday destination. Your wonderful comments about rooms, IVI restaurant, resort amenities and most importantly our staff were enjoyable to read. We will gladly share your comments with our staff. Our team takes great pride in ensuring even the smallest facet of your stay is enjoyable and a reflection of the genuine warmth of the Fijian people.

Once again thank you for recommending our property on trip advisor and we look forward in welcoming you back to the Outrigger 'Vuvale'(Family).

Vinaka & Kind Regards
Asmeen Bano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We booked 4 nights at the Outrigger for my birthday. I was looking forward to it as I've never been to Fiji before.
Arriving at the Resort there was no hassle and we were greeted with a cool mint-smelling face cloth and an iced tea - very nice. We were introduced to the Talei Service (butler service every afternoon to your room with champagne and canapes) and then shown to our room. So far, so good. The room was very clean, tastefully decorated and with every amenity you could wish for.
The next day was brilliant - the staff are very friendly and have obviously been instructed to say "Bula" to every guest they pass. It almost got to the stage that if I saw a staff member in the distance, I would change course just so I didn't have to say Bula again!
I had the pleasure of using their Spa for a facial and the whole time I was there was fantastic. You were given an herbal tea on arrival, and at the end of you booking, fresh fruit, mineral water and extra time to just relax.
The downside of this Resort is the little extras you have to pay for. Of course we expected to pay for food, meals, drinks and the Spa but is it necessary to charge for use of the tennis court, the fitness centre, the driving range, the sea kayaks, and the volley ball court? Come on! The charge that really astounded us was for my birthday cake. On the night of my birthday, we dined at their "award winning" restaurant. It was excellent - great service, great food, great wine. They asked if it was a special occasion and my partner said yes, it was my birthday. A little later the waitress enquired after my first name and how to spell it. Of course, we expected that they were going to make a fuss but at no time did we ask them to!. At the end of the meal, the staff come out playing guitars and ukeleles and singing "Happy Birthday". They presented me with a large slice of a chocolate cake with a candle in it and written around the plate Happy Birthday.... It was a fantastic end to a wonderful day. We were speechless though when checking the bill that they had charged us for the slice of cake! This money grabbing really left a sour taste in our mouths and did put a downer on what should have been a fantastic break.
It almost felt like that the Australians and New Zealanders who were there (which made up the majority of the guests) were being ripped off because of where we came from.
It may be that every Resort in Fiji is like this. I do know that other Resorts throughout the world aren't though.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppycleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjita, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2010

Dear Poppycleo,

Thank you for taking the time in providing your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji!

Whilst we fully endorse the integrity of writers to Trip Advisor to provide unbiased and anonymous comment, the contents of your review are both blatantly untrue and quite mischievous!!!

In particular, I find you comments in regards to associated costs for activities to be extremely malicious and most unworthy! The reality is the following costs area associated with the activities that you have identified:
Tennis Court and tennis gear hire – Free
Fitness Centre – Free
Sea Kayaks – Free
Snorkeling Equipment – Free
Reef Walking Shoes – Free
Aerobics – Free
Volley Ball – (both pool and land) – Free
Meditation Classes – Free
Yoga Classes – Free
Golf Driving Range - Whilst there is no charge for the golf clubs we do charge for balls:
$12.50 -30 balls, $15.50 – 50 balls, $20.00 – 80 balls

I have also researched your concerns in relation to the Birthday Cake the you enjoyed in the Ivi Restaurant. Unfortunately there was a misunderstanding in regards to this matter. The staff assumed that you had ordered the Birthday Cake, which they hastily put together and charged for??? I sincerely apologise for this confusion.

Finally, I am somewhat bemused by your comments relating to our staff greeting you with their customary “Bula”. This is Fiji, the friendliest nation on the planet, and the warm friendly “ Bula” greetings that you received are an integral part of the character of the Fijian people. I assure you that they are not “instructed” to bombard guests with their “Bula” greetings – This is just the way it is, in this beautiful warm and friendly country!

Finally, I have noted your wonderful comments in relation to our Bebe Spa! Only 2 weeks ago our spa was recognized as the number one spa in “Oceania” and we are very proud of this achievement. We will pass your comments onto our team!

Finally, as previously stated, we welcome all comments relating to the guest experience at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji and we utilize these comments to further improve the overall standard of service that we provide to our guests.

All we ask is that these comments be honest and factual!

Yours Sincerely

Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Bula everyone! This place is gorgeous! Stayed there for 11 days and had a fantastic time. Upgraded from the start and was put up 2 levels, not 1. As we were staying for a while, we couldn't get the one type for the whole stay, but it made no difference to us, as it was like going to another resort. We decided to not move the second time, only because we loved our room so much. It had a beautiful ocean view from the bed, and the we didn't need the air con. at night with the gorgeous beach breeze. This was better for us, than the lovely spacious bure which is more luxurious, but we wanted the view and open air. Talai service is great, and nothing is too much trouble for any of these people. From the cleaner to waiters, talai butler to executive chef, they are all a sincere and beautiful delight to meet. We did have one nights sleep interupted with partying by youngsters in between the 2 resorts. But close the door and was barely audible. Annoying maybe, but I remember 20 years ago when I did the same thing and probably didn't think about anyone else.
My husband and I went to the Bebe spa several times and it is a must. Masseurs are very skilled and address your massage to whatever type you may want. Also had a romantic half day spa for the 2 of us, with a coconut milk bath looking over the view, with champagne and fruit while we bathed. Followed by a fantastic cucumber and dilo wrap, that magically makes all sunburn disappear. Then another long massage followed by a gorgeous facial wrap. Bliss on a stick!
The Ivi restaurant is another must for any adult. We ate there several times and the 8 course taster was a beautiful start. Alongside quite a few degustation menus in Australia, this is up there with them all. The staff are fantastic with their attentiveness and the musician is a very smooth, cool, down to earth entertainer. His smile at the end of each song, is something worth waiting for.
We also attended the cooking demonstration and I'd have to say this is the best deal at the resort. Totally underpriced with classes as small as 2. One of Fiji's best chefs demonstrates with local produce and you finish up with an excellent 5 star 3 course meal. Absolute bargain and very inspiring.
If there was anything to fault, it could only be that sometimes around the pool and main restaurants, it could be a bit loud (especially during water aerobics). Not having any children, this is something different for our holidays, but we went out of the resort and ate at local restaurants down the road and beaches a little further along. Never had any problems, and the people outside were just as friendly as in the resort. Beaches are coral, but you could always find somewhere to jump in, when we didn't want the pool.
Overall would totally recommend. If you want peace and quiet, use the Ivi and Bebe or explore outside. If you want families, it looked like they had amazing services. All in all, tutoka!
Vinaka

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank russnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice173, Executive Assistant at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2010

Bula russnell

It was great to have you as our guests and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. We are so glad to hear your Outrigger on the Lagoon experience covered all your essential requirements for a perfect holiday.

The IVI team has a passion for detail and refined service. Our highly acclaimed Chef continues to do your best for culinary perfection in his kitchen. Chef and the IVI team will be very proud to hear your feedback.

We appreciate the time you have taken to write this review and enjoyed your compliments on your service you received during the stay. Your wonderful feedback on the Rooms, Bebe Spa, Ivi Restaurant and of course our staff were enjoyable to read.

Our staff takes great pride in providing excellent guest service and will be pleased to receive your comments especially our talented Serenaders will be delighted with their special mention!

Vinaka
Asmeen Bano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We spent 7 nights at the Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji with our 3 year old and our 11 month old, and had one of the best holidays ever.

We had private transfers from the airport which were great, but please be aware that the resort is about an hour from the airport.

From the moment we drove through the gate at the Outrigger the service was excellent. The reception area is amazing as is the view of the resort and lagoon. We were checked in quickly and the staff made a huge fuss of our children, which was helpful after a long day.

We stayed in an Ocean Breeze Bure which was lovely, but when we return we will have a separate room for the children. The Bure would great if you were a couple travelling on your own, or with only one child. The butler service was wonderful, and nothing was too much trouble e.g. wanting bottled water every night to make bottles.

Pre-purchasing the meal tickets was a great idea - it made life much easier! The food was pretty good for a resort, we did not not expect top quality restaurant meals from the family friendly venues. The food at the Ivi was excellent and the service was better than some we have received in capital city restaurants. The wine was very expensive...

The cultural experiences put on by the Outrigger helped us get a feeling of the way life in a Fiji village would be. The activities staff did a great job every night lighting the lanterns combined with the shell blowing.

We spent our 7 days by the massive pool, which also had a few shallow areas that were great for toddlers. Although the resort was almost full when we arrived, there was enough room for everyone in the pool area.

Our 3 year old spent some time in the Kids Club and had fun, and we used the babysitting service on one night. Vika was happy to sit in our room for 3 hours watching our girls sleep.

The day spa was a wonderful way to spend a few hours on my own being pampered.

We didn't venture far from the Resort, which suited us. We did go into Sigatoka which was an interesting experience, but we struggled to spend more than an hour there.

The Outrigger is a great place for a family friendly holiday, especially during an Australian winter. I would not recommend this resort to honeymooners, or couples not wanting to be surrounded by children.

All of the staff were friendly and nothing seemed like it was too much trouble.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecutiveOffice173, Executive Assistant at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2010

Bula SuzyBrisbane
On behalf of the entire team at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji we wish to thank you for having chosen our Resort for your holiday destination. We are delighted to note that you fully enjoyed your stay at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji and rate this vacation as “Excellent for families - fun for kids and parents". All of our employees take great pride in serving our guests and such a positive review certainly is a factor of motivation to continue in our mission to deliver the best service. We will certainly share your feedback with our staff.

Once again thank you for recommending our property on trip advisor and we look forward in welcoming you back to the Outrigger 'Vuvale' (Family).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We were recommended the Outrigger by 2 families, one who has already stayed twice. Nearly everything exceeded our expectations. The staff were amazing. So friendly, happy and relaxed. Nothing was too much trouble. Our children, 2 boys 9 and 4, were so sad to leave their new friends and have begged us to come back next year.
We had the food package which was great and kids ate free. To start with, we found the service a little slow but then soon realised that we were on Fiji time!!!!
We also used the Mei Mei (nanny) service and the boys were looked after by a wonderful young woman called Clareanne....also really great value approx. $150 for 8 hours each day for 4 days. If you didn't used the full 8hours, it didn't matter, she was avail if needed.
We ate for 2 nights at the Ivi restaurant which was superb. Food was great and lovely to eat somewhere without children.
There was also plenty of activites if you wanted to keep busy. My husband also went to the Rugby which was organised by the resort. Bus and drinks package. He had an awesome time and it was also something for the blokes to do.
There were too many wonderful staff to mention all their names but I would like to thank everyone at the Outrigger for making our holiday so special. Also Uncle Jim is a fav. with Harry and Jack.
We stayed in a Beachfront Bure which was quiet but still close to everything. The butler service is amazing and definately a must.
Also we went everyday to the driving range and were looked after by Luke. A great character who my boys loved. The staff are only too happy to whizz you under the road tunnel in a golf cart and pick you up when finished.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarieAdelaide_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjita, Guest Relations Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2010

Bula MarieAdelaide,

On behalf of the entire team of Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji we wish to thank you for having chosen us for your holiday destination. We are delighted to note that you fully enjoyed your stay at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji and rate this vacation as ““A Fantastic, memorable holiday experience for all the right reasons ". We note your comments on the slow service and this will be addressed. All of our employees take great pride in serving our guests and such a positive review certainly is a factor of motivation to continue in our mission to deliver the best service. We will certainly share your feedback with our staff. Uncle Jim, Harry, Jack and Luke will be delighted with their special mention!

Once again thank you for recommending our property on trip advisor and we look forward in welcoming you back to the Outrigger 'Vuvale' (Family).

Vinaka & Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews